We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great dining experience at Plank” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar

PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar
218/2-4 M. 10 Beach Road, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 803 0108
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: PLANK offers a unique & fine dining experience like no other in the region. We're located on a quaint street right off 5th ave with an upscale sophisticated atmosphere Our concept focuses on a special cooking technique designed to delicately infuse natural flavor by cooking our food directly on Himalayan salt stones and wooden planks! We feature a gourmet family style menu including USDA certified beef, prime seafood selections, gourmet flatbreads and large shareable side dishes. Be sure to try our signature creations including Cedar Plank Salmon or our Famous Beef Wellington or our tender Twin Baby Lobster Tails! We're also the perfect venue if your celebrating a special occasion (let us know). For reservations click on our web site.
Paamul, Mexico
1 review
“A great dining experience at Plank”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Wow!!! Dinner at Plank was AMAZING! From the smokey Mojito & extensive wine list, to the flatbread appetizers with artichoke dip & hummus. Then the scallops, prawns, & salmon carpaccio were a sheer delight. The entrée's of the beef fillet, and the salmon with béarnaise sauce, with a side of grilled asparagus really was to die for. Then to top it off....the dessert sampler with cheesecake, chocolate mouse, key lime pie, and apple pie....all my favorites:) The service from your staff was flawless. It was an incredible evening of great food and great ambiance. It is located on Calle16, which is nice and quiet, with only pedestrian traffic walking by. I would recommend this to anyone that appreciates a great dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your outstanding review of Plank! We are delighted to hear that everything from the incredible food (including dessert) to the excellent service made for an exceptional night out! All of our menu items are prepared with the freshest and highest quality ingredients using a unique cooking method on Planks and Himalayan Salt blocks to infuse the perfect amount of flavor into your meal. We are happy that this newly introduced style has quickly become such a hit in Playa. We do thank you again for taking the time to share and we hope that you will return back with us again in the future.

Best,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    97
    28
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Very nice restaurant, downtown in the vibrant area of 5th Avenue.
Nice layout of the restaurant with a patio to offer indoor and outdoor seating. Appealing design and décor, more on the modern side than being traditional.
Great menu, loved the presentation of the food on rocks of salt and some menu items actually being smoked in-house. Restaurant manager and chef are out and touching the tables (which is not common these days), the bar offered a good selection of wines and cocktails,
Friendly service, food presentation is on small ipads to better illustrate menu items. Good idea!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. We love when we receive this kind of positive feedback as we are working hard with our entire team every day to make sure everything we do is in line to create the best experience. While Plank is not located directly on the 5th Avenue we are located just around the corner between 5th and the beach. We feel it is the perfect location to provide a more intimate dining experience away from crowds, while still being perfectly accessible from the 5th Ave. The restaurant is comprised of contemporary decor and custom lighting to enhance the upscale ambiance. This is one of our biggest compliments, aside from the food of course! As you mentioned, our food is prepared and served in a very unique fashion. Depending on your selection you may receive your food on either Himalayan salt blocks or flavor infusing wooden Planks! After you have tried you will have understood how this cooking method takes food from being traditional to exceptional. I am happy that you mentioned about the tablets as well. We thought it would be a great idea explain the Plank concept and to show our guests exactly what they can expect. We do sincerely thank you for your wonderful comments and hope that you will return back to dine with us on future trips to Playa.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Family friendly and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Read such wonderful reviews about the Plank decided it was time to check it out. A little more of a casual atmosphere compared to its sister restaurant Imprevist. Loved the complimentary flatbread and dips and the family style pricing and presentation. We had the salmon family style served on a plank with a wonderful mustard sauce. The grilled beets and asparagus were done just right. The dessert samples were obviously not made on site due to they didn't measure up to the rest of the meal hence the very good and not excellent.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are certainly happy that the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor lead you to Plank! We are a new restaurant in Playa and so far we have gotten outstanding feedback from locals and tourists. After doing so well in our sister restaurant Imprevist we are proud that our second venture, Plank, which adds a new flavor of atmosphere and a creative menu, has done just as well. The family style concept turned out to be a huge success for us, as people love the idea of sharing and getting to try different selections in one sitting. We also have a great tasting menu that also offers that option of variety! Another huge hit! I would like to point out that all of our deserts are made on site, as is everything on our menu, but we are still perfecting the ingredients as we are brand new restaurant. This is why customer feedback is so important to us so that we know what we can improve on to make our guests even more delighted. Thank you for taking the time to share your review and your experience about Plank. We do hope that you will continue to dine with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“This is fine,fine, fine dining in Playa!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

So impressed by this new restaurant in Playa.7 of us went for dinner there last week & we were all impressed by the quality of the food & the variety.If you get tired of Mexican food or want to celebrate something special,this is the place to go.We did not relaize that they give you free appies so we ordered a large variety beforehand.....we had the scallops wrapped in bacon,big & cooked perfect!The smoked salmon dish.They were soooooo good!We had some large type pita bread with rocket lettuce & figs.
My hubby & I had rack of lamb served with a mushroom sauce.Someone had beef Wellington & Loved it,2 others had salmon & another had shrimps....these are all cooked on a plank hence the name!We all agreed that this was the best food we had ever had in Playa & we were with 2 locals that live there & we are all long timers to Playa.
The rack of lamb I believe was 315 pesos....but you buy your veggies separate....we chose portebello mushrooms,asparagus,spinach & potatoes.......there was enough in 1 order of these for all of us.
Congratulations to this restaurant.......you will soon be #1 in Playa!
We cannot wait to go back as everything was superb!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this absolutely amazing review! This kind of feedback gives us reassurance that everything we are doing is being done perfectly right. We are well equipped to handle large groups such as you mentioned, in fact, Plank is a fantastic place to celebrate a birthday or any other kind of dinner event with friends and family. As you pointed out, all of our creative dishes are cooked and served directly on either Himalayan salt block planks or on a variety of wooden planks which is intended to infuse natural flavor into the food. All of the side dishes are what we call family style so most can be fitting to share with 2-4 people and even more if you are adding extra side dishes. The pita type bread with figs that you mentioned is on our Flat Bread menu and comes with Goat Cheese, Figs and Rocket Leaves! We love that one too!
Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience at Plank and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We were lucky enough to have attended the recent grand opening party at Plank. When we were invited we were quite excited, as we knew the chef was the same as at Imprevist, another Playa restaurant with excellent food. At the Plank event, we were able to taste many of their dishes and we have to say that almost all were quite wonderful. We only say "almost all" because it was a large well-attended event, and it was obvious the staff was trying to keep up with the demand, which is difficult in a situation with so many people. The restaurant is gorgeous, and the menu is interesting and upscale. As soon as work slows down a little bit here, we will definitely be back again, and we have already recommended Plank to several of our guests. This place is a very nice addition to the restaurant scene here in Playa, and we are sure they will do well.

Tony & Cheri
Luna Blue Hotel

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you so much for you excellent review and for your recommendations. We are always extremely happy when we can satisfy other members of the Playa del Carmen community as well as our traveling guests. As you mentioned about the Grand Opening Party, we were beyond pleased with the turn out and the wonderful feedback we received as a result. Our concept is quite different from any other restaurant in town but it is not the only thing that makes us stand out. We excel with quality customer service, a beautiful atmosphere and of course the food created by our amazing chef who brings all the magic to the table. Thank you again for dining with us and for taking the time to share you experience with others. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Plank.

Best Regards,
Shauna Giuliano
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.