We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, large spacious suites. Generous breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lt 5 Mz 29 Fracc Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77713, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #114 of 199 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel, large spacious suites. Generous breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This well appointed hotel for business travelers was a bit pricey, but not too far from the beach if you don't mind walking 15-20 minutes. Nice pool and very generous breakfast buffet. The room was supposed to have a microwave, but the website was wrong about that, so don't expect a microwave, but that was minor compared to the generous space of the rooms and quiet space overlooking the pool.

Room Tip: Get a map on how to get to the beach and restaurants. Walk as parking is difficult on the tourist st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    93
    33
    17
    9
See reviews for
59
77
11
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas City
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is located just a few hundred yards from the 5ta. Avenida, where all the restaurant and cultural life takes place in Playa del Carmen. So it is very convenient for that sake. The hotel is business class minded, good breakfast in the morning, some evenings with tapa bar, all free. The wifi was just about to be upgraded so the rooms would have accessibility. At the time I was there it did not work yet, only in the lobby area. The rooms have little decoration and could be upgraded with little effort and cost. With a little additional effort this place could gain some more points.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South America
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Like most Holiday Inns, this manages to provide a good basic level of service at a democratic Price. The staff were friendly and the rooms clean and well maintained. Although not the place to spend much time if you're in Playa Del Carmen as a tourist, unless you're just using it as a base, it's good value for either business or a short stopover.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel, the free breakfast and free wi-fi. It's a good place to stay if you want something somewhat "American-ized" and are just using it for a base, while spending your time out and about. They provide almost-hourly free shuttle to downtown/ferry/etc, otherwise cab ride back or cab ride during off hours is like $7. Pool looked clean, but not a lot of atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was satisfied ; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Overall - this is a great place. The pros include a friendly staff. (David - one of the breakfast attendants - was awesome). The staff in general worked with a sense of urgency and attentiveness that makes travelling to Mexico great. The front desk staff also speak great English.

I stayed 8 nights and had a car, so it was easy getting around to the downtown / beach area with ease... with is only about a 3 minute drive.

The hotel lets you rent bikes for free, has a great outdoor pool, and a business center on site.

Some of the cons include the phones not working during my entire stay. The night clerk had to come up to my room and knock on my door to "deliver" my wake-up call at 4am on my final morning of my stay, since they could not call my room. And the hotel does not have wireless internet available in all of the rooms. Also there is construction going on right store, so the noise level if you happen to get a room on one side of the hotel is quite unbearable in the mornings.

If I were come back, I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the "Chichen" conference room: It will allow you to use the Wifi for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was of your complete satisfaction; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This place is great if you are a seasoned traveller. Only serves breakfast through to around 11;00 thereafter you have to look after yourself, which is not an issue as loads of good places around. Has its own beach club about 10 minutes away. Own pool within the hotel grounds. Very friendly staff, most of whom speak decent English [far better than my Spanish]. Very reasonable room rates [less than 40$ dollars a night in total per room when we where there !!!!!!!!!!!!!]

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear guest:
We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.
We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was of your complete satisfaction; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.
We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.
Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.
Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.
Thank you for all your kindness
Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It was admittedly some bad luck that soured my experience but this hotel just didn't work for me. It all started poorly with a 2-hour drive from the airport because of a completely clueless cab driver. Not the hotel's fault but what followed was: it has absolutely terrible ventilation. A shirt of mine got wet in the rain the first day and never dried - in six days! I will leave it for you to decide how hygenic that would make the bedding etc. Also, the maid staff seemed to make up their own mind when/if they would do the room and they never once cleaned up the dozen or so cigarette butts that a previous guest had left on my window sill. Many of the fixtures in the room and in the common areas of the hotel are so old, it feels like they are going to break any minute.
There are some good points about this hotel - it's a short distance to walk to the main part of Playa, the pool is surprisingly nice for a Holiday Inn and the breakfast was OK. the non-maid staff also were quite friendly.
My suggestion is that if you're on a tight budget and get a good deal, stay here and keep your fingers crossed. If you have a bit more money to spend and don't want to take chances, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your very important comments with us.

We’d like to apologize for the experience you recently had with us during your last stay.

Let us remind you that you have been a very valued guest for us, and we really thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We will make sure that we make our best effort so this type of situations will not happen again.

Dear guest, give us the opportunity to show you we can reach and exceed your expectations, and apologize personally, let us know by this same email about your future reservation, we will be very glad to assisting you anytime

Once again we apologize, and appreciating your understanding.

Sincerely yours,

Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya

Address: Lt 5 Mz 29 Fracc Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77713, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 5 blocks away from our beach club, this award winning three-star hotel caters to the value-oriented traveler who is looking for excellent accommodations and price. Our European Plan allows you to get your full American breakfast in the morning and spend the rest of your day in excursions. Our hotel is located only 5 minutes from Xcaret and Delphinus with shuttle service available. At the end of your day relax in our swimming pool amid beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Express Playa Del Carmen
Express Playacar Riviera Maya
Holiday Inn Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.