We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The total package. Amazing place in paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Mayakoba to your Saves list
Fairmont Mayakoba
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Inclusive Package
Ranked #29 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Fort Worth, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The total package. Amazing place in paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this on the plane so will add more.  We just returned from 4 days at the Fairmont Mayakoba in beautiful Riveria Maya.  This was my 3rd time to the area having stayed at the Rosewood property within the complex twice before and my wife's first trip. 

First and foremost I would like to thank the staff at the fairmont mayakoba for making our trip even better with warm hospitality and friendly service.  Specifically I would like to thank Yuki of the concierge
staff and Jorge at las brisas. Two great people!

As many have written in previous reviews the property is quite large but not large enough it couldn't be navigated by foot.  We walked to and from the beach daily from our room (roughly 3/4 of a mile).  They do have electronic carts all over the place eager to take you anywhere you would like to go as well.  They also offer BMW crafted bicycles you can ride as well.
Room -
We stayed in room 114 which was a signature casita.  The room was furnished with a king bed, small sitting area and lavish bathroom with soaking tub and rain shower.   The finishes are well appointed with warm woods and marble floors and vanity.  Another plus was the Samsung smart TV which easily accepted my phone and allowed for a larger work space when reviewing emails etc.  The balcony was huge; at least 15x10 overlooking the lagoon and a waking bridge.  Our room was centered between El Puerto and La Laguna.

Restaurants -

We visited all 4 restaurants on our trip.

Cafe maya - more or less their version of a general store/coffee shop.  They offer a wide variety of goods and standard gift shop items as well as fresh sandwiches and pastry items. One of the best lattes we have ever had.
Las brisas - the restaurant is located right on the ocean and is a quaint lunch spot by day and a fine dining restaurant by night.  all items we tried were great!  for lunch I recommend the grouper sandwich, quesadilla or the club sandwich.  all were very good. We also ate their for dinner one of the nighrs ; my wife had the special which was filet with a red wine demi sauce and scalloped potatoes. I had rack of lamb and fresh green beans.  all and all a great eating spot.
El Puerto - it is their AAA restaurant,  in my opinion the other on property options out weighed our experience here especially for the price.  we each had the filet;  myself with Chipotle aoli which was very watery and my wife with peppercorn which again lacked consistency.  the truffle mac and cheese was simply pasta with a white queso and butter sauce which lacked flavor; the baked potatoes and corn succatash were just middle of the road.  I felt our server could have been more in tune with the menu but it could have been a simple language barrier issue.
La laguna - as others have said this is the breakfast mecca of the resort.  they offer ala carte and a full breakfast buffet.  we opted for the ala carte ; I had the best enchiladas at 7:30 am I have probably ever had in my life.  yes it sounds odd for breakfast but they were amazing.  we ate dinner there last night and opted for the buffet.  great idea ! Fish, steak, pork, antipasta and desserts.  wow! This was one of the better meals while there.  Don't let the buffet through you off, it was amazing!
Pools - there are 5 pools on property.   we only visited 3 - the main pool at la Laguna is geared towards kids and looked like alot of fun for families.  we opted for the adults only infinity pool behind la Laguna which over looks the lagoon.  so peaceful and quiet.  a true hidden gem on the property.   The pool at las brisas over looks the ocean and is very relaxing but got very busy and congested very quickly.

My only qualm is the fact that no one recognized our anniversary
even though I made it known prior to the trip.  no worries though - Yuki came through in a pinch to help out.

All and all a great trip - in fact we are already planning a 2nd one before the year is out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear GCFWTX,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent stay with us at Fairmont Mayakoba. Knowing that you have stayed at other Mayakoba properties in the past, it is a very nice compliment to know that you continue to come back to our stretch of paradise in Mexico’s Riviera Maya, and that this time around our attentive staff make you feel at home. I have personally written a special note to Yuki and Jorge to thank you on your behalf for their contributions to make yours, a memorable stay.
Your comment regarding El Puerto comes to a surprise, as it is the hotel’s signature restaurant due to its tantalizing menu, impeccable service and ambiance; therefore your impressions have been share with the culinary team to review accordingly.
As we look forward to welcome you back before the year ends, please do not hesitate to contact us in advance to help you plan a wonderful visit to Fairmont Mayakoba.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    296
    95
    65
    37
See reviews for
484
589
18
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laredo, TX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This spot is my go to place to escape and relax. I find that the property offers one of the best off peak values in North America. I've been frequenting The Fairmont Mayakoba for years and spent 10 days on this last visit celebrating our anniversary.

On this trip we particularly enjoyed the spa area and visited every day of the trip. We had the spa completely to ourselves as I think we only saw one guest there during our shoulder season stay.

Although it is a large resort the bikes were a blast to ride around and golf carts are always available. Don't miss the golf course which is quite a treat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our family of four stayed at the Fairmont Mayakoba during the week of July 8, and our experience was outstanding. One of our primary reasons for choosing the Fairmont was because of their ability to accommodate our son’s peanut allergy. I cannot say enough about the support we received from the Fairmont’s executive chef Richard Silvester and his staff. We dined at all the restaurants at the Mayakoba, and at each one, the staff was fully aware of our sons allergy and worked with us to make sure the meals were safe. Additionally, Chef Silvester arranged for special expedition lunches for our son that we took with us for our various day-trips, and these expedition lunches were not you regular “sandwich and chips variety” – think lobster ceviche, Chiabatta with smoked duck breast and sun dried tomato Aioli, and Coconut Sushi with tropical fruits and cherry sauce!

The service at the Mayakoba was excellent. Our two Signature Casitas were roomy and the baths were large with plenty of light. The rooms were serviced each morning, and I only wish I remembered the name of the lady that made-up our rooms – she always did a great job.

