We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xperience hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Save Saved
You added Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. 10 Con Calle 14 | Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 199 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Xperience hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

What a special place. From the excellent hospitality to the charming architecture and set up -- was totally blown away by this hidden gem in Playa Del Carmen!

LOCATION: Right on 10th and 14th St., it is literally steps away from action-packed 5th Avenue, yet a world away. From my room (number 1), I could hear nothing but the gentle sound of the fountain outside. It was bliss.

ROOM: Simple, yet beautifully appointed. Mayan toiletries in the bathroom/sink, which they buy directly from the villages by the way. Sustainability practices are written on every detail in the room, from the towel rack to the toilet paper signs. Like they say, it's all in the details. Humorous signs, too :)

The bed was firm, but comfortable. I woke up refreshed every day. Linens were always crisp and clean. My only complaint is that I found a sauce stain on one of the towels (albeit it was clearly clean) and there was some amount of frost at the bottom of the fridge. They didn't bother me one bit, but I must note this. Might be time for a little update?

SERVICE: When they say "infinite hospitality," they are not kidding. They live by their motto. Carlos at reception was excellent in every way, even gave me a full-size complementary Colgate total and tooth brush (brand-new!). Just as I asked where the drugstore was because I had left mine behind. Little things like this can simply make the day of the guest. In every instance I needed help or assistance, the staff went the extra mile. Just wow

PRICE: For just $60 a night (got an offer on low season, pre-book online and direct!), it was an absolute bargain. The boutique hotel experience, intimate get close to all the action in Playa Del Carmen, and Xcellent hospitality. What more could I have asked for?!

OVERALL: Perfect little hotel for the explorer. IF you are a traveler that prefers to stay in the hotel most of the trip enjoying amenities, Aqualuna is not for you. However, if you want a little cove to rest, Aqualuna is perfect :)

RATING: Would give it 4.5, but here I wouldn't take out a full star for what I specified. I recommend you don't get the breakfast option so you get to try the several local restaurants nearby

Can't wait to go back to Aqualuna. A little slice of heaven in the Yucatán!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    76
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
23
146
36
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Me and my husband went to Cancun and Playa del Carmen for 10 nights and stayed at this hotel for 4 nights . This is a very basic hotel ,nice, clean and comfortable. One block from all the 5th Av action.
Staff was absolutely AWESOME !!! Great asset for this company . Every single one of the employees were nice, professional, very service oriented and willing to help. Will definitely stay here again and recomend to friends and family . Walking distance to Walmart ( about 5 blocks ) and La Mega (around same blocks away but different direction ) A few steps away from the famous Coco Bongo yet quiet at night time . If you are just looking for a place to sleep while doing your excursion at Playa you won't go wrong w Aqualuna .
Also walking distance from the ADO terminal and very close by to Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplore and Tulum

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were a very good size, we had mamitas beach club included which was nice, the breakfast were buffet style and pretty good. All in all was the standard expected from a higher end hotel, only down side is location which is a few roads from the beach and a block away from coco bongo, pdc's biggest club (one night was noisy).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Aqualuna this weekend and loved it! The little courtyard area was so charming, especially at night.

The room was on the small side, but very comfortable and attractive. I especially liked the bathroom, which had been decorated with bougainvillea flowers (my favorite) and had a spacious shower with a rainfall showerhead. Good water pressure and heat, too!

The reception desk staff was very helpful and friendly, especially Yesica.

We loved the location, 1 block from the center of 5th Avenue, just by Calle Corazon (the most beautiful part of Playa del Carmen, in my opinion), and 2 blocks from the beach.

There's also free Wi-Fi (we didn't use it) and a good, free breakfast just a few blocks away at Hacienda Paradise hotel.

For the price and location, I thought this hotel was a home run.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XperienceHotels, Front Desk at Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Xperience Famly we would like to thank you for oyur preference. We appreciate such valuable comments which really motivates us to improve and provide a better service everyday.We are looking forward to have the ooportunity to welcome you back soon.

With the best regards,

Yesica Sanchez.
Front Desk, Aqualuna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Aqualuna is situated just one block from famous CocoBongo disco and 2 from main commercial strip of Playa´s little town. Attention is excelente and the place is very cozy. You get breakfast and hace access to a swimming pool in a sister hotel located 4 blocks away. An excelent deal.

Do not miss the animal figures made with towels. They prepare a different one for each day! A great touch of cozyness.

Room Tip: no elevators - pc and internet available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Nice, clean, good position. The hotel 's assistant Praxedes can help and assist you any time you need with kindness and smiling face. Relax and internet area are comfortable and you can stay there in a familiar atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have been to Playa Del Carmen 6 times in the last 5 years and have been at several hotels down there. I used to love Luna Blue, but last time I have very disappointed. I selected Aqualuna on a recommendation and happy I did.

The hotel is very small with not very many rooms. I am pretty sure that in the 3 days I was there, I only saw 2 or 3 other guests. The rooms are very clean, with nice bathrooms. I was very happy with the walk in tile shower that also had a sprayer that could be removed to rinse things. I used it a few times to clean the sand off my shoes.

There are very small things that I didn't like.
1. The beds are not very confortable. They are on concerte bedframes, which is very common; however the mattress wasn't soft.
2. The pillows were flat. I like pillows I can cuddle with and these pancakes didn't allow that.
3. The room keys are attached to a wooden tile with the room number on it. It is slightly larger then an iPhone. If you are walking around without a bag the key is bulky it bring with.

I did like that they have cold water for guests. I had my own water bottle that I filled, or if you buy bottled water you can refill it here. There was a safe, but I didn't use it. I also had breakfast included, but you have to walk up to the sister hotel which is about 4 blocks away. However it was tasty.

Overall I would stay here again. It is a great location a block off of 5th ave (the main street.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Address: Av. 10 Con Calle 14 | Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqualuna is a beautiful boutique hotel in the very centre of Playa del Carmen drawing its inspiration from the peculiarity of the architecture of the Greek islands, surrounded by a luxuriant tropical garden typical of the Caribbeans. Strategically located only steps away from the famous 5th avenue, the hotel offers to its guests an intimate yet refined ambiance ideal for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqualuna Boutique Hotel By Xperience Playa Del Carmen
Aqualuna Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Aqualuna Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqualuna Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.