We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful little hotel - but not for everyone.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koox City Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Koox City Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Koox City Garden Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Av. Constituyentes entre 1 y 5ta Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 157 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A beautiful little hotel - but not for everyone.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is the former Posada Las Iguanas, which used to be run by the family that still owns it. Read their reviews, then read these, and you will see what has changed since it was taken over by Koox.
Understand, this is not and never was the hotel for everybody. If it is your first time to Playa, or if you are looking for new, luxurious rooms and multilingual, always-available staff and instant hot water and manicured garden, don't come. If you are looking for a little place with local character and lots of green space in a fantastic central location, with good A/C and windows that will open to catch the sea breeze, and wifi that works in the garden though maybe not in your room and don't mind waiting for hot water, you may fall in love with this place. It's a step above a backpacker hotel, a laid back place where your fellow guests tend to be Mexicans and Europeans.
I hope the management reads this review and addresses the concerns. They are basically trying to run this hotel from the Koox Caribbean Paradise, a half block away. That's not working very well. The grounds used to be tended daily, but are not as well kept as they used to be. Not having round the clock staff on site is worrisome. They haven't even posted a sign telling you to go to Caribbean Paradise for check in or other assistance. The friendliest staff person is the night watchman, who also worked for Posada Las Iguanas. He doesn't speak English, but at least he smiles and greets us, and remembers us from previous visits.
Although we asked at the desk for certain items missing from our room (hangers, more soap) we didn't get them until we left a note for the maid 2 days later. Sometimes we had new towels, sometimes