We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Wrong with this Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lt 5 Mz 29 Fracc Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77713, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #121 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nothing Wrong with this Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

HIE in Playa del Carmen is perfect if you want peace and quite. No rowdy partier's and a nice pool to relax by during the day!
The breakfast is traditional Mexican flavor but they usually have pancakes and scrambled eggs as well and the price is right...FREE!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    96
    35
    21
    9
See reviews for
61
82
12
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Just a short distance from downtown Playa del Carmen and offers clean rooms and excellent service. For example, the sink sprung a leak one morning and the room service and maintenance people were there within minutes of the call. Had everything back to normal in no time. Special thanks to the front desk (Ovidio) with check-out and printing our boarding passes! Service is what so often adds the extra star to the hotel's rating -These guys did a great job!
See you next year!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

HIE Playa was all we ever needed on our recent vacation in Mexico! Breakfast was amazing! The pool is beautiful! Rooms are very nice! Beds are comfy! Within a few blocks walking to the Village and the beach! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Why pay for a high end hotel when you're just going to sleep at your hotel! Best stay for your m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

so i and another woman needed a safe clean place to stay near playa del carmen and we checked into this hotel..I have to say it was very nice for the price and if you must go as a woman alone or with another it was a good place to stay-almost everyone was friendly-the beds were very comfy, and generally it was a good place EXCEPT for the face that we were told it was $85 dollars a night and when we checked out it ended up being $133 a night ..and when we questioned it this particular employee was not the friendliest and it never really got explained why the price went up-so having said that for 85 bucks a night it was good at 133. I wouldn't do it again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear kirsten,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Found the hotel facilities to always be clean & fresh. The rooms are bright & comfortable with large bathroom areas. The staff were always couteous, polite & helpful at all times. The breakfast buffet included provides a great start to the day. The pool area is well designed & great place to spend time away from the hustle & bustle of the downtown area. The location is a short 10 minute walk to town or a free shuttle service. Free internet service is also provided.
This hotel offers exceptional value at reasonable rates!!! Having stayed at this hotel numerous times since 2007, we find the consistent quality to be outstanding & highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel and upon arrival thought it looked nice and clean. We were greeted nice enough and check-in went smooth; however being priority club members we were not offered our club benefits. The hotel is clean, the staff is relatively friendly and you have a feeling of safety on the hotel grounds. The pool was very nice the day we arrived however when we awoke the next morning it was closed due to repairs. Our room was big and accomadating but was very hot due to no air conditioning causing a restless night. The shower had very little water pressure at all. I used the gym in the morning and it was kind of like excersing in a sauna. The breakfast was just OK but the staff kept everything clean and full.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
holsv2,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We’re sorry that you received service that was less-than-satisfactory. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

It's a Holiday Inn, you know what you gonna get for your money, and yes I had for my money! huge and very clean room, good service except that sometime the person at the lobby can be very busy and you'll have to wait in line at the lobby. Beside, good selection and quality of food at the brakefast buffet. Been very quiet all the time in the hotel. And great location very close from downtown.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya

Address: Lt 5 Mz 29 Fracc Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77713, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 5 blocks away from our beach club, this award winning three-star hotel caters to the value-oriented traveler who is looking for excellent accommodations and price. Our European Plan allows you to get your full American breakfast in the morning and spend the rest of your day in excursions. Our hotel is located only 5 minutes from Xcaret and Delphinus with shuttle service available. At the end of your day relax in our swimming pool amid beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Express Playa Del Carmen
Express Playacar Riviera Maya
Holiday Inn Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Playacar Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.