We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best falafel burger ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chic pea

Chic pea
Calle 38 Entre 5ta y 1a Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 803 1142
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Vegetarian, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Galveston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best falafel burger ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wonderful vegetarian food...the falafel burger is the best we have ever eaten.

So yummy! The lemonade is great, too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    10
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Excellent Falafel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Just a wondering charming place right off 5th Ave. There is a creative menu with falafel themed meals from all over the world it seemed, they even had a hot dog falafel! Everything we had, we all enjoyed including the lemonade bar. I found this place off of tripadvisor and the reviews prior to me hit the nail on the head, make sure you stop by while in Playa!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautifully creative falafel menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Situated in one of the more pleasant and relaxed areas of Playa del Carmen's fifth avenue, this little falafel and lemonade shop is charming. The decor is incredibly pretty with muted pastel blue and yellow and their menu is incredibly inspiring. Taking themes from around the world, the falafel can be fashioned into many funky sandwiches. I have been twice and enjoyed the falafel itself, but the sandwich combinations and fillings are really very tasty and filled with great flavour combinations. I recommend this place highly! Also, the raspberry lemonade was rather lovely too. My husband didn't enjoy the falafel as much as I did as he thought it a little dry - but I really enjoyed them.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, Tennessee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Best Lunch in Playa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stopped here to try something different, and did we get it! We ordered the original falafel on pita which was excellent. Cooked perfectly with great flavors. Numerous sauces on the side were also outstanding, although the falafel itself shines on its own. The lemonades are fresh and unique in flavor, but not overly sweet. Great cafe setting and very friendly staff. Our only regret is that we stopped here 2 days before leaving. Heading back there today! Try it, you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“World class falafels!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Fantastic falafels, spiced and cooked perfectly(!), in excellent pita with delicious toppings. These were as good as I've had anywhere, including Washington DC, Paris, NYC and the Middle East, The lemonade was also terrific. Not fine dining, but my wife and I enjoyed a perfect cafe lunch and returned twice for lunch which we brought back to the pool.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chic pea also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Chic pea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chic pea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.