We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lt 5 Mz 29 Fracc Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77713, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #135 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay, just a short distance to walk to 5th avenue! Close to the ocean. Breakfast was good. I would recommend staying here, it's affordable and clean. I enjoyed my time here! The pool was nice too, the only thing the pool was missing was a bar! I enjoyed staying right in playa, it was nice to be so close to go out and see playa. The staff was great! The night front desk clerk was great and helpful and very knowledgable, it was always nice to see him at the desk smiling!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your very important comments with us.

We’d like to apologize for the experience you recently had with us during your last stay.

Let us remind you that you have been a very valued guest for us, and we really thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We will make sure that we make our best effort so this type of situations will not happen again.

Dear guest, give us the opportunity to show you we can reach and exceed your expectations, and apologize personally, let us know by this same email about your future reservation, we will be very glad to assisting you anytime

Once again we apologize, and appreciating your understanding.

Sincerely yours,

Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    120
    61
    30
    16
See reviews for
91
115
16
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chardon, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Holiday Inn was just okay. Not bad, not great. The staff was nice and tried to help. It was an adequate place to stay for one night before going south to Tulum. The location worked out well for renting a car.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your very important comments with us.

We’d like to apologize for the experience you recently had with us during your last stay.

Let us remind you that you have been a very valued guest for us, and we really thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We will make sure that we make our best effort so this type of situations will not happen again.

Dear guest, give us the opportunity to show you we can reach and exceed your expectations, and apologize personally, let us know by this same email about your future reservation, we will be very glad to assisting you anytime

Once again we apologize, and appreciating your understanding.

Sincerely yours,

Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
104 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed here 5 nights. Cannot beat the price for a resort location. Even though it is not right on the beach it is only a short walk or quick taxi ride away.

The hotel itself is definitely not a luxury hotel but it is nice and clean. The staff was also nice and pleasant.

The free breakfast was OK overall with the fresh fruit being the best part. The eggs were usually not warm enough which probably means they need some additional heaters under the serving tray. Some cream for the coffee would also be nice.

The pool area was also pretty nice but I would suggest that they plant some type of evergreen trees as a buffer between the pool and the traffic on the street behind it to cut down on the noise and to give it a more peaceful setting.

Another thing that was an annoyance was that every time I would walk into the bathroom the door knob on the door would smack me in the back due to some type of door return hinge. It would be better with nothing or one with a little less force.

Overall I would recommend staying here if you would like to save money to spend elsewhere like a trip to Chichen-Izta or elsewhere. I think the going rate is about $85 per night or 15000 reward points which again is an excellent value.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This well appointed hotel for business travelers was a bit pricey, but not too far from the beach if you don't mind walking 15-20 minutes. Nice pool and very generous breakfast buffet. The room was supposed to have a microwave, but the website was wrong about that, so don't expect a microwave, but that was minor compared to the generous space of the rooms and quiet space overlooking the pool.

Room Tip: Get a map on how to get to the beach and restaurants. Walk as parking is difficult on the tourist st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is located just a few hundred yards from the 5ta. Avenida, where all the restaurant and cultural life takes place in Playa del Carmen. So it is very convenient for that sake. The hotel is business class minded, good breakfast in the morning, some evenings with tapa bar, all free. The wifi was just about to be upgraded so the rooms would have accessibility. At the time I was there it did not work yet, only in the lobby area. The rooms have little decoration and could be upgraded with little effort and cost. With a little additional effort this place could gain some more points.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South America
Level Contributor
101 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Like most Holiday Inns, this manages to provide a good basic level of service at a democratic Price. The staff were friendly and the rooms clean and well maintained. Although not the place to spend much time if you're in Playa Del Carmen as a tourist, unless you're just using it as a base, it's good value for either business or a short stopover.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel, the free breakfast and free wi-fi. It's a good place to stay if you want something somewhat "American-ized" and are just using it for a base, while spending your time out and about. They provide almost-hourly free shuttle to downtown/ferry/etc, otherwise cab ride back or cab ride during off hours is like $7. Pool looked clean, but not a lot of atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.9 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#29 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Express Playa del Carmen
City Express Playa del Carmen
#148 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#25 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
#91 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa la Galeria
Casa la Galeria
#47 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique
La Pasion Hotel Boutique
#10 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya

Address: Lt 5 Mz 29 Fracc Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77713, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 5 blocks away from our beach club, this award winning three-star hotel caters to the value-oriented traveler who is looking for excellent accommodations and price. Our European Plan allows you to get your full American breakfast in the morning and spend the rest of your day in excursions. Our hotel is located only 5 minutes from Xcaret and Delphinus with shuttle service available. At the end of your day relax in our swimming pool amid beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Express Playa Del Carmen
Express Playacar Riviera Maya
Holiday Inn Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.