We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific choice for small Playa del Carmen hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Save Saved
You added Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av 10 Corn. calle 14 | Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 198 hotels in Playa del Carmen
calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrific choice for small Playa del Carmen hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013. The staff at the front desk were super friendly and very helpful. The location is perfect, except as others have noted, the noise from the street can be heard during the night occasionally. All in all, we were happy on our choice of this hotel. Thanks again to the front desk staff - they are terrific!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    77
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
141
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Arrived 2nd Jan for a 5 night stay to be told that there was a plumbing leak in our room which needed the wall to be opened up for a repair to be made. I should have asked to see it I suppose.Like previous reviews I suspect overbooking.

We had booked Aqualuna due to good reviews (location, quiet, nice rooms) but were told that we had to go to another of their hotels, Xtudio on 5th ave. We were given a 2nd floor street front room which was nice enough but very noisy in the small hours.The blinds and single glazing did little to stop the morning sun or noise.

We complained in the morning and were shown a 3rd storey room (no lift and not much of a room) which we declined and requested a move back to Aqualuna or one of their other hotels. After having the ok included buffet breakfast which was cereal, fruit basket,coffee and croissant around the corner at Illusion Hotel we went back to be told there was nothing available at any other hotel. We were then shown a 1st storey street front room where the kitchen was street front and the bedrooms back in the set up.

We needed somewhere to stay so accepted this room which was a improvement on the 1st one. The room was quite a bit better however the hotel is on 5th ave, there is going to be some noise. No complaints about the staff, the room was kept clean and the Concierge's Luis especially were friendly and helpful. As first time visitors to Playa del Carmen we had done some research and as a older couple opted to be close to but not on 5th ave, unfortunately that did not happen.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel did not honor our reservation, even though we had made it through Booking.com and we had paid the first night in advance.

When we arrived from Chichen Itza in the late afternoon, very tired because of the long trip, we were politely told that some American family was sick in what was supposed to be our room and that therefore they would send us to another hotel of the Xperience chain, the Xtudio Comfort Hotel. Such hotel is worse than the Aqualuna in many ways: it's in a worse and noisy location, it has no garden, no elevator, no concierge, and no mini bar in the rooms. Just by looking at it, we had the feeling that it was not in the same category. And checking room rates on the Internet later confirmed it.

We pointed out to the staff that we weren't happy, but we didn't feel like searching for another hotel and in the end we accepted the new accommodation, especially because we had paid one night in advance and we had already lost more than one hour trying to sort the situation. During our stay, we heard other guests with the same problem and confirmed that the hotel was indeed overbooked.

Based on this, I'd definitely not recommend any hotel in the Xperience chain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, General Manager at Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Ambassador,

We are very aware of the situation you experienced with your reservation upon your arrival. We consider important to inform you that, what could be seen as an overbooking was indeed a situation that was originated unfortunately by a series of incidents related to the spread of a stomach virus in Riviera Maya ( supposedly coming from the UK). As you may be able to see, even on many reviews posted in restaurants and hotels of the area during the last Xmas season, there have been so many cases of people thinking that they were hit by food poisoning. Amongst them we directly witnessed the cases of several tourists that caught such virus until the point to get admitted to the local hospitals and required their treatment to be controlled accordingly in order to ensure a satisfactory recovery. As our responsibility and compromise is to bring support to our guests in an emergency like this, and, in order not to cause further inconvenience, we had to extend their reservations in the same room they were occupying ( they were due to depart), which actually was the room you were originally assigned. This has not been the only case unfortunately, since, when a situation like this is originated, we had some kind of chain reaction. Furthermore, occupancy was very high and we managed to redirect the booking within the same group of hotels. This situation was quite challenging to handle considering the fact that we are not used to apply a book out policy as many hotels or airlines do.
We are very sorry to know that you remained with bad feelings towards us. At the same time, we also felt we had to help our guests who were deeply in need of us at that time. We would truly appreciate your understanding on the matter and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. We are sure of what we can promise and maintain and we are ready to keep our hospitality commitment towards you.

