We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lt 5 Mz 29 Fracc Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77713, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #123 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Anaheim, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had a destination wedding in Playa del Carmen and rented a house for 5 nights, after all the celebrations we booked at the Holiday Inn Express with the rest of our family. The prices are very affordable and the overall property is very clean and updated.
The rooms are very nice and clean.
The complimentary breakfast if very good- it includes juices, coffee, tea, toast, cereal, eggs, beans, meats, etc... One thing to know is that the breakfast is the same everyday, but we didn't mind.
There is a business center where we could use the computers and the printer for no fee. This was useful because we purchased Tours to Xcaret and Xplor online and printed the confirmation page there.
The wifi is excellent! It is also included and can be used anywhere on the property. The signal works great!
The pool area is basic but clean and nice.
The location is away from downtown, but not too far. You can walk and be there in 15 min. or take a taxi for an approx price of 70 pesos or less. The hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle with 4 stops downtown. There is no pick up though.
The hotel also gave us a bracelet to Senor Frogs beach club, this gave us access to the beach where we could use their beach chairs. The hotel also provides beach towels, but you need to leave a photo id with them.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear guest:

Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.

Thank you for all your kindness

Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    97
    36
    21
    9
See reviews for
61
82
12
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The hotel is in playacar not close to the beach but they provide transportation to the beach club.
They built a new area,so the rooms are new, very clean and very nice.
they give complimentary breakfast, it is good with juices, fruits, coffe, tea, cereals, eggs, pancakes etc.
The location is very good near playa del carmen beaches, cenotes, Akumal, Puerto aventuras, even tulum etc

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear guest:

We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments. We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations. We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.

Thank you for all your kindness

Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed at HIE Playa del Carmen with her parents for 4 nights on a road trip around the Yucatan. Given that we're used to staying in budget or mid-range family-run hostels and guesthouses, we never considered that an international brand hotel would end up being the most economical place for four people. Overall, this place exceeded our expectations and we were very happy with our stay.

Pros: First the good stuff. Either the place is newer or has just gone through extensive renovation. It's a nice place, by any standard. Very clean and well-maintained. Our room was very spacious, even with four adults, with two large beds and lots of room to spare. The pool was clean and never crowded, even with hotel at capacity. Good Mexican buffet breakfast (complimentary) and complimentary access to two beach clubs down at the beach (Senior Frogs and another).

Cons: The main issue we had was that the advertised free shuttle between the hotel and the main plaza/ beach was in the shop and no arrangements had been made to get a replacement in the mean time. The beach/ plaza is only a mile down a very walkable (if hot!) avenue with wide, street light lined sidewalks; generally this isn't a problem for us, but my father-in-law sometimes has mobility issues and we booked the hotel with the understanding that there would be a working shuttle. To the hotel staff's credit, they were able to arrange alternate transportation on a few occasions for him, but really, there should have been an alternative solution for all guests. In addition to the shuttle issue, two of the mornings staff had drastically underestimated the number of guests for the breakfast buffet, and by 8:30 or 9am they were cleaned out. Additionally, the breakfast wasn't quite on par with the HIE Cancun that we stayed at a few days prior.

All in all, good value for the money, as others have pointed out. If they can get their shuttle and breakfast kinks worked out, it will be a great value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Recently my family and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Playa del Carmen. This is a nice hotel which is reasonably priced. The hotel offers a wonderful buffet each morning with a number of hot dishes, scrambled eggs, muffins, lots of juice, hot coffee, a variety of cereals, toast and some sweets for those with a sweet tooth.
The hotel tends to appeal to Mexican clientele as well as a few Europeans and Canadians. There is a nice outdoor hotel in a quiet area of the property. The front desk staff are very friendly and willing to help anytime that is needed. The dining room staff constantly upgrade their breakfast buffet each day with new items added to the menu. The rooms are reasonable and the hotel offers a free shuttle to the downtown area of Playa del Carmen every hour. The hotel offers free internet service. The shuttle also takes guests to the beach where they are able to use the lounges and umbrellas in front ot Senor Frog's. There is a great restaurant around the corner - maybe a 10 minute walk called Vips and this family style restaurant offers a big variety of meals both Mexican and American dining. The Holiday Inn is a great place to stay. It is just minutes off Highway 307 which is the main divided highway from Cancun Airport to Playa del Carmen and on down to Tulum. It is located in a convenient location.

Room Tip: The pool area is a nice quiet place to use the internet and enjoy the outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Can't fault them for 85USD weekend rates, (81USD weekday). Playa del Carmen has a problem with its central hotels being too noisy and mixed customer service, from here you can walk to centre in 15mins or taxi for 70pesos. I was only going to stay for 1 night but decided to stay for 6-7.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We arrived at the airport in Cancun , and we already had booked a transport with cancuntransfers.com to Playa Del Carmen. it worked very well, and I must say I enjoyed our stay in HI expresss. I was little surprised that we could not open the windows, but we learned very quickly why, as it was very humid here. The hotel was very clean, good service, but I was not so very keen on the breakfast. As this hotel is located at the western side of the town, there is 10-15 minutes walk to the streets in town. However, as the price for our stay was so good , it really doesn't matter. Yes, I would certainly stay here again !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness

Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay, just a short distance to walk to 5th avenue! Close to the ocean. Breakfast was good. I would recommend staying here, it's affordable and clean. I enjoyed my time here! The pool was nice too, the only thing the pool was missing was a bar! I enjoyed staying right in playa, it was nice to be so close to go out and see playa. The staff was great! The night front desk clerk was great and helpful and very knowledgable, it was always nice to see him at the desk smiling!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your very important comments with us.

We’d like to apologize for the experience you recently had with us during your last stay.

Let us remind you that you have been a very valued guest for us, and we really thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We will make sure that we make our best effort so this type of situations will not happen again.

Dear guest, give us the opportunity to show you we can reach and exceed your expectations, and apologize personally, let us know by this same email about your future reservation, we will be very glad to assisting you anytime

Once again we apologize, and appreciating your understanding.

Sincerely yours,

Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya

Address: Lt 5 Mz 29 Fracc Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77713, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 5 blocks away from our beach club, this award winning three-star hotel caters to the value-oriented traveler who is looking for excellent accommodations and price. Our European Plan allows you to get your full American breakfast in the morning and spend the rest of your day in excursions. Our hotel is located only 5 minutes from Xcaret and Delphinus with shuttle service available. At the end of your day relax in our swimming pool amid beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Express Playa Del Carmen
Express Playacar Riviera Maya
Holiday Inn Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.