We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like customer service.. This resort is NOT for you!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int.Fracc. | Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #39 of 197 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Syracuse, New York, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you like customer service.. This resort is NOT for you!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile



Read the entire review to get the full picture- customer
Service was NON existent!!! And we have never
Posted anything on Tripadvisor, but really felt the need
With this experience. It was not one issue, because
We know that happens- it was multiple small
Issues that can make or break your experience .

Our check in experience was uneventful, taking us right
To our room ( #2150). The room was nice and clean, but the view
Was not
only looking at the side building, but of construction
Garbage ( bathtubs, windows, doors). We went down and
Got some drinks, then went back to the room to unpack,
Only to realize our key wasn't working, so we went to
The desk to have them fix this. We went back to the room,
And it still didn't work- so at this point we decided
We not only wanted to change rooms, but that
The hotel should offer a better room with no charge .
After many attempts with the front desk staff,
We asked for a manager. The manager was talking to the
Representative from Olympus tours ( on our behalf), but
Would not directly speak to us. She did eventually
Speak to us but wanted nothing to do with helping us
And giving us a more acceptable room, unless we
Paid an upgrade charge. After approx 1.5 hours ,
Including a charge error,
And seeing the manager really did not care- we decided to pay
For the new room and get on with our vacation.

There were 3 of us traveling, and between us have
Visited many all inclusives- never to encounter
The ridiculous system for making dining reservations.
You had to go to a designated area in the lobby
Between the hours of 12-3, and could only book
For that day and the next....and the only dining
Times were at 630 And 845 ( I didn't realize we were sailing on carnival!)

The first night dinner was at Chillis, where
The steak was very tasty. The next day was a bit
Rainy, so I made an appointment at Renova Spa
For a pedicure. I have never had a $45.00 basic
Pedicure where my feet were placed in a soapy
Bowl ( no pedicure tub or spa chair ), and no
Typical pedicure tools , just a simple little Emory board .
At the end of the pedicure I was told that if
I sit outside my feet would dry faster.

Every time I would go into the lobby, the rep from
Olympus ( who shall remain nameless )- would make
Sure to approach me with some sort of sexual
Suggestion. One time even asking me if he could
Go to the restroom with me- and telling me not to
Worry if it was a rainy day, he would find some
" indoor activities " for us to do. This goes
Beyond the typical flirting, and made me feel
Very uncomfortable every time I had to go through
The lobby.

After the 2nd night we decided that since we had to wait until.
845 for dinner, we would make a cheese tray from
The buffet to have with our drinks , bringing it up
To the lobby bar. We were immediately told that
Food was not allowed in here , only peanuts
( which they never even offered us ). Since we are
Speaking about the lobby bar, which is the hub of the action,
I feel the need to mention the poor choice of music..for both
Here and by the pool. Not only did they play oldies,
But it was really old, like the Bee Gees, the theme from
General Hospital, Seasons in the Sun.....really?
Are they trying to have people NOT enjoy their lobby bar?

By day 4 of us going to the lobby to connect to
The free wifi, another guest told us we could get a
Code at the desk for free wifi in our rooms.
Why were we never told this at checkin, or why
Wasn't there a sign placed in the room?

We were 3 women in 1 room, and were given a total
Of 3 towels. We asked room service for more towels,
And were given 1!
Not only were our bed and pillows
Extremely uncomfortable, but they had 2 queen sized
Beds pushed together on a super large headboard,
So all 3 of us slept in 1bed, which was ok, except it meant
1 person slept on the crack, hoping not to fall through.
Our room was not made up until approx 4pm.

When we checked out, we asked for a comment
Card , and were told they didn't have any -
Shocking!!!!

This is a summary of the issues we encountered, there
Were more like this, but these are the key issues
We felt needed to be addressed.
Overall, the resort was beautiful, the beach and pools are
Magnificent , and the food was good.
But lack of service is more than enough to not
Want to return!
Like I stated before, we have been to many all
Inclusives and know things happen and are
Not always perfect. However...there were way
Too many issues that really left us with a bad
Taste for the hotel. I am a travel agent, and will
Surely NEVER recommend this resort to any of
My customers! And I know my friends will never
Come back to another Riu Palace.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,959
    798
    261
    107
    65
See reviews for
777
1635
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Everything about this hotel is great! Close to Playa Del Carmen, beautiful beach, very good service and food, very nice rooms. The only thing I found was the pool was cold, but I think no one heats their pools. No complaints!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Moline, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We really enjoy the Riviera Maya area, especially PLAYACAR. We have stayed in several RIU resorts in this area but this was the most magnificent. The first night we were regretfully put in a room with no balcony but with a simple request, they moved us the next day to a great room with a balcony. Both rooms were very clean and well kept, but we preferred a balcony to sit out and enjoy the weather. The staff was very nice and helpful and the grounds and beach were kept immaculate. We were able to visit the other RIU resorts in the area and will be going to the Palace Mexico next year. We stayed there in 2011 and it has since been remodeled. It looked awesome. The proximity to Downtown Playa Del Carmen from the Palace Riviera Maya is a pleasant 20 minute walk. We enjoyed this walk several days and enjoyed the shopping and restaurants on 5th avenue. So much fun. I would highly recommend this RIU if you are looking for luxury. The food was a step up from the other resorts, but as always we got tired of the buffets. But the food was good and the buffet was kept clean. It was hard coming home to the frigid climate. Looking forward to next January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a Beautiful hotel, with great food, and a very friendly staff. The beach was great and the activities wonderful. The security was great and we never worried. We had a wonderful time on our 25th Anniversary there! We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bethel, MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The staff was amazing very helpful. It is a beautiful resort with lots of things to do. The food is not great. We expected better food especially needing reservations for dinners but it sucked. We left the resort and went to 5 ave to eat at the restaurants there. The rooms are great and pool is very cool!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,IOWA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family just returned from RIU Palace Riviera Maya. From previous reviews I have to admit I was a bit hesitant but overall it was a great vacation. Resort is very clean, great food, great hospitality from all, and close to the beach. Great location, close to shopping in Playa Del Carmen and wonderful beach to walk for miles. Very safe gated community. Liquor optics in room a nice touch, fridge always full of water, beer and soda.The staff works very hard to make your stay enjoyable... tip them! Entertainment in the courtyard during dinner was nice, sax player, pianist,and Ice Age characters (even our adult-kids) liked it! Using US $'s not an issue. Didn't have anything stolen, (kept valuables in safe and kept patio door locked when not in room).
You will have a great time, it's warm, people are friendly, and your treated like royalty.

This was our 4th trip to Mexico so the following comments are based on comparisons with our previous stays-(noted mainly as feedback for the RIU resort itself). The interior decor of this resort needs some updating, (including the headless statue) as well as the rooms. Entertainment around pool area was non existent, shows at night were not impressive, delayed check in very common. Distance to other RIU resorts that you have access to is a long walk.....via beach or street- should be a train or shuttle service. Disco at the RIU Tequila smallest we've seen.
Have any questions? Would love to answer them for you.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a courtyard view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After 10 years we came back to Mexico Playacar and stayed at the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. We love the wonderful and very friendly service of the mexican staff at this excellent hotel. Junior-suite with 2 large king-size beds, a big terrace on the top floor, close to the lobby and restaurants. The service around the pool was excellent. Victor came around every 5 minutes asking if we run out of drinks. A very relaxed holiday!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Address: Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int.Fracc. | Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.