We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel experience in a very long time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Mayakoba to your Saves list
Fairmont Mayakoba
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Inclusive Package
Ranked #40 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“best hotel experience in a very long time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Excellent experience at the Fairmont Mayakoba. By far one of the highlights of our honeymoon. Service was outstanding. Staff always smiling and assisting in accommodating every need . Our room was always clean and room service left us notes and flowers every evening. This hotel was highly recommended by friends but it exceeded our expectations in every way. The beach was wonderful. The breakfast buffet at la laguna was fresh with great combinations and mexican touches. I cant wait to go back. Honestly dont doubt it that much. This is the perfect hotel for couples and even for kids (although it has so many trees that you don't feel it's packed with other guests. We never felt this was an issue. We felt we had the hotel for ourselves. Sushi and lounge was very good and blue cheese burger for room service was one of the best I've ever had and im burger enthusiast. To owners of this hotel: you have a wonderful place at an amazing location. There is no need to change anything. This is a gem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Juan,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your recent stay at Fairmont Mayakoba. We strive to provide the best in service and facilities and are glad to know we contributed to make your visit to the Riviera Maya a lifetime memory. Our chefs appreciate your comments on the food and share your passion for the blue cheese burger!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Paulina Feltrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,099
    339
    111
    74
    45
See reviews for
553
656
19
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Fairmont is a beautiful place. We were upstairs in a bungalow (our recommendation) in a large and very comfortable room. It was well decorated with a big bathroom. Sometimes you need to be patient due to the big distances in the whole complex. The Hotel Bungalows are located in a big beautiful garden with several pools. there are always golf-car-shuttles which makes it easy to get to all places in the complex. There are also bicycles if you like, The service was excellent and the staff was always kind and well trained. You have to pay a resort fee (15$/person/night) and you must also pay a fee (10$/day) for the gym! That´s a "no-go", but you must negotiate it with the management. You can apply for the free of charge membership of the "President Club", than you must not pay during your next stay.

The food was "good value for money" - delicious and sometimes close to a star-rating. The spa was much much to expensive!!! What a shame, but more than 300 $ for one treatment...!?!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed at the Fairmont Mayakoba (May 17-22nd, 2012) for our fifth time in the last couple of years and experience a fantastic vacation once again. We stayed in a Beach area Casita Suite which is always exceptional with a lot of room for us two adults and two children (ages 5 and 8). The kids particularly enjoyed the roof top patio and plunge pool. It also allowed us to unwind at the end of the day while they continued to play in the pool.
This was our second stay on the new “All Inclusive” package as we felt it was good value on our previous stay in December 2011.
We decided to use the hotel transfer service from the airport and it was quick and efficient. Upon arrival at the hotel we were all greeted by name as well as cold towels and the always popular berry berry tea. We were met by our butler and taken directly to our room by the beach. On the all inclusive you are provided with an identification card as well as a sheet confirming the details of the package so that you are aware what is included and what is not.
Restaurants:
Las Brisas: We had two dinners and a couple of lunches at Las Brisas by the beach and the service and food was always excellent. Food is exceptional, especially enjoyed the duck the one night and the staff always went above and beyond to exceed our expectations. One night even moved us several times so we could still enjoy the outdoors even though we were caught in a passing shower that lasted about an hour.
El Puerto: We ate at this restaurant the middle night of our trip. It usually has a $25 surcharge per person on the all inclusive plan but is included when Las Brisas is closed so we were not charged any surcharge. Since we were celebrating an anniversary I arranged to have a nice bottle of champagne waiting for us when we arrived. Considering my late notice or our celebration, the staff did an excellent job putting everything together, including a beautiful desert at the end of the meal. The service once again was excellent as well as the food.
La Laguna: Buffet breakfast was served here every morning, we always enjoyed sitting on the terrace enjoying the sounds of nature, as did the kids. The breakfast buffet has a lot of choice and we never found ourselves wanting anything else. I particularly enjoyed the sopas each morning. The final morning of our trip the staff presented us with a wonderful carrot cake desert as well as a picture that had been signed by all the staff thanking us for choosing their resort once again and hoping to welcome us back in the near future. Once again, exceptional service that we have come accustomed to that always goes over and above what would normally be expected.
Included in our package was three hours of kids club for the boys each day. We didn’t use the club everyday but on the two or three occasions the boys were there they were happy with the attention from the staff and the activities that were provided. My 8 year old is quite picky when it comes to kids clubs but enjoyed this one for the most part.

