We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awesome place to visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub to your Saves list
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1a. Avenida Norte, Mza. 26 #23, Calle 16, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 40% off & Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Illinois
1 review
“What an awesome place to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

We recently spent five wonderful days at Porto Playa in Playa Del Carmen. Unit 216 was so comfortable and beautifully decorated. The view over the pool and courtyard area was very pleasant. We found many activities in the area for all ages. The location of the hotel is perfect. The beach is just a block away and a great place to relax with clean sand and clear blue water. There is no shortage of great restaurants very close by including the Negrosal right in the hotel which had excellent food. There is plenty of nightlife just a block away along with enjoyable shopping and a fun atmosphere throughout the town. The owner of the condo was so helpful giving us suggestions before we left for our trip. She connected us with a tour guide who drove us to the Mayan ruins in Tulum, some quiet lagoon beaches, and a cenote that we never would have found on our own. We also spent part of a day at Discovery Jungle which included ATVs, ziplines, and a cenote. Nothing but fun! The guides there were great and we loved the adventure. Playa del Carmen offers a great mix of opportunities for those who want to relax or those who are seeking an adventure. Our group ranged in age from 16 to 52 and there was something for everyone! It was a great family vacation destination. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    44
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
115
110
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Our stay at Porto Playa in Condo 216 was an absolutely fantastic experience. First of all the area surrounding the hotel exceeded my expectations. The condo location is ideal--just steps away from unique dining and shopping down Playa's cobblestone streets and a block away from white sand beaches with crystal blue water.

The Porto Playa Condo itself was the perfect accommodation for our leisure trip. With two full baths, kitchen, two twins and a king size bed you can have all the conveniences of home while being able to step outside into lush tropical gardens surrounding a luxury pool with waterfall and all. Not to mention that everyday was sunny with clear blue skies. Although we really enjoyed our time spent at the condo and at the beach, we got the urge to do a couple excursions. Based on the helpful recommendations of the owner we had a private guide named Fernando and transportation to and from the nearby Mayan ruins at Tulum, the "cenotes" or underwater freshwater caves, and secluded beaches that we never would've discovered on our own.

Overall it was a great trip and I would recommend the Porto Playa condo to anyone! I definitely hope to return!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

We traveled out of the country for the first time for our Wedding/Honeymoon. Not knowing what to expect but going off of reviews ourself. We were amazed on how at home you feel at Porto Playa Condo 216. The condo was immaculate and so cozy. We will be returning to this same Condo for our Anniversary. It was a dream come true for us! The recommendations from the owner Laura were fabulous. We had our reception at Play Asia and were not disappointed. The food was delicous and the atmosphere was amazing! Our regular restaurant was La Parilla. The mexican food was fabulous. The best restaurant in town!

  • Stayed January 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

The top 10 things I love about staying at #216 Porto Playa.
Number 10: a refreshing dip in the gorgeous pool
Number 9: sitting on the balcony at sundown with a glass of wine
Number 8. ceviche on the beach
Number 7: margaritas, margaritas, margaritas!!
Number 6. the nightlife
Number 5. friendly people everywhere you go!
Number 4: fantastic shopping
Number 3: great restaurants
Number 2: beautiful beaches
and the Number 1 reason I love vacationing in Playa del Carmen
luxurious accommodations at #216 Porto Playa!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Great place. Went for a big wedding and everyone had a great time. Very clean. Bottled water provided. Lots of constuction noise, but I assume that will go away soon.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

Spent 5 days with girlfriends on our annual trip to Playa. Usually stay in boutique hotels, but decided to try the condo route this time to allow us to be together instead of separate hotel rooms. We'll never go anyplace else. We rented #210 for five of us. Unbelievable amount of space and comfort. We never even went to the beach. Had our own private entrance to the pool and just stayed there all day. Ate breakfast at La Tortuga Hotel every day, made guacamole at the condo for lunch and ate at great restaurants every night. The concierge service stocked our fridge with beer, soda, avacados,etc and a spectacular floral arrangement. I had arranged for this prior to the trip, but what a treat not to have to grocery shop after arrival. Lourdes at the reception desk was very helpful and friendly, as was all the other staff we met. The maid service was incredible...daily mopping, sheets and the works! The pool is larger than most of the pools at the boutique hotel and is also heated and has sun/shade exposure which is also harder to find at the boutiques. There are four levels, so lots of up and down stairs, a concern for those who have trouble climbing. Otherwise, an amazing find that we'll rent yearly.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

I stayed at Porto Playa Condo Hotels with 6 guests to celebrate my 30th birthday. We had rooms 212 and 213. I loved it. It was even more beautiful that the pictures. I really loved the bathrooms in the master and the gardens were beautiful. Pros: Everything was beautiful and they were eager to suggest places to eat (Very handy with so many places to choose!). The cleaning ladies were excellent! They did a bang up job every day. I liked the pool and hot tubs. We were close to the beach and the strip. It's the perfect location. And the price was right! Cons: The water in the shower takes a while to heat up and one of the double vanity face bowls in room 213 leaked around the base, so some of my stuff got wet when my boyfriend left the water running for a bit. Overall: It was SO worth it! I'd go back in a heartbeat

  • Liked — Value - what I paid for what I got
  • Disliked — One face bowl leaked
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub

Address: 1a. Avenida Norte, Mza. 26 #23, Calle 16, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The focal point is a Sanctuary reminiscent of a tropical rain forest. There is even a "State of the Art" Gym and Fitness Center right on premises. Porto Playa features 1, 2 and 3 bedroom penthouses and condominiums. All the Penthouses have their own private rooftop terrace with BBQ outdoor kitchen, heated Jacuzzi some with spectacular partial ocean views. Centrally located in the heart of Playa, Porto Playa is only one short block from the beautiful Caribbean Playa del Carmen beaches and famous 5th Ave. Perfect for beach weddings, honeymoons in Playa del Carmen , families and business groups and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Playa Condo Hotel And Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.