We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood place by the ocean - pretty touristy though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Muelle Restaurant

El Muelle Restaurant
5th ave and 32nd st, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
+52 984 803 0073
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $17 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Always fresh food directly from the sea. In the Muelle you will find the best of the sea always fresh with the traditional flavor. Reservation required. Chef owner
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seafood place by the ocean - pretty touristy though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

When you are by the beach you want good fresh seafood. El Muelle has that option. All dining is outdoors - so be prepared! Prices are reasonable but again this is more touristy than local. We liked all the dishes we ordered and they staff was nice and friendly. I would recommend El Muelle if you are looking for a nice dinner filled with fresh seafood.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    25
    3
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Decent food at a decent (for a tourist place) price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stopped in for a quick bite while walking the strip. The fish tacos were very good. We also enjoyed the guacamole & chips. We would most likely stop in & eat there again if we are in the area.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellence in a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Delicious sea food in a fair prize. Nice service at the 5th avenue in a place that reminds you the very close beach

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood, very nice people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

In spite of EVERYBODY telling us to go to the iconic Blue Lobster, we took Trip Advisor's advice and ate here. What a great choice. Not a big place, not very well known either (taxi driver, hotel etc had no knowledge of it), but I had one of the best lobsters ever here. My wife had whole snapper cooked in a traditional Mayan style and devoured it. We were so lost in our own delicious meals we forgot to share with each other so I can't vouch for hers. I was temporarily stuck in a lobster time warp. They cook the fish however you like or you can ask them how they would recommend it like we did. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband found this little place on trip advisor, they have been open less than a year but have climbed the reviews. We had the mixed seafood ceviche, tuna bruchetta, and the mixed seafood grill. It was fantastic, and our waiter was super nice, all the staff was great. We are planning to go back before we leave. I would highly recommend this place, and its very reasonable for the quality of seafood you enjoy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Muelle Restaurant also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Muelle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Muelle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.