Room Tip: Any of the Beach Area Casita Suites are excellent and close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The hotel is spectacular and has a different vibe from any other hotels. The hotel, instead of being built as a regular resort, it has individual "casitas". The rooms are beautiful, very spacious and they have great decor. The casitas are far away from the lobby and from the beach unless you stay at a casita next to the beach. There are carts that come back and forth picking up people and driving them wherever they want to go. However, we had to wait two times for too long and the humidity in the place is unbearable so beware of this because walking to the beach is not recommended unless it isn't too hot or humid. The hotel has a lagoon and there are a lot of mosquitoes so it's better to use mosquito repellent most of the time.
Food was good and very flavorful. Service is pretty good as well and expected for what you are paying in this hotel.
A few tips:
1. Withdraw pesos in the airport or in an ATM other than the hotel. We made the mistake of withdrawing money from the hotel ATM and 1: it gives you dollars, not pesos. 2: it charges you in pesos with an exchange rate of around $16.50 pesos per dollar (when the real exchange rate was around $13.95). So we withdrew $200 dollars but the reality is that the real charge to our bank account was of $246 dollars. We felt scammed and here is where it starts all the distrust to this hotel. They exchange you the dollars for pesos in the front desk at an exchange rate of $13.55. Again, remember the exchange rate that day was $13.95. You loose anyway.

2. The hotel has all its menus, information, etc in dollars. However, they charge you in pesos. This was very confusing. In La Laguna where we ate most of the time, we would get the receipt in pesos and below it would give you the amount in dollars. The hotel has its own exchange rate which usually was higher than the official exchange rate. At the beginning we were writing the tip in dollars however, it is better if you write it down in pesos so at the end they don't exchange your dollars to pesos to their convenient exchange rate.

3. Rent a car in the airport if possible. The car rental at the hotel is around $90 dollars per day. The airport rental cars are around $40-50 per day. The hotel is far away from most of the touristic places so if you don't rent a car, you have to take a taxi and they are more expensive than taxis in Chicago or New York.

Overall, we would have enjoyed more if we didn't feel that we were being robbed all the time. The hotel is beautiful yes, but it could be more beautiful if they didn't take advantage of their guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Everything about the Fairmount Mayakoba is first class. Stayed in a beach casita, totally worth it. Seconds from the beach, the porch with laguna view is absolutely stunning, day or night. Butler has potential to be useful, didn't really need/see him during our stay though. Would recommend the all inclusive package, as drinks are avg. $9 and plates $20, so you wind up in the ballpark anyway if you don't. Also, food at La Brisas is the way to go, and be sure to ask Juan Carlos to make his own habanero mango margarita for you, it's perfect! Will absolutely be back!

Room Tip: Beach casita was awesome.. but if you can get a tower suite, it has a private pool on the roof with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We booked this special treat to celebrate our anniversary at Fairmont Mayakoba in late May for 7 nights, and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute! We stayed at a beach area casita with the Appetite for Luxury all inclusive package, and it was worth every dime! The staff and services were impeccable, from the front counter to the beach bar at La Brisa to our butler... There wasn't one minute where we didn't feel the genuine warmth of everyone at the resort.

At booking I added a simple note that we will be celebrating our anniversary, not expecting much more than a greeting and maybe a complimentary glass of champagne at check in. But our Butler (Liliana) and Fairmont exceeded our expectations and more. We checked in a couple hours early so Nicholas at the front desk arranged for us to have lunch at La Brisa, and when we were done the key cards were delivered to us at the restaurant. Upon entering our room we were greeted with a beautiful arrangement of rose petals in heart shape on the bed and the words happy anniversary, including rose petals laying a path to the tub decorated with more rose petals. Then we discovered the bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries on the table... What a way to start our stay at Fairmont! And our butler ensured this "rose petal surprise" happened twice more during our stay! Thanks Liliana! (Just an aside - on the first day, we were on the go a lot so we didn't connect with our butler, but she presented herself at Laguna the next morning while we were there for breakfast to meet us face to face. We thought that was a very nice touch).

For the rest of the week, we just totally immersed ourselves in sun, sand, food, drinks and all the luxury and the great services from every staff at Fairmont. We ate mostly at La Brisa and El Puerto, and had breakfast at Laguna. The all inclusive package allowed us to try everything without worrying about the cost (highly recommended), and the bar staff at La Brisa were super accommodating as my wife made a habit of creating random custom drinks out of the blue (she must've created a dozen different variations that have never been made before, including one from her custom blend of tropical juices she brought from Laguna after breakfast). Through it all the bar staff were very happy to help her experiment. She must've been the happiest person on the beach for those 7 says!

While some people identified the sprawling resort grounds as a negative, we found it to be perfect. We loved to add a little walking, biking and taking the carts into our daily routines at the resort, while enjoying the lush greenery and surroundings.

As usual, our room (like all the Fairmonts we stayed at previously) was fabulous. You just need to look at the pictures to see what I mean...

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I cannot say enough great things about the Fairmont Mayakoba. The service was impeccable, the food was amazing, and the beauty of the entire resort is breathtaking. My fiance and I stayed there for 4 nights, and we are now planning our wedding there. I cannot wait to get back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Mayakoba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.