We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It wasn't bad, but nothing special.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa del Karma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Playa del Karma to your Saves list
Hotel Playa del Karma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 15 entre calle 12 y 14 manzana 122 lote 9 Centro | Col. Centro entre calles 12 y 14, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“It wasn't bad, but nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Hotel Playa Del Karma, pretty middle of the road. The receptionists were all very friendly. The grounds were clean. The rooms were a bit small, may have just seemed that way because of the big bed. A/C was a crappy old window unit, it worked okay but took a long while to get the room cold. The bed was as hard a rock, I woke up sore every morning. Our first night the pillows were the same, thick and firm, kind of like sleeping on a basketball. We did get new pillows for the remaining nights so it wasn't that big of a deal. There was a light yellow powder that got over all our stuff, not sure what it was or where it came from. No TV sucked, thankfully we had a computer full of movies to go to sleep to. Some call the hotel quiet, I would not. There is a church across the street that rings their bell for what I'm guessing is 15 o clock(lots and lots of dongs), around sunrise. There's also a loud dog on the property right next door that likes to bark. And the electronic safe's beeping can be heard from the next room. The pool is super small too. Cool fresh towel art and free filtered water were probably the biggest pluses. They do not have parking, you must park on the street. Every night I went to sleep fearing that our car would get broken into or sideswiped, never happened but we did have to park up 2-3 blocks away sometimes. I could not get a wifi signal in our room. Over all, pretty typical for a small, cheap, semi out of the way place. That being said we will probably try somewhere else next time. Hotel Playa del Karma wasn't bad, but nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarmaHotel, Margarita Porras, Reservaciones y Ventas at Hotel Playa del Karma, responded to this review, October 4, 2010
We are in a very good location for a Hotel in Playa del Carmen. Nearby the bus foreigner station meaning that if you want to visit Merida or come back to the airport you only have to walk one block to catch the bus. Playa del Karma is an etno-boutique Hotel meaning is a very particular architecture that we have. Mayans are short people and is normal that tall people sees a little reduce the space inside of our Nativo style rooms with palapa roof, in the other hand we rather have beds that are orthopedically good for the backs of our guests, but we want to satisfy everybody and if something is making our guest not comfortable and we can fixed by re assigning rooms, we do it as soon as we can, because we have more options like the Karma style rooms that have concrete roof and TV. With our concept being al Natural and our beautiful gardens we have a program to keep everything clean and neat and is a big quest, but we accomplish it every day. If people come from another country things that in Mexico are tradition and part of our very soul are different to they're costumes. Mexico is a very multicultural country and have lots of churches (in one call "Cholula" in Puebla are 365 churches - one for every day- imagine the dings and dongs there! ) We considered this part of Us because for one hand "Iglesia del Carmen" bells are out of what we can do to make them sound or not. Playa del Carmen is a very fast develop city and for every people living here plus the tourist rented cars it make the parking and traffic a little difficult, this is a general problem (if you have a hotel in the 5th ave you will never going to park in front because is a pedestrian street), but we have options right in front of our Hotel or always 2 or 3 blocks around, and is a very tourist zone means is a lot of security, if you are going to rent a car and if it have an insurance is nothing to be afraid.. but having the advantage of having car to move up and down the Riviera Maya that have hundreds of options to visit and explore. Thank you for all this comments it means that we are in the right track we are what we are, and is as special as you want to live your life, that's what we respect of all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    164
    39
    12
    15
See reviews for
28
267
48
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

This is a lovely place. The rooms are beautifully decorated in Mexican style. The beds are very comfortable. The rooms are clean and the shower is hot. The courtyard is pleasant and WiFi works throughout it. They also have a computer in the lobby for guests to use. The hotel is very quiet (even though it is only two blocks from 5th avenue). The walk to the beach is easy. All of the receptionist's restaurant recommendations were great.

We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful honeymoon stay there. Our room is placed such that it is very private and tranquil. The housekeeper would create fun little animals with our towels and place it on our bed - a very small thing I know but it made us chuckle when we walked into the room. The location is fabulous- very close to the beach but quiet away from the noise. The bus station is extremely close so we were fearful that it may not be a very nice place but we were very wrong. And we had everything that we needed in the room and everything worked. As the title states, it was the staff that made our stay memorable. And something that's unheard of - the owner even gave us a lift to the collectivo at the end of our stay! You won't find that anywhere folks and for me service is everything.

A couple of things they will want to look into:
1) we also never got wireless connection from our room
2) breakfast? somehow we missed that altogether from reading recent postings but we never knew it was part of it so it wasn't missed or expected.

All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarmaHotel, Margarita Porras, Reservaciones y Ventas at Hotel Playa del Karma, responded to this review, October 4, 2010
Dear Guest´s come and go... generally living our Hotel with a good taste in they're memories. Sometimes before (singles), some at the beginning (honeymoons) and others after (anniversaries) to celebrate life with Us. Our luxurious garden does not give the opportunity to the technology and we sometimes experience trouble to make the internet connection accessible to all inside of their "palapa roof" Nativo style room, giving a sensation of relaxation. Here time goes different when you lay down in the hammocks. We are working in our facilities to give the service of wireless connection in our gardens and back areas, we actually have a computer in the lobby just for the exclusive use of our guest´s, also the Wi-Fi works perfectly there, and the good thing is that is free. Also is good news that we are redesigning our restaurant and at the end of November everybody will enjoy of healty breakfast not only Continental but a real Mexican buffet just like Frida Kahlo wish to taste the flavors of this colorful country. We are planned to be a Playenses for the rest of our life's and we want You to come and feel that sensation of being part of a very cosmopolitan part of Mexico, don't forget the white sand beaches and the Caribbean ocean :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

This hotel is great as long as you keep in mind that it’s extremely cheap and that you should not expect much from it.

