We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Mayakoba to your Saves list
Fairmont Mayakoba
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Inclusive Package
Ranked #31 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

An amazing haven on the Yucatan. The resort was top-notch with good food and a beach like a Corona ad. The bikes were a nice touch- they could have used some maintenance but were a fun way to get around. The rooms were beautiful. It was my first trip to Mexico so I was anxious about the water but this being a Fairmont the tap water and ice were fine.

I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    295
    94
    64
    37
See reviews for
484
584
18
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed at the Fairmont between Thanksgiving and Xmas which was nice as it was the off-season and the resort was nearly empty which made for a bueno vacation. Beuno pools, bonita beach, incredibly friendly and helpful service. But as it goes with most fancy-shmancy hotels, they do nickel and dime you quite a pretty penny. Plan on paying an extra $15/night per person plus $11/day for parking. In addition to overpriced food, drinks and even WiFi. I can go the week without internet, but let me tell you, my Herby cannot last a day without checking his Tweeter or whatever it is. Needless to say it added up quite a BIT. I suggest renting a car so you can get out and about and experience some Mexican culture! It's a bit of a drive to the actual "hotspot" areas of Playa but well worth the venture. There's also a nearby grocery store (Chedraui) where you can get plenty of snacks and drinks. It is hard not to go loco in this place, so many groceries at such affordable prices!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were a family with 2 young grandchildren, ages 4 and 6. The grounds are beautiful, the beach is wonderful, and it's easy & quick to get around on the golf cart transports. We enjoyed an awesome Thanksgiving buffet at the La Laguna restaurant, and had one of the best dinners ever at Las Brisas restaurant. Sitting on the beach or pool, the lunch food from Las Brisas took a bit of time (but you're relaxing on the beach, so what's the hurry) but it was very good food (surprisingly very good food, as resort food is sometimes overpriced & average at best). We had casita rooms, which were very clean and nicely furnished. I can't say enough for the friendly, cheerful service---very attentive without being overly so (obviously, the hotel prides itself on good service).

Room Tip: The 2nd floor of the casita buildings are a bit brighter/sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in a beach area casita and our butler Christian was awesome!! He helped make dining reservations and always sent a cart to pick us up even having the cart drive us to the front door for checkout. He also arranged dinner at Rosewood next door and arranged for the cart and then an Escalade to be waiting to take us there. The food was at the resort was good and the beach was beautiful. Christopher at the front desk saved our vacation literally!! EVERYONE is so friendly and helpful. Take the boat tour!!! The bikes are fun. Good Tip we got from Trip Advisor was to bring small bills for tipping drivers etc. We are planning to return next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Fairmont Mayakoba is a beautiful, incredibly relaxing getaway experience. The grounds, rooms, and service are impeccable. The beach is lovely, and the share bikes and golf cart transport throughout the grounds is a nice vacation touch and very convenient.

Of particular note - the complimentary boat tour is highly recommended and a wonderful way to see the waterways and mangroves. We went in the early morning and saw all manner of birds, the resident crocodiles and turtles.

Fairmont Mayakoba's breakfast buffet, pools, and beach area are all highly recommended. We very much appreciated the partnerships with the other two Mayakoba hotels (Rosewood Mayakoba, and Banyan Tree) including complimentary boat and/or car service transportation, enabling visits to the other hotels' excellent restaurants and beach/pool areas, making for a nice variety over the course of a few days.

We spent 4 nights in Playa del Carmen, followed by 3 nights at Fairmont Mayakoba and so had completed our daytrips by the time we arrived to Fairmont Mayakoba. We could imagine that would be the one downside if you like to explore outside the hotel grounds - it can be a bit far and expensive to take taxis into town, or down the coast to Akumal, scuba diving, Rio Secreto, Tulum, etc.

A wonderful holiday destination - we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We had a signature casita room and it smelled dank. We asked to change our room and the room next door smelled dank as well.
The food is overpriced and mediocre for lunch and dinner. The service at the restaurants was excellent. They are understaffed at the beach. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Rooms Director at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Westvillagechic,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your most recent visit to our resort. We have shared your comments with our team members in order to ensure that we maintain the high standards of service and quality we strive for.
Sincerely,
Karla Erales
Rooms Director
Fairmont Mayakoba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I am not easily impressed, and rarely does a hotel exceed expectations. This one has done both on each trip. This is a fabulous place for kids, too....property is large enough that at full capacity it is never crowded. I recommend you join presidents club....no charge....there are always benefits, like complimentary breakfast and use of gym. I definitely suggest a meal at banyan tree...best Thai food ever. There is much to do in the area...tulum, dolphins and lots more to entice those who prefer to be active. The staff learns everyone's name almost instantly and uses it in every interaction. How do they do that? Also, menu is ideal for ALL...aside from regular menu there are vegan, vegetarian, gluten free, diabetic and other options...you can choose any item from any menu, so in a week we were never bored. Breakfast is huge buffet. Can't wait to return there!

Room Tip: All rooms are similar. Beach rooms are about a mile from main hotel...there are bikes And also golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Mayakoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.