So, the Fairmont was not only a great place for us to stay and dine, but the culinary team made it possible for us to safely make the side trips that wanted to take. I highly recommend the Mayakoba and would gladly stay there in the future.

Room Tip: We used two connected Signature Casitas and they offered plenty of room for our family of four
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Beautiful place with amazing setup. Staff was very helpfull, the place is very well run and the reception alone is breathtaking. I recommend it for families with kids that don't like "all inclusive" type hotels. The property is huge however there are always golf karts ready to take you around and you can take any of the available bikes to get around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Laisidoro,
As a family friendly hotel, it s a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Fairmont Mayakoba and that your toddlers did too.
Thank you for all your compliments. We look forward to welcome you back for another memorable family vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a beautiful resort, very well run, very good service without the hard sell or overbearing, and very friendly in a polished way. Clientele were probably ~85% wellheeled and fit Mexicans/Latins. This is a safe place, and overall Playa Del Carmen area felt safe as well. Breakfast buffet is very good and extensive. In La Laguna dinner is subtely shifted to a buffet, we ordered off the menu but service a bit slow for this - they hope you order the buffet. For about same price Las Brisas probably the better bet for dinner. Of note dinner in Playa Del Carmen can be pricier than we would have thought. Mentioned on website some restuarants dress is slacks but a nice pair of shorts and polo shirt seems to fit in well - it is the tropics. They stock the room twice a day with bottled water, and also at the lobby if you run the trails, go on an excursion, etc.

For my take if traveling with families this is the best of the 3 connected sister resorts of Fairmont/Rosewood/Banyan. Quite a few families here. Nice atmosphere but not stuffy.

A bit expensive, but the $18 hamburger is the best I have ever had, and can easily feed 2 people (well, not 2 teenage boys).

A large property, many posts on where to get a room, but the shuttle service is so good it really does not matter and the shuttle drive is nice in of itself. Quite a bit of wild life on the propoerty - take the complimentary boat tour around the 3 properties - it's worth it.Mosquitos are out everywhere at dusk and dawn.The signature casitas are nice.

The beach is quite nice but not wide in this general area. Water is not clear near the beach - there is not a reef anywher near offshore - but colors are vibrant. For really nice clear water beachs will have to stay north around Secrets/Maroma or south near Playacar. Not too much problem in getting a beach or pool spot if you get there by 9:00 am.

A very nice place with very good service that is laid back, a nice respectful crowd, and with the specials I think good value.

A cab drive to town is $23 for 1-4 people but also 230 pesos. Get and pay in pesos, exchange is about 12.3 pesos to dollar, so 230 pesos is about $18.50. The Fairmont gives a pretty good exchange rate, and definitely better than anything in town.Pesos also for dinner, etc. - will come out ahead in US $$.

In town always check price conversion, on restaurant they priced outside in dollars, and then inside in pesos. When they quoted exchange rate of say 11.5 the dinner was about 10-12% more expensive in US $$ than quoted on sidewalk menu.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear travelgurutx,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Fairmont Mayakoba. It was a pleasure to read that you feel safe not only on property but in Playa del Carmen and Riviera Maya too, as the destination itself enjoys of a peaceful ambiance.
As a family friendly resort we cannot be more grateful to read that you all enjoyed a memorable vacation and that you rated Fairmont the best for family travel within Mayakoba.
Thank you for your compliments on our restaurants, spacious rooms and service, I’ll be sure to pass them on to the management. Along with your comments on the boat tour, we are glad to know you took the ride as it is one of the highlights of the property.
We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Riviera Maya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Lovely resort and property. The room upgrade to a Casita was a nice surprise. Very quiet room with a super comfy bed. The only thing we really didn't like was the resort fee, Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Thoroughbredlady,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Fairmont Mayakoba, and for your compliments on the spacious rooms and beautiful facilities. I hope that during your stay you had the opportunity to enjoy some of the services that are included in the resort fee, like sea kayaking, boat tours, nature trail walk with the ecology manager, the use of BMW bikes or the three hours daily of use of the Kids Camp and teens room by PlayStation; all add to the guest experience offering great value to the resort fee.
Hopefully we will welcome you back so that we invite you to experience all of these wonderful services that showcase the best of Mayakoba. Please contact us in advance on your next visit to Riviera Maya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This Fairmont property is amazing. The attention to detail is exceptional. I took my 21 year old daughter for a girls week. We understood that there was no "night life" and did not have any expectations of any. However, what we never anticipated was the 2 expensive restaurants that required reservations and associated bars being over run with children. Babies crying, video monitors on tables, kids climbing on railings, etc. was not our idea of a fine evening. We experienced this for 7 nights. We were paying top dollar for our food and service- the atmosphere is like an Olive Garden, although the service is impeccable. We know that this is a family friendly resort, but it would be nice to have an adults only restaurant and bar. One thing we really enjoyed was the frozen fruit pops that the staff handed out on the beach each day. A nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Peggydt
First of all I want to thank you for your feedback and for your kind compliments on the service and the attention to detail provided by everyone on property. While I was surprised by reading your comment and I wish you had a better experience with us, it is the feedback of our guests that allow us to improve.
Summer is the family travel season in Riviera Maya and so, the hotel receives more families with children at this time of the year than at any other season. However we do understand some guests would rather enjoy a more peaceful ambiance and therefore the hotel offers different adults only facilities, like the adults only infinity pool, the mineral pools and serenity room at Willow Stream Spa, and, when needed, the private dining rooms of each restaurant. It am sorry that we fell short on this occasion as to offer alternatives for you and your daughter.

I hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back. Please contact us in advance so that we can assist to plan a wonderful stay with us.

Cordially,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Mayakoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.