We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Mayakoba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Mayakoba
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Every 3rd night free
Ranked #31 of 199 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“wonderful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Traveled with a large group for a corporate event. Everyone enjoyed the Fairmont. The service is outstanding. I can't say enough about how everyone that works there is so nice and so helpful. They meet your needs before you even know you need something. Something I was very concerned about was the water. The Fairmont filters all their water, so it is safe to drink and eat all the food. The food in all the restaurants was very good. We ate in each one. The pools are nice with a big selection that should suit anyone's needs. Our room was nice, quiet, and super clean (this is something I really look for). The only thing that surprised us was that the resort did not have a bar. Being with a large group we wanted to get together and hang out and there was no place that we found comfortable to do that. The lounge by the lobby is not workable for a group bigger than 6 (and that was the only place we found the service to be awful).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
NJTracey,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of your recent stay with us at Fairmont Mayakoba. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the property, our restaurants and the service provided by our staff.
The safety of our guests is a top priority and, as you mentioned, we have a filtration system, however we do provide complimentary bottled water in all guestrooms for our visitors’ enjoyment. The Lobby Bar is the hotel’s first choice for large groups as a gathering space and were surprised to read that the service was not to our standards. I have taken note of your comments and will be sharing them with the restaurant manager, we are always looking for opportunities to improve and continue providing wonderful moments for all of our guests.
We hope to welcome you back either for business or for a vacation next time.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Fairmont Mayakoba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    874
    272
    86
    60
    35
See reviews for
451
521
15
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irapuato, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the fairmont mayakoba for 5 nights including new year's eve, and it was a nice stay. I have to say that I had expected something spectacular from what I had heard about the Mayakoba hotels, and while it wasn't spectacular, it is a good hotel. We stayed in a regular room and were traveling with our 8 month old daughter (asked in advance for a crib but they were all out), and the room was spacious, specially the bathroom, very comfortable. The grounds are huge, so you have to get a cart to get to the beach, but it was only a 5 min walk to the pools. It is a family place so lots of children everywhere, and there are 3 restaurants to choose from plus the lobby bar which has a small menu as well. The overall service is very good (except on the beach), and the food was good too. We came home happy but I think we expected a bit more 'wow' factor for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Ana g,
Thank you choosing Fairmont Mayakoba for your stay during the holidays and for taking the time to provide your review. I was surprised to read that your experience was not up to your expectations and so, I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to talk to you privately about this matter. Please feel free to email me directly at Paulina.feltrin@fairmont.com.
Sincerely
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Fairmont Mayakoba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My fiance and I went to The Fairmont Mayakoba in March. We had a wonderful time! I don't often say I would go back to any resort since there are so many to experience but we will definitely go back. We loved the fact that it was a huge property. We walked to the inifinty pool often but if you didn't want the exercise there was transportation readily available within minutes. There are also bikes that they supply if you would like. Although it was completely booked there were so many different options for pools (and the beach) it never was crowded. You never had to worry about getting a chair no matter what time you decided to wake up. The little extras were nice like the staff that came around in the heat of the afternoon with cucumbers for your eyes and a cool towel for your face. The breakfast buffet was by far the best I have ever had at any resort (all inclusive or not) we did a package where our breakfast was included. The staff by the pools were just appropriately present. We also saw a couple celebrity/actors while there. Right there tells you that you are staying at a place worth while! The only bummer is that the top floor rooms have private pools and as we were sitting on our deck we got splashed a couple times (not the hotels fault).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
M Z,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, and for considering Fairmont Mayakoba a hotel worth visiting many times as we truly enjoy becoming a second home for our guests. It is nice to read that you loved the size of our property and that it allowed you to enjoy the various activities available throughout. Our culinary team takes pride in providing our guests with a lovely amount of options in the daily breakfast buffet and we will share your comments with them.
We look forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Mexico.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Fairmont Mayakoba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were staying in town in Playa del Carmen for a few days in between hotels and thought we would try somewhere else along the journey and booked the Fairmont Mayakoba. I was kind of surprised at the hotel. Wasn't super great, like I would expect from a Fairmont. It is a huge golf resort from what I saw... maybe that is why, but I was traveling with my family... so not a golf trip for us. Upon arrival the resort looked super nice... the room really beautiful We booked a night before arriving as it was last minute, so they only had a king bed... which the kids are still little, and we though we could bring in a cot for one of them... may want to as about this before hand. $50 extra for the extra bed... yikes!!! A bit much Fairmont for an extra bed don't you think? Anyways, for the comfort we paid it and had a great sleep.

The pool: The pools lay out not very great, very choppy and lots of areas that kids can go and you can't see them, the pool chairs are all over the place, but you never really have a good pool view if your kids are swimming. There are really no pool chairs around the kids pool in the sun either, and the pools are a tad on the cold side.. again that "yikes.. that's chilly" but ok once you are in feeling. I always know when the kids find the resort water cold, because they scout out the warmer hot-tub, which is usually just a warm pool and we tend to stay in there the rest of the trip. Which we did for both days.

