We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value just outside the central area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lt 5 Mz 29 Fracc Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77713, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #120 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good value just outside the central area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We arrived at the airport in Cancun , and we already had booked a transport with cancuntransfers.com to Playa Del Carmen. it worked very well, and I must say I enjoyed our stay in HI expresss. I was little surprised that we could not open the windows, but we learned very quickly why, as it was very humid here. The hotel was very clean, good service, but I was not so very keen on the breakfast. As this hotel is located at the western side of the town, there is 10-15 minutes walk to the streets in town. However, as the price for our stay was so good , it really doesn't matter. Yes, I would certainly stay here again !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness

Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    96
    36
    21
    9
See reviews for
61
82
12
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay, just a short distance to walk to 5th avenue! Close to the ocean. Breakfast was good. I would recommend staying here, it's affordable and clean. I enjoyed my time here! The pool was nice too, the only thing the pool was missing was a bar! I enjoyed staying right in playa, it was nice to be so close to go out and see playa. The staff was great! The night front desk clerk was great and helpful and very knowledgable, it was always nice to see him at the desk smiling!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your very important comments with us.

We’d like to apologize for the experience you recently had with us during your last stay.

Let us remind you that you have been a very valued guest for us, and we really thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We will make sure that we make our best effort so this type of situations will not happen again.

Dear guest, give us the opportunity to show you we can reach and exceed your expectations, and apologize personally, let us know by this same email about your future reservation, we will be very glad to assisting you anytime

Once again we apologize, and appreciating your understanding.

Sincerely yours,

Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Holiday Inn was just okay. Not bad, not great. The staff was nice and tried to help. It was an adequate place to stay for one night before going south to Tulum. The location worked out well for renting a car.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your very important comments with us.

We’d like to apologize for the experience you recently had with us during your last stay.

Let us remind you that you have been a very valued guest for us, and we really thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We will make sure that we make our best effort so this type of situations will not happen again.

Dear guest, give us the opportunity to show you we can reach and exceed your expectations, and apologize personally, let us know by this same email about your future reservation, we will be very glad to assisting you anytime

Once again we apologize, and appreciating your understanding.

Sincerely yours,

Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed here 5 nights. Cannot beat the price for a resort location. Even though it is not right on the beach it is only a short walk or quick taxi ride away.

The hotel itself is definitely not a luxury hotel but it is nice and clean. The staff was also nice and pleasant.

The free breakfast was OK overall with the fresh fruit being the best part. The eggs were usually not warm enough which probably means they need some additional heaters under the serving tray. Some cream for the coffee would also be nice.

The pool area was also pretty nice but I would suggest that they plant some type of evergreen trees as a buffer between the pool and the traffic on the street behind it to cut down on the noise and to give it a more peaceful setting.

Another thing that was an annoyance was that every time I would walk into the bathroom the door knob on the door would smack me in the back due to some type of door return hinge. It would be better with nothing or one with a little less force.

Overall I would recommend staying here if you would like to save money to spend elsewhere like a trip to Chichen-Izta or elsewhere. I think the going rate is about $85 per night or 15000 reward points which again is an excellent value.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This well appointed hotel for business travelers was a bit pricey, but not too far from the beach if you don't mind walking 15-20 minutes. Nice pool and very generous breakfast buffet. The room was supposed to have a microwave, but the website was wrong about that, so don't expect a microwave, but that was minor compared to the generous space of the rooms and quiet space overlooking the pool.

Room Tip: Get a map on how to get to the beach and restaurants. Walk as parking is difficult on the tourist st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is located just a few hundred yards from the 5ta. Avenida, where all the restaurant and cultural life takes place in Playa del Carmen. So it is very convenient for that sake. The hotel is business class minded, good breakfast in the morning, some evenings with tapa bar, all free. The wifi was just about to be upgraded so the rooms would have accessibility. At the time I was there it did not work yet, only in the lobby area. The rooms have little decoration and could be upgraded with little effort and cost. With a little additional effort this place could gain some more points.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South America
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Like most Holiday Inns, this manages to provide a good basic level of service at a democratic Price. The staff were friendly and the rooms clean and well maintained. Although not the place to spend much time if you're in Playa Del Carmen as a tourist, unless you're just using it as a base, it's good value for either business or a short stopover.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya

Address: Lt 5 Mz 29 Fracc Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77713, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 5 blocks away from our beach club, this award winning three-star hotel caters to the value-oriented traveler who is looking for excellent accommodations and price. Our European Plan allows you to get your full American breakfast in the morning and spend the rest of your day in excursions. Our hotel is located only 5 minutes from Xcaret and Delphinus with shuttle service available. At the end of your day relax in our swimming pool amid beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Express Playa Del Carmen
Express Playacar Riviera Maya
Holiday Inn Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.