We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mosquito Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mosquito Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mosquito Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Mosquito Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 8 y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Midland, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mosquito Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We loved our stay. We were there for a wedding and it was a perfect spot! We had lots of family and friends and we played and enjoyed the beach and our balcony and our comfortable beds and parasailed and snorkled. The staff was great and friendly and we enjoyed them, too. It is true that the Wi-Fi only works in the lobby but when you are in paradise getting away from it all, do we really need wifi? Of course, it isn't like home - but then, again, isn't that why we go there?

Room Tip: We enjoyed being upstairs - made our balcony more private. It had a wonderful view of the ocean one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    75
    31
    55
    57
See reviews for
11
171
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rosario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Basically, the only good thing about this hotel is its location. Otherwise, wi-fi signal is awful (they sell guestrooms with Internet, and this is a complete lie), service is slow, the restaurant waiters pressure you to leave tips but they don't do much to earn it and the food was always too cold when it arrived at my table. But the worst thing is that the receptionists -Gabriela and Jorge- are not helpful, and when you go and talk to them and present a complaint they do not show any interest in helping you; they say "oh, yes! I will call you back with an answer", but they never solve anything. I also asked them for wake-up calls and they either would call me 30 to 60 minutes later or they would just not give me the wake up call at all. These hotel is too expensive for the service that you get. I am very disappointed and I will never come back.

Room Tip: There is no wi-fi working in the rooms (even though they announce it). Watch out! you will have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Location is really great... The thing with the internet was awful because there was heavy rain during our stay, so we spent a lot of time inside the hotel. Even so, everything else is ok. Beach club is also cool.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We made a reservation on Mosquito Beach and paid the price of that hotel on the beach and they sent us to another hotel (Mosquito Blue) which they also own, and there was nothing we could do about it. They did that to a bunch of people that was also traveling with us and made the reservations from a different website. Plus some other guests we met at the location said they same thing happened to them. They sell the beach hotel and when is full they keep selling it and send the guest to a non beach front hotel for the price of beach front one. Scam!
Pretty hotels but it is not fair!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a nightmer!!
We leave in the middle of the night although we already pay for the next two night. The room was dirty and full of bugs. We order and paid for suit and got nothing for our money. This is an hostel and not an hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

While this hotel has a lot of potential, it fails to deliver exactly what it promotes on its website. I'm sure it used to be in a much better state, but I just came back yesterday from staying there 3 nights and it didn't live up to what I expected, hence I won't be going back. My room (206) was a junior suite. It was bigger than the other rooms because it was a corner room. But the other rooms were very, very small (the other reviews are right). My shower had grime and soap residue on the walls and on the glass shelf used to put the soap. There is literally no counter space, drawers, or shelves to put your stuff in the bathroom (which is tiny).. while this is a minor observation, it bugged me because it lacked functionality. Yes, the square toilet is very uncomfortable!
Dirty corners, no bedside tables, washed out wooden floors, mediocre food, and slow service make this a very overpriced hotel (it is quite expensive for what you are getting). The best thing going for it is the location. Other than that, there was nothing else noticeable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Mosquito Beach is excellent for who want to stay in Playa del Carmen but on the beach. Who is looking for a fashion hotel with excellent service. The food is just amazing. I have stayed there many times and I really love to return again and again. It is best boutique hotel in Playa del Carmen.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mosquito Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosquito Beach Hotel

Address: Calle 8 y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#58 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mosquito Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Mosquito Beach Hotel is the only boutique luxury hotel in Playa del Carmen located directly on the ocean. This adults-only hotel, created and designed by its Italian owner, opened in 2006 and offers a serene, secluded escape while being only steps away from the hustle of 5th Avenue. The architecture combines the relaxed tropical feel of the Caribbean with the ultra modern of Europe. Enjoy these comfortable chic rooms decorated with minimalist contemporary touches. Guests can recline on large sunbeds on the beach or next to the pool. Mosquito Beach Restaurant offers international fare in a casual beachfront atmosphere. The restaurant uses the freshest local seafood to create its light and refreshing breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. Enjoy services at the Mosquito Blue sister hotel and restaurant, where Caribbean meets Mediterranean for a gourmet dining experience. All guestrooms at the Mosquito Beach Hotel are accessible via interior walkways, and provide balconies or patios with ocean, street, or garden views. Each is elegantly furnished with modern Italian interior designs and products and equipped with state-of-the-art technology including a flat screen television and high-speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mosquito Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mosquito Beach
Mosquito Beach Playa Del Carmen
Mosquito Beach Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mosquito Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.