We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int.Fracc. | Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Reward!
Ranked #40 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just returned from a fabulous one week vacation at the Riu Palace Mayan Riviera (Nov. 11-18). The weather was PERFECT! Sunny all week (80 degrees +) with a light breeze (which made lying on the beach that much more comfortable). This was our first time at this RIU and it truly is a gem. The beach is probably one of the nicest we've been to so far. White sand, clear blue water. The resort is everything we expected from a RIU ... and why we enjoy them so much. The resort is stunning, exceptionally maintained, the service is outstanding and the people are warm and courteous. It's located in a gated community (Playacar) and is a 15 minute walk to 5th Avenue which is a long strip of shops, bars, clubs and restaurants.
We were given an upgraded room which had a very pretty courtyard view. At night, during the dinner hours, they had a live band playing there. The buffet was very good - they had so much variety (from duck to lobster to beef wellington and salmon, sushi) and they also had theme nights too (Caribbean, Asian) ... in the seven days we were there, it varied every day (apart from the standard salad bar & cold appetizers). There are 5 a la carte restaurants (Japanese, Fusion, Mexican, Brazilian and a Steakhouse) which you can make reservations for if you don't like buffet style food. There's a sports bar (to watch all your football games) ... a lobby bar with a pianist playing while you're enjoying a pre-dinner drink ... a gym ... a spa ... another lounge area which featured nightly shows.
Things like broken loungers or cracked tiles aren't vacation breakers for us. We don't even notice them because for us, it's the overall experience. We look at location, the beach, the service and the quality of food. We loved it and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Be nice to the front desk people :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,041
    833
    269
    111
    67
See reviews for
836
1683
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We just got back from the RPRM and had a fantastic time. The rooms are large and comfortable with a good selection in the mini bar including the optics of branded spirits. The restaurants were very good although the service in Chillis and the Brazillian far exceeded the others. The staff work very hard to make sure you are having a good time and could not do enough for you. We sat under the palm trees on the beach and had great service for drinks too. The sea was calm and very safe to swim in with very long stretching sandy beach for a lovely walk too. The evening entertainment was good fun and although we couldn't stay up every night to watch due to our jet lag it didn't keep us awake at all and we had a room above the entertainment area looking out into the courtyard. The hotel now gives full free wifi which was a great extra to help keep in touch with family at home. I would say this hotel suits families, couples and groups of friends. This was the second hotel we stayed in during our holiday as we stayed at the Azul Fives for the first part and although this hotel is different in style we loved both for different reasons. This one having a great lobby bar which makes a great place to have a prior dinner cocktail. As a travel agent again I would have no problems in sending my guests here with the added benefit of use of the other Riu hotels around in the area.

Room Tip: Book a courtyard view room that way you can sit and enjoy what is going on in the courtyard if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I took my wife here for her birthday earlier this month (November 2012). We arranged for transportation through the hotel which I highly recommend. It was $20 vs. the $60 per person everyone else wanted. The resort is about an hour away from the Cancun airport, so I wouldn't recommend just hopping in a cab.

Rooms were clean and service was good. The resort looks huge in the pictures, but actually isn't that big once you get there. Dinner was good each night. They had 4 or 5 restaurants to choose from in addition to a buffet. Reservations are required for everything except the buffet. It's a bit of a pain because there is a 2 hour window each day you can make a reservation and you can only make reservations for 2 days. We were there four days, so I had to meet with them twice. Other resorts work similar though.

Overall I will say that the place isn't bad. I've been to Sandals a couple times and will say my experience there was quite a bit better. I even heard my wife comment a dozen times on how this or that was better at Sandals. However, this place was probably a $1000 cheaper than Sandals and it was nice, so I would recommend it for the price. Ocean front rooms seemed few and far between so I imagine they would cost quite a bit more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I made our first trip to the Riviera Maya a memorable one! First of all, the property is absolutely beautiful and extremely well maintained. Everything was first class from the lovely grounds to the quality linens. The service was excellent from the wait staff to the bartenders to the housekeeping staff. Everyone was very friendly and attentive to our wants and needs. The beach was awesome as was the pool and pool bar area. The buffet was always well-stocked and the food was hot and tasty.
On the downside, the bed was very firm, the Mexican specialty restaurant was very disappointing and there wasn't much variety in the buffet food. The fare was mostly the same every day. While it was good, it didn't provide for much variety.
I would definitely recommend this all-inclusive and will definitely return again in the future!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the courtyard on the ground floor. Very convenient location with easy access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a late review considering we went the first week of September, 2012, The resort is well kept and clean, I noticed that house cleaning cleans the room in the morning, but they do not return towards the late afternoon to turn down the beds and take care of any linens.

The food was good, but you have to make reservations for the specialty resturants the day before and you cannot make reservations for the whole week. No more then three resturants can be selected at once.

All the rooms that we could see did not have any ocean view, some had pool views, most had as they say garden view, that was not a criteria for us because we do not spend much time in the room.

After hours selection food delivered to the room is limited, unlike any of the resorts we have stayed at in the past.

The rooms were nice and well kept up, we did have several issues with the cooling of the room, it took several days of complaining to have the room cooled down, the maintenace said that all the rooms are set by a computer and that they cannot set the room any cooler then any other room? I told the front desk I had Asma, that was the only way the would change the temp. You cannot change the temp. from the room, it made no difference.

The beach was probably the best beach that we have been to since we have been coming to mexico over the last 10 years, no coral, rocks or trash. Plenty of chairs. There is no consessions or bars on the beach, they do have people that bring drinks to the beach, but they sparce.

The entertainment seemed to be geared more towards children, even though we did go when the kids are back in school, I was told that if a couple decides to go to this resort without kids, do not go when the kids are out of school, to many kids.

The con of this resort was the watered down alcohol, I noticed that you could sit by the pool and drink mixed drinks all day and by the end of the day it seemed as if the orange juice in the morning at breakfast had more alcohol then the drinks do. I never even had a buzz after 8 days at this resort.

Another con was the main pool, it was to small for a resort of this size, their is only one pool bar and that area is small and has an odor by mid day. The second pool is built above ground about three feet and is more of a wade pool, no bars are in the area of the second pool. Both pools are shallow, but that seems to be the trend for a newer resort.

Overall this is a family resort and design is to be a non-alcohol resort. If a family wanted to take their kids to a nice resort this one would rate high, as for couples without kids, I would not stay here. We brought our garndchild here so we were limited on resorts.

Room Tip: When entering the resort stay on the right side of the complex, at least third floor, towards the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The staff was so helpful and very friendly it was the most relaxing time I have had in years! I'll be back ! Take my word you will not be disappointed.Have a drink at the pool for me.

Ps. The cleaning staff is meticulous and the rooms were sparkling.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasterlee, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

had a great stay in November together with my 2 kids (9 and 13)! lovely beach, excellent service, nice food and great room. also quite close to swimming paradise Xelha, the impressive Maya relics of Tulum/Coba etc. recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Address: Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int.Fracc. | Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.