We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Mayakoba to your Saves list
Fairmont Mayakoba
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Inclusive Package
Ranked #40 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New Jersey
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Family Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

Family of five, including three children ages 13, 11, and 9, just returned from a wonderful stay at the Fairmont Mayakoba. The hotel is breathtaking, clean, architecturally dramatic, but naturally nestled in the thick of a natural mangrove loaded with bright flowers, iguanas, tropical birds, butterflies. Winding private paths and bridges invite you to explore your way through the property and down to the magnificent beach. Don't feel like walking? Take a slow boat along the river, or wait no more than a couple of minutes for one of the quiet carts that are constantly running along the paths. Or grab one of the many bikes that are about the property free for your use. Transportation around the resort was easily the least stressful part of our entire stay and made the enormous property feel like it was at our fingertips.

There were unexpected and wonderful surprises at every turn: Greeted by cool towels and fresh juice or wine upon arrival. The lobby is gorgeous, cozy chairs, beautiful art and flowers. We never, ever saw our maid service, but every single time we came into our room (3-4 times a day) we could see that she had been there, fresh sheets, bed turned down, fresh coffee, a postcard. On the beach, or at the pool, a staff member brought you towels, offered drinks, or delivered an umbrella before you could even think to ask. They were literally at your service without being obtrusive, or subservient.

My children commented at every encounter how the people of Mexico seemed to be so happy all the time.

One thing we really enjoyed at the hotel was the constant attention to music. During breakfast at La Laguna restaurant, we were treated to a small mariachi band with a truly wonderful singer. At night, over a beer at La Laguna, another duet with guitars treated us to music under the stars. Breakfast one morning at El Puerto, a harpist; Upon our return from Playa del Carmen one night, a terrific singer was performing in the lobby, so we spontaneously stopped and enjoyed a drink on the veranda. And lunch at Las Brisas, yet another duet set up playing the mexican zylophone while we dined and enjoyed the view of the Carribbean. Such a treat.

The food was excellent at every one of the four eateries. We had at least one meal at each spot. Lunch at Las Brisas on the beach was amazing. French fries, chips and Guacamole, ice cold beer and soda, delivered to our beach chairs, even better! Breakfast at El Puerto was my favorite meal with a huge variety of fresh fruits, breads and Mexican inspired dishes. Also fresh salmon, cheeses, deli meats, and omelettes made-to -order. La Laguna at night offered a wonderful buffet for the children with quesadillas, hot dogs, macaroni, fresh fruit and salad, while the adults indulged in amazing seafood dishes (try the gruper!) and tenderloin prepared in authentic Mexican style.

Cafe Maya was a treat for the kids: On occasion there would be be REAL Mayan tribal painted men and women outside the Cafe, great for picture ops! Inside: Ice cream, fresh fruit, a huge variety of drinks, hot and cold, chips, sweets and conveniences like sunscreen, and magazines. Poolside, order a drink or a burger at the bar, or have it delivered to your chair. Delicious.

The travel office arranged for two excursions off site. Every detail was taken care of. All fees, admissions and transportations were handled by the office. The were extremely helpful with every detail including what would be age appropriate, what to wear, the weather, etc. Our tour guides were very informative and pleasant. We particularly enjoyed the trip to Tulum (about an hour).

We went into town (Playa del Carmen) on two nights. Never any problem having a taxi called--Ask and in less than a minute --voila! $17 each way for approx 10 minute trip. Cab drivers were pleasant and helpful, and happy to chat about their favorite eateries, stores. Town was incredible array of shops, restaurants, craftsmen. Our first night were were even treated to a full blown parade which we had a great view of because we landed a balcony level table at La Parrillia Restaurant. Lucky us!

I would highly recommend this location and this hotel to anyone who is interested in visiting the Mayan Riviera. We can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Beach, music, food, awesome service
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    339
    111
    76
    45
See reviews for
553
658
19
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mpls, MN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

We were invited to stay at the Fairmont Mayakoba through my husband's company for a sales incentive trip from February 14 - 17.

This resort is simply AMAZING. From the moment we walked in the door to check in from the time we sadly had to check out, we were treated with nothing but the best service.

Our room was one of the casita rooms and it was incredible. Spacious, clean.. the bathroom is truly a sight to be seen. Our room was made up every day while we were out enjoying the beautiful Playa del Carmen weather and they came by every night to offer turn down service. Air conditioning & fan worked perfectly (and quietly for that matter).

