We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, inexpensive hotel but not centrally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lt 5 Mz 29 Fracc Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77713, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #120 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Seattle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Clean, inexpensive hotel but not centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My family spent 4 nights in Playa Del Carmen after staying at an all-inclusive resort in Cancun. We did not want an all-inclusive resort in PDC because we had planned to make several days trips. We wanted a safe, clean and inexpensive place, and the Holiday Inn Express met all our expectations.

As others have pointed out, this hotel is not centrally located. It is about 12 minutes walk to the busier 10 Ave and another 2-3 minutes walk to the ADO bus station or 5 Ave, where the action is. It is a safe and flat walk. There is a convenient store about 5 mins and a grill restaurant about 7 mins from the hotel. The hotel provides a free shuttle almost hourly from the hotel to 3 locations near 5 Ave throughout the day. I believe the first shuttle is around 9-something and the last one is around 5-something. You have to walk or take back. There are taxis parked at the hotel in the morning if you do not want to take the shuttle.

There are a couple of beach facilities where you can use for free as guests of the Holiday Inn Express. One such place is the Senior Frog beach near the ferry terminal. This is a clothing optional beach.

The check in process is straightforward and the front desk people were friendly and professional. The concierge was very friendly and full of advice. We took her advice of taking the ADO bus to Chitchen Itza; in hindsight, we would not recommend taking the ADO bus because it takes an hour longer each direction. For 5 people, we could have hired a taxi for the day for the same price.

We had 2 rooms and both were quite big and very clean and quite modern. One of the shower drain was draining very slowly, so we called the front desk. The maintenance guy showed up within 5 minutes and fixed it. Fantastic responsiveness.

The hotel have bicycles for guests to use for free. You just need to give the security people an ID to check out the bicycles. We had a wonderful ride around the Playacar resort area which rather relaxing and safe.

Breakfast appear to be yummy but all I had was toast and jam. The day we check into the hotel, I had a terrible case of food poisoning. Prior to my illness, my last meal was lunch at the all-inclusive resort in Cancun. I was taken to the emergency room in PlayaMed Hospital in an ambulance. Anyway, I felt the effect of the food poisoning for several days so all I could eat was toast and jam. My family thought that the breakfast was quite good. There were toasts, pastries, cereal, about 6 diffrerent kinds of Mexican food (bean, etc.), fruits, yoghurt, milk, coffee, juice, etc.

Throughout the day and night, coffee, tea and water are available from the lobby for free. I did not like the taste of the tap water. It tasted rather salty and unpleasant.

My #1 complaint about this hotel is the weak wifi. Wifi from from our rooms were rather weak and unusable. Wifi from the lobby was better but not strong either. Most frustrating was that the signals keep dropping every so often. There are ethernet jacks in the room, so bring an ethernet cable if you've a laptop. Also, they have a business center with 3 computers and 1 printer, which is very useful for online checkin for flights.

I would stay at this hotel again for my next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side of the hotel are quiet. Rooms on the right side may be more noisy since they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest:

We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.

We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was of your complete satisfaction; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.

We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.

Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.

Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.

Thank you for all your kindness

Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    96
    35
    21
    9
See reviews for
61
82
12
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have stayed here numerous times and it is still a great hotel.
Nice people, clean hotel and pool.
The free breakfast is ok as well.
The gym equipment is good but a bit dated and in need of some repairs (if you run on the treadmill closest to the glass wall the rubber matt jams sometimes).

Room Tip: Hotel is not on the beach but the pool is adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest:

We are glad to hear from you since you have been kind enough to take the time to write your comments.

We are excited to know that your last stay at Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen was of your complete satisfaction; that is our goal and our motivation: to reach and exceed your expectations.

We are taking care of your necessities to offer you the best Service as you deserve.

Your comments about your stay at our hotel make us feel we are working the way we should in order to satisfy guests as yourself.

Dear guest, again thank you very much for all your positive words, they make us feel stronger to work every day offering you the best service.

Thank you for all your kindness

Christian Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were to start our vacation at a resort just south of Playa del Carmen on the 3rd of Dec., 2012 but flight came in late so we came a day earlier and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. The front desk was extremely nice, he called and got us pizza from take out, told us about the breakfast in the morning and we were all set. The room was very clean and the bed was one of the best we have had in this area. We did have a problem with our shower as the water was just a trickle but the maintenance guys came and worked on it and had it working within an hour. The breakfast the next morning was very good, fruit, eggs, cereal, and a mexican dish which was really good. We had coffee out by the pool which was very nice and the workout room looked really nice. We didn't use the pool or work out room but all seemed up to par. I would stay here again and probably will as this flight seems to be what we now have to take. Great place

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, West Midlands
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We enedup up here for one night because of a misssed flight: the staff were helpful and friendly, and the room comfortable. There's no bar or restaurant, but you can order in takeaway food, or the town is a short taxi ride (I'd guess about 15-20 min walk) away, and for the price the place is fine- spotlessly clean, confortable bed, working aircon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We booked this hotel with our HolidayInn points to save money. The hotel isn't exactly by the beach so you will need to take a 15 mins walk to the town center. The walk itself can be boring and dark but it is rather safe. The breakfast was ok but we appreciate saving a bit of money instead of going out for tourist food. The room is really clean, spacious and comfortable. The staffs are friendly and we were rather happy with the place despite the walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I spent a week here in April 2012, celebrating a BIG birthday. The hotel was good; clean, spacious & cooling rooms after a day in the hot Mexican sun. A small but perfect swimming pool to cool off in or lounge around in the day and a great American/Mexican breakfast to set you up for the day.

Away from the bustle of the main streets of this city, but not too far, everything you want and need is within walking distance, it's a great location to retreat from the vendors and other tourists.

The real beauty of this little gem, though, has to be the staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. In particular, the Receptionist, who's name I can't recall but he was there every day of our 7 day stay, keeping his guests happy. Also the lovely concierge, a beautiful local lady who helped us arrange tickets for a gig on my big day and bought me a Mayan gift when she learned it was my birthday. And the Maintenance team were superstars.

Some folks want the luxury of an all inclusive resort when visiting Mexico. If you don't need that security blanket and are looking for a good base from which to explore the area, experience the locals and experience a warm, friendly service, this is for you. Oh and they have free WIFI too...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, BC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We booked this hotel based on price, but were pleasantly surprised with what we saw when we arrived. The lobby is very nice, with a sitting area looking out onto a very attractive (small) pool and deck. The staff were friendly and helpful, which is important, and we learned there was a breakfast buffet included. The breakfast was tasty and there was a small, but good selection. The room was spacious and very clean, with all the basics. Very nice. Location was pretty good except for the fact that the taxi drivers charge you 70 pesos ($6) for a 4 minute trip into town which I think is a tourist rip-off - locals pay a lot less for taxis in Riviera Maya (If you like to walk, I would definitely say it's walking distance, but it does get very hot weather-wise, so...). There is a shuttle but the schedule is limited, so check it out before you plan your day. Overall, I would highly recommend this place for people travelling on a budget, but who won't sacrifice clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya

Address: Lt 5 Mz 29 Fracc Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77713, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 5 blocks away from our beach club, this award winning three-star hotel caters to the value-oriented traveler who is looking for excellent accommodations and price. Our European Plan allows you to get your full American breakfast in the morning and spend the rest of your day in excursions. Our hotel is located only 5 minutes from Xcaret and Delphinus with shuttle service available. At the end of your day relax in our swimming pool amid beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Express Playa Del Carmen
Express Playacar Riviera Maya
Holiday Inn Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.