The hotel is small - all it has is about 17 rooms, a small pool, a small breakfast area, and the lobby. The rooms are dark and very basic (it’s just the bed/s, bathroom and a TV - some don't even have a TV). Don't expect any sort of view- the hotel is located far from the beach. It can get really hot (especially at the lobby), so make sure to keep your air conditioning on all day. The pool is extremely small and has lots of leaves, which makes it look a little dirty. Also, there's isn’t really a nice area where you can sit by the pool and relax.

The breakfast they offer is bread, orange juice, coffee, and cereal. There isn’t anything else. Accordingly, it is very cheap and could be good if you are not very hungry. Otherwise, you can find nicer places where to have breakfast just a few blocks from the hotel.

The real standout of Playa del Karma is the staff. They really were outstanding: Very polite and always willing to help. They truly will make you feel at home and very welcome.

The hotel is also just 2 blocks from the area in Playa del Carmen where all the bars and restaurants and shops are located. so if you don’t mind not being directly on the beach, the location is excellent.

A few additional comments:
- The wireless did not work during my entire stay. However, there's a computer at the lobby that you can use free of charge.
- No hairdryers, ladies- so bring your own!
- Stay away from the rooms with the hay roofs! My friends stayed in one and lizards would fall on their bed in the middle of the night! Also, they could hear animals moving on the roof -very uncomfortable. My room had a regular roof and I did not have any issues with animals or bugs, so please request to be moved to a room with a regular roof if you get one of the other ones!
- There is a lid on the shower that keeps bugs from creeping inside the room. However, when you shower, please be sure to pull the lid out so the water can go inside! I heard of a couple's room that flooded because they forgot to do this!
- I would never pay more than 80/night to stay at this hotel.

If what you are looking for is just a bed to sleep on…. if you are not planning on spending much time at the hotel… and if want to be close to Playa del Carmen town but don't want to spend a lot of money, then this is the place for you. BUT if what you are looking for is for a nice, relaxing, memorable, or romantic hotel then please spend a little more money and go somewhere nicer.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarmaHotel, Margarita Porras, Reservaciones y Ventas at Hotel Playa del Karma, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
We are very thankful of the sincere comments that we have, like this one. We really take in consideration all the comments that our guest give us, because this way we have a reliable feedback to keep giving a better service, and we feel pretty happy with the service we give to ALL our guest doesn't matter where they coming from, everybody have the chance to stay with Us.
Definitely there is some details that may not been communicated at the right time (because we do offer hairdryers, only that guest have to obtain them from the reception), and we give different options to rooms with or without television, it also depends a lot on the personalities of our visitors. We try to outstand our service and accommodations every time that we can. We are definitely very proud of the fact that costumers consider the price we charge according to the value of the services we are offering.
Playa del Karma is meant to be a Natural environment atmosphere inside of a very cosmopolitan Playa del Carmen. Definitely we are witnesses of how this is been developed, and trying to go to the opposite direction we keep the basic necessities of our guest cover and go beyond: offering human resources. We definitely are a boutique hotel not acting like an all inclusive, do not expect this here.
Our Mayan villa type of buildings gives the freedom of a welcoming enchant that not everybody sees and that only the ones that want to relax their mind and body then they will have a real Caribbean experience with the a tropical weather included. There is many options by the beach, but we are not offering that, we offer a place to stay and rest from your discovering adventure on the Riviera Maya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Small hotel, 18 rooms. Very clean, quiet, close to everything. Victor and David go above and beyond to insure a comfortable stay. Will definitly return

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarmaHotel, Margarita Porras, Reservaciones y Ventas at Hotel Playa del Karma, responded to this review, October 4, 2010
Thank you for your comment! This definitely give us energy to continue with our work. We will expect you visit with arms open... Mi casa es Tú casa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

we actually wanted to stay 2 nights and stayed 4 because it was a very special place to stay. It is like an oasis in hectic Playa de Carmen, the garden is absolutly relaxing, the rooms are nice and very clean and the staff is extraordinary friendly. We can recomand it to anybody who likes friendlieness and personalized service.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

There is not a bar at the hotel so that kept things pretty relaxing. We were very close to everything. felt very safe and saw many single toursit women walking on the streets so felt the area was safe. david was very nice and the entire staff was accomodating. i had a rental car and parking was within a block everytime i needed a space. its not a plush ritzy hotel its a very neat tropical place to stay. The computer was accessible and i paid the % for a refriderrator in the room which we used.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Playa del Karma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa del Karma

Address: Avenida 15 entre calle 12 y 14 manzana 122 lote 9 Centro | Col. Centro entre calles 12 y 14, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#70 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa del Karma 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Playa del Karma, in Playa del Carmen, Mexico, is a contemporary ethno-boutique hotel designed primarily with indulgence and service in mind. This Playa del Carmen hotel with its prime location in the heart of the youngest and liveliest city in the Riviera Maya and its close proximity to the Quinta Avenida is centrally located, allowing guests the convenience to access diverse tourist attractions that accommodate all interests and budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Playa del Karma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Del Karma Hotel
Playa Del Karma Carmen
Hotel Playa Del Karma Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa del Karma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.