We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect get away from it all...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mosquito Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mosquito Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 8 y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 197 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The perfect get away from it all...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Just got back from Playa and stayed at the Mosquito Beach hotel. All I can say is what a great experience! My friend and I arrived on Saturday afternoon and were relaxing on the beach within minutes of our arrival. The reception desk was courteous as well as very friendly. The few concerns we had were addressed immediately, i.e., couldn't figure out the safe and had difficulties figuring out how to turn on the bi-level shower. Each time we left or returned to the hotel we were greeted by name and asked if we needed anything or if we enjoyed our day.

The beach beds are spacious and comfortable and the spa-esque music is very relaxing. Hard to believe the hotel is a short block from the busy avenida 5. The staff at the beach club was excellent. They were prompt in taking our orders for beverages and when asked would recommend items on the menu for lunch or a snack. The food is outstanding, and the portions generous, and perhaps the best ceviche I've ever had. The staff was always helpful by suggesting restaurants for our dinners. Our first night we dined at the sister property the Mosquito Blue and had a fabulous dinner.

As expected, the room is small and dark with limited storage space. The beds are comfortable; we kept the room more on the cold side which was very welcomed after spending the day on the beach. It also afforded a very comfortable night sleep.

All things told and considered, this was the best vacation ever. I would not have changed a thing, perfect weather, wonderful hotel property, friendly and helpful staff. If you are going to go to Playa and want a boutique hotel experience then I absolutely recommend this hotel!! Will definitely go back :-)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    72
    31
    52
    54
See reviews for
9
164
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

This was my second stay at Mosquito Beach and I enjoyed it, just as much as my first stay. The staff was very friendly and the service at both Reservations and the Beach were exceptional. The rooms were very clean and the maid staff did a thorough job of cleaning the rooms every day. We had the hotel coordinate our airport transportation and it was very timley and both drivers were very nice. The location is great and you can walk to everything either along the beach or the street. Our staff made great recommendations for dinner and were always happy to help us with whatever we needed. This hotel is a boutique hotel with a unique decor and it should be noted that your experience will be very different than all-inclusive "cruise" type of vacation. We wish we could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

this was my fifth time in playa.....on past trips i have stayed in all inclusives and small boutique hotels. my husband and i stayed at the mosquitoe beach hotel with another couple on this trip. really about the hotel, i have nothing positive to say. I like stark and modern, but this was ridiculous. There was no furniture in the rooms whatsoever other then the bed and the closet was nonexistent....u literally have to live out of your suitcase at this hotel. On top of the aweful rooms, the service was horrific! The hotel was not all that busy, but it would take us an hour or more to get any food (which was itself aweful) at the only restaurant they had. Not only that, but the staff (except for a few staff) were exceptionally rude! Even the manager, Noel, who we voiced our opinions to before we left was beyond rude and uncaring about the situation. All she cared about was the fact that we had payed for our stay. There are so many beautiful hotels on this strip in playa that there is no need to stay in a place such as the Mosquito beach hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We stayed here for two nights in may and we really liked it a lot. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were nice but quite dark, breakfast was ok, with not so much to choose from. The best thing about this hotel is that it is really quite, but only a few steps from the centre of the town, and actually on the beach! Quite wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

Located in the heart of 5th Ave., We could not asked for more travelling with another couple friends,

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

I stayed for 7 nights in peak season (got a discounted rate) and the room was pretty much what i expected based on reviews... that is - small, and dark, while stylish, intimate and definitely a unique boutique experience. The service is great, the staff are friendly and the Mojitos are awesome. It's up there in price for a location like Playa - but it's serene and peaceful while tucked right smack in the middle of everything. The ergonomics of the rooms is terrible - there's little place to put clothing and nowhere for toiletries; great for travellers who pack light and dont need a big dressing room. I guest the worst thing is that while the music they play in the pool and common areas is ecclectic and funky (Benny Goodman meets Jazz Fusion meets Ultra-lounge) - if you stay around a few days you get pretty sick of the fact it just loops over and over and over ad nauseum. The high speed wifi is intermittent as well - but hey - it's a vacation hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

I honestly have no idea what people have complained about in the past. I almost did not book this hotel because of the negative reviews. Obviously people who booked this hotel and did not like it are not used to a quaint, personal boutique experience. I imagine you would feel out of place if you did not like chill music and a cool vibe. Rock and Roll is down the beach!

Service was excellent, food was ok, drinks great but a little pricey, but you are at a beach club so understandable. My only complaint is the darkness of the rooms. They need a re-vamp as far as lighting, mirrors, colour, but really how much time do you spend in your room when your hotel is dead centre to everything and you are right on the beach.

Fernando at the bar is great and will take care of all of your needs. Front desk staff always very helpful.

This will be our hotel to stay in from now on in Playa.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mosquito Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosquito Beach Hotel

Address: Calle 8 y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#53 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mosquito Beach Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Mosquito Beach Hotel is the only boutique luxury hotel in Playa del Carmen located directly on the ocean. This adults-only hotel, created and designed by its Italian owner, opened in 2006 and offers a serene, secluded escape while being only steps away from the hustle of 5th Avenue. The architecture combines the relaxed tropical feel of the Caribbean with the ultra modern of Europe. Enjoy these comfortable chic rooms decorated with minimalist contemporary touches. Guests can recline on large sunbeds on the beach or next to the pool. Mosquito Beach Restaurant offers international fare in a casual beachfront atmosphere. The restaurant uses the freshest local seafood to create its light and refreshing breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. Enjoy services at the Mosquito Blue sister hotel and restaurant, where Caribbean meets Mediterranean for a gourmet dining experience. All guestrooms at the Mosquito Beach Hotel are accessible via interior walkways, and provide balconies or patios with ocean, street, or garden views. Each is elegantly furnished with modern Italian interior designs and products and equipped with state-of-the-art technology including a flat screen television and high-speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mosquito Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mosquito Beach
Mosquito Beach Playa Del Carmen
Mosquito Beach Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mosquito Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.