The resort itself, despite being huge, was spectacular. The grounds were meticulously maintained and the pools were clean and pristine. There were TONS of kids/families and they all seemed to be having a great time on the waterslide and swimming in the pool. Usually, large resorts are a big turn off for me, but there was never a lack of transportation- if you wanted to go down the the beach there was always a golf cart available or one that would be stopping by soon. They also had bikes that you could take at your leisure. We spent the most time at the Infinity Pool by the beach- it was a little more quiet than the main pool.

The food at the Mayakoba was just okay. We had two business dinners (buffet) and weren't overly impressed. The events were really spectacular though and very well organized. We did order room service and they were on time and the food was quite good. We've stayed at all-inclusives (which this resort is not) that had just as good, if not better food.

The staff was so wonderful throughout our stay. Everywhere we went, we were greeted with a "Buenos Dias" and "Hola".

I HIGHLY recommend a stay at the Fairmont Mayakoba!

  • Liked — The room, the staff, the cleanliness
  • Disliked — Resort is just too big
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

Don't bring your kids. We traveled in Mexico before, and there seems to be a love of children wherever we go, not here. The restaurants didn't seem to be that happy that we had two little ones, no special little treatment, not too many holas from the staff within the eating areas. The ability to walk is pretty much taken away by the golf carts, even though they give the right of way to the person on foot, its not much fun to have a full golf cart stop so we could cross over a bridge. The beach is a long ride from the hotel, and the pool was freaking' freezing. There seemed to be a sterile quality to the whole place, with a staff that was both helpful and polite, that would at times completely disappear, never quite giving you what you wanted. Not what I expected, but, my opinion is blurred by a 2 and 4 year old. If you do not bring the kids, who knows, could be a great experience.

  • Liked — rooms are beautiful
  • Disliked — sterile, stripped of its soul
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

What a beautiful oasis! Extremely relaxing -- I was there for a week (first half was a business conference), and it felt like a month away from the snow and hubbub.

Beautiful grounds, savory food, great coffee at the cafe, superbly trained/friendly staff, immaculate huge room with balcony -- it was memorably wonderful.

Though it is tempting to stay on the grounds the whole time, go to Playa del Carmen for a grilled fish dinner, take a day trip to Chichen Itza, and watch the evening show at Xcaret.

What a great vacation...!

  • Liked — The service, cleanliness, and spaciousness.
  • Disliked — Reservations system is prone to errors.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

We have just spent 4 nights at the Mayakoba.
My husband and I were after a place where we could just relax and enjoy a bit of quality time together. Mayakoba offered us just that!

We were in a king size room in the low rise building to the left of the lobby. The room was large, the bathroom impressive! We also had a nice terrace at the front of our room with a lot of privacy. We were on the ground floor and protected behind vegetation.

The resort has 5 pools including one for adults only (we didn't actually try it but we saw it). The pools were never busy and the kids seemed to stay in a smaller pool that had a slide. Most of the time we had the main pool for ourselves!

The resort is massive and it takes about 10-15min. to walk to the beach, 5mins if you take one of the hotel buggies or a bike.
The service was outstanding. We ate in 2 of the restaurants and enjoyed both. I recommend the fine dining restaurant by the beach... We celebrated Valentine's day there, very romantic.
The beach front part of the resort has a nice infinity pool and the beach is nice. The beach is a bit dirty to the right of the resort, much better going for a walk the other way.

The resort is very pleasant as there are no high rises and lots of gardens.

As far as going into town is concerned you need a taxi. It cost us 15-17USD per trip as the resort is about 8kms out of town.

We paid rack rate which made it fairly expensive but still worth it.

  • Liked — the set up of the hotel, low buildings and plenty of vegetation
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2008

I just got back from the Mayakoba and it was incredible. I read the other reviews before I went, and now that I am back, I don't know how anyone could complain about this hotel.
First of all, the service was amazing. Everywhere we went there were employees asking us if we needed anything. When we got towels for the pool, the staff would follow us, carrying the towels to put them on our chairs for us. There are so many pools that none of them were ever crowded.
We stayed in one of the casitas, and it was lovely and spacious. The bathroom had a nice, big bathtub and a rain shower. And the beds were so comfortable, I didn't want to get up. But when I did get up, I could look forward to a great run through the jungle path to the beach.
There were several restaurants to choose from, some very expensive, and some quite reasonable. They all offered excellent food.
I just can't imagine anyone complaining about this hotel. If you can't be happy here, I really don't know what it would take.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

If you are looking for the all-inclusive resort setting, this is the place. The room was stunning, so much marble, and the pressed coffee was great. We ate several times at the resort, in several of the restaurants, and even had some convention food served during a meeting I attended. Every morsel was great. The staff was incredibly helpful, and friendly.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and great food.
  • Disliked — As a resort, it was quite a distance from town.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Splendia, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Mayakoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.