Best regards,

Giuseppe Crapanzano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

and overbooked. I had booked the hotel for 8 nights. When I arrived they didn´t know about my booking. After some phone calls the lady at the front desk found out that I had been moved to a different hotel. She came up with some stupid story of malfunctioning showers in my room, while other guests where checking in.
They moved me to a very noisy and cheaper hotel right on 5th Avenue (xtudio). After I complained yet again, they showed me a hotel room at Aqualuna right next to the front desk. I was rather underwhelmed: small room, very basic, little privacy next to the front desk. In my search for a better accommodation I looked at some more hotels and definitely wouldn´t recommend the Aqualuna. I think it´s highly overrated. There are nicer and quieter hotels in the vicinity in a similar price range (take a look a LunaSol).
Moving me to a cheaper hotel right on 5th Avenue was an absolute no go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, General Manager at Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Ambassador(as we love to define our guests),

First of all allow us to thank you for your preference on you most recent stay with us. We are grateful for your feedback and your comments are being taken into consideration for the opportunity they represent for us to improve our services. We are very sorry for the situation you encountered with your reservation upon arrival and the “ bad surprise” of not having your room available that apparently generated in you the feeling of the “overbooking syndrome” . Hotels are like houses that need continuous maintenance. Sometimes, in spite of the effort we make, bad maintenance issues happen when we less expect it and, most important, when there is no other alternative available. Luckily we represent the management of 4 properties in Playa del Carmen and we thought that, at that very moment, it was necessary to provide a quick solution. This is why we had to move your reservation to another of our hotels located on the 5th Avenue named Xtudio. Once again luck was not on our side and we were not able to inform you prior to your arrival. As soon as we got to know you were unsatisfied with the option we gave you, we were able to make changes and a guest of ours accepted to be taken to the same hotel where you were moved in order to accommodate you back at Aqualuna and, even though our Front Desk supervisor offered you some allowances to compensate for the inconvenience, we realized that they were not perceived positively. We are more eager than ever to make it up with you and show you that out of a crisis there is always an opportunity. You can be sure that we will strive to do our best in order to fulfill your expectations and therefore invite you to give us another opportunity. Kindly contact us privately to arrange for a voucher that can be exchanged for a stay at any of our Xperience Hotels.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to host you in the future
Warm regards and happy new year!

Giuseppe Crapanzano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed for 16 nights here and first we were slightly worried about the location. There is the biggest night club in town "Coco Bongo" very close by, but we were pleased to find out that there was little noise from there. Anyway, it's located on a quite busy street, so you might hear some traffic noise but for us sleeping was good with the AC on.

The staff was super-friendly, and everything worked out perfectly at the hotel, breakfast was served at a nearby sister hotel which was superb. Fresh fruits with yoghurt and muesli and fresh bread, very nice. There is also a filling spot at the hotel for your water bottles so you don't have to buy new ones every day, a big plus!

The room itself was pretty nice, queen sized bed in a second floor room. Shower worked ok, there was hot water nicely and the room service kept the room spotless. Location was perfect on the 10th avenue, there was only a 5 minute walk to the beach or 5th avenue, and nearby was also 2 supermarkets and several excellent restaurants.

Overall I would recommend this hotel, one of the nicest hotels I've been to. Not a five star hotel but it's still really really comfortable in it's own way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Public Relations at Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear LauriAa,
Thank you for the time you destined to share your review, we truly appreciate feedback. We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay at our Aqualuna Boutique Hotel. Our main purpose is to make you feel better than home with our Infinite Hospitality service. Thank you for your preference we will continue to work hard to exceed expectations and reach excellence.
Greetings from Playa del Carmen, we hope to have you back soon. Happy 2013!
Casandra Luna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights in this hotel and upgraded ourselves to the upper suite which was really unique. the room was huge but nevertheless warm and homey.. Service was great starting from the receptionsts and ending with the cleaning staff which was really awesome. the location of the hotel is great and despite the fact that it is not far from the noisy fifth avenue Coco Bongo it is very quite. The coffee spot next to the computer in the garden is really homey and gives the sense that the visitors are really wanted here. I utterely recommend this hotel for its location and wonderful employees.

Room Tip: recommend the upper rooms which are bigger and more comfotable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

The price/value relation is awesome. Very well designed rooms. First class service and very friendly. The hotel location is just perfect, close but far enough to rest without noise. Every request we had was flawlessly granted. If I still wanted the same Playa del Carmen experience, I'd choose Aqualuna.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Also Known As:
Aqualuna Boutique Hotel By Xperience Playa Del Carmen
Aqualuna Boutique Hotel By Xperience
Aqualuna Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Aqualuna Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
Address: Av 10 Corn. calle 14 | Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#74 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqualuna is a beautiful boutique hotel in the very centre of Playa del Carmen drawing its inspiration from the peculiarity of the architecture of the Greek islands, surrounded by a luxuriant tropical garden typical of the Caribbeans. Strategically located only steps away from the famous 5th avenue, the hotel offers to its guests an intimate yet refined ambiance ideal for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.