Service: The pool service was great, drinks were good, but food was just kind of ok... not much taste to anything, kind of bland. We felt the same way with room service in the room... food wasn't super great.

Kids Club: Our boys 4 & 6 went the kids club to try it out so we could try a golf lesson (neither of us are golfers) and they had lots of fun for the 2 hours they spent there. They have a great big park and tons of activities for the kids... in the short time, they made a pirate treasure box and played in the park. They even filled it with pirate gold when they left (chocolate coins :) Kids loved it.

Golf Lesson: We tried to book a private lesson... which seemed really odd that if we had arrived for a week vacation, they had nothing available for private lessons for the next 5 days... so if I wanted to try it on a week long vacation... I maybe would have had to book that prior to coming. Good to know to check that out for the future. We weren't staying and I am not a golfer, but the hour free "group lesson" was just us 2 anyways... was fantastic. They go over your swing on a video screen... very cool for a beginner! I loved it as an adult. I may take up golf one day... but today isn't the day.

A quick 2 days at this resort... probably wouldn't go back.. wouldn't have wanted to stay much longer either.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Girlysummer,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a detailed review of your visit to our resort. As a family friendly hotel we are grateful to know that your children enjoyed their time at the Kids Camp, I’ll be sure to share your comments with the manager.
As you many have learned during your stay, El Camaleon is host to the only PGA Tour event in Mexico and so many golfers when visiting Riviera Maya like to play were the pros do; therefore, our private golf lessons do fill up rather quickly. We do encourage- as you mention- that all of our guests enroll prior to arrival by emailing myk.concierge@fairmont.com
I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again on your next visit to Playa del Carmen.
Cordially,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Fairmont Mayakoba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I accompanied a friend who was on a business trip. We immediately noticed that this was a resort filled mostly with vacationing families from Mexico and not very many Americans. Since this was a family resort and small children were everywhere, it did mean that the pools were filled to the brim all the time; however, there is an adults only pool, so that's where we went to swim laps. Beachside chaises were difficult to come by, so we developed a system, whereby one of us would head down to the beach by 11 am and secure our chairs and shade for the day. Once there, we would not budge until after 4pm.

We visited teh health spa, and it was a delight. Classes are offered and we tried a few, including yoga and thoroughly enjoyed it. Also, we each booked a spa treatment, which then gave us spa and fitness access for the entire day. This was really the way to go as we now had our own private pool! No one else was on the rooftop enjoying the small lap pool or mineral bath. We ordered lunch delivered there-- expensive. Snacks of fruit, muffins, and cookies are provided along with lemonade. Down below, in the womens area, a hot tub, cold plunge and saunas are available. I recall that we went early in the day, then went to the beach, and came back late in the evening to enjoy the sauna.

We also liked rding bikes all around the resort. They're first come first serve. If one is a the bike stand when you approach, grab it; otherwise you must await a shuttle or walk. Witing time for the shuttles was normally brief, besides, it's vacation, hang loose.

Oh, we had a casita room and the tub and shower were both large. The rooms were very nice an clean and the staff was friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Yippie-Yi-O,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Fairmont Mayakoba. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the many amenities we extend to all of our guests, particularly Willow Stream Spa and its fitness facilities. You will be happy to know that starting this month we are adding more yoga sessions to our menu. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Fairmont Mayakoba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Located between the golf club, the Caribbean Sea and the mayakoba park at 40 min from CAN international airport and 5 min away from playa del Carmen.
Amazing place, very clean and with everything you might need. Good pace for families since it is very secure all around the hotel.
Prices are ok, considering the 5 stars hotel.
Many different restaurants as well as beach houses with private pool.
Willow spa with professional workes is a luxury experience.
Even the "cheapest" rooms make you feel like in heaven.
This is one of the greatest Fairmont ever been.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
LB879,
We were truly honored to read that Fairmont Mayakoba is one of the best Fairmont Hotels & Resorts you have stayed at; thank you providing such a glowing review. We look forward to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Fairmont Mayakoba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Dec 22-29 - My husband and I were continually amazed at the seamless co-ordination of all the aspects of service at the resort. Even though it was high season, the personal service was exceptional. Our kids (17, 18, 20) enjoyed the company of other kids vacationing with their families. Every detail was looked after by pleasant professional service employees. The beach was beautiful and we swam in the ocean and walked the beach everyday. We enjoyed going into Playa del Carman for a change but didn't need to leave the resort as the food was wonderful. We stayed in the 100 block casitas and loved the location and the views. When we first looked at a map of the resort we were worried by the size and thought it was quite a distance from the room but it was never a problem as the open air carts were always available and so were the bikes. We booked through Apple. Next time I would work/book directly with the hotel as the concierge/front desk/travel agency on site were fabulous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Helen S,
From all of us at Fairmont Mayakoba, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It was a true pleasure to read that you appreciated the personalized service we strive to provide all of our guests and that you enjoyed the beach and culinary offers. For your future stay we invite you to visit our website Fairmont.com/Mayakoba or to email us directly at mayakoba@fairmont.com. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Riviera Maya.
Sincerely,
Paulina Feltrin
Director of Public Relations
Fairmont Mayakoba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Mayakoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.