We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the middle!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Parrot 5th Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Parrot 5th Avenue to your Saves list
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16st between 1st and 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Right in the middle!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very basic hotel right on the corner of 5 Ave and Calle 12. We selected it for location and price. The room are big but dark. During the night noise from the near by clubs was significant but expected. No breakfast provided but there is plenty of places around to have nice meal. The hotel provides no cover entrance to Blue Parrot and two other beach clubs in the evening. No special agreements with any day time beach clubs. It's two blocks from the beach. Not a good place for romantic getaway or families

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    24
    9
    19
See reviews for
8
28
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great service while on the beach in front of the Blue Parrott. Thanks to my good friend Pedro who waited on me the whole week and kept in instock with Ice cold Corona's while I was on the beach.for the last couple of years.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Blue Parrot is centrally located on 5th Avenue which is the main strip of Playa Del Carmen which has numerous bars, restaurants and shops.
The hotel was reasonably priced for bed and breakfast and the room was adequate for a our needs and well maintained. There is a large shower area separate from the toilet.
The other part of the hotel is literally round the corner on the beach front and this is where you go for breakfast and have access to the sunbeds.
Breakfast included in the price is fruit and toast but other items are available if you want to purchase them. We ate lunch in the restaurant a couple of times and it was reasonably priced, good food.
The hotel has cards which enable you to get 50% off at The Gym which is just down the road although it still cost about £5.
The safe can be used for free and there is free wifi when at the beach front part of the hotel.
I enjoyed my stay at the Blue Parrot but the noise from the nightclub at night did impact. It literally reverberates the room from about 11pm to 5am (I knew what time it was whenever I woke up in the night by whether the music was still going). My advice would be to stay out till 5am!
We did drink in the Blue Parrot on a couple of occasions. Girls get in free and we were given plenty of alcohol (although probably not of the best quality but what do you expect for free!)
The hotel isn't luxury but it certainly has character.
We took the bus from the airport to Playa which cost about £6 each and took around an hour.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

There are so many nice hotels in Playa del Carmen. There is no reason at all to stay in this dirty, noisy over priced hotel. Many people have had things stolen from their rooms so be warned! The bar also sells very bad drinks that have been watered down or have no alcohol at all in! If you are offered to buy a wrist band for free drinks all night this is a lie!!! You wont get your money back! The management is unfriendly and will threaten you with violence if you make a complaint about anything!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is our fourth time staying at the Blue Parrot, which tells you we certainly find it a good place to be. The location is perfect on Quinte Avenida at Calle 12, with almost everything within walking distance, including the Cozumel Ferry!

We had the large room acing Quinta Avenida with a small balcony and had no problems with the walking traffic or the music from the Tequila Bar across the street. The fans operated well, but the a/c was slow to cool the large room, but we learned to ask the security guard to turn it on if we were going to be away for the day and that worked fine, as we did leave t spend the day at Xcaret.

The bedding was great. The shower was fine..it is quite common not to have doors on showers i Mexico. They are built so the water drains away from the adjoining area! We did miss the old restaurant Playasia, but there are lots of other restaurants nearby, like the Blue Lobster, as well as The Glass House/Di Vino. The staff were very accommodating he price was excellent for the location.

There is no parking on Quinta Avenida, so if you have a car, there is a 3 storey garage behind Coco Bongo at 200 pesos for 24 hours and it is very secure! It is just four blocks from the Blue Parrot on 10th Avenue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Playa is a cute town with beautiful beach on the Caribbean sea and all that beauty softens me and cool me down when I found out that they stole the money from our room. We got the room without safety box so they took advantage of that to stole the money we placed in hidden pocket. There were other valuable things that we were keeping in the room which can be even easier to steel if you are in hurry but they obviously had time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Cool location directly at the Quinta Avenida, very nice rooms. Be prepared to hear the music from Calle 12, don't go there with families. Good for people who like to go out at night!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#116 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maya Bric Hotel
Maya Bric Hotel
#136 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#114 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Mariposa
Hotel Posada Mariposa
#107 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa la Galeria
Casa la Galeria
#45 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jungla Caribe
Hotel Jungla Caribe
#124 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Parrot 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Parrot 5th Avenue

Address: 16st between 1st and 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Parrot 5th Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Parrot 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Blue Parrot 5th Avenue Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Parrot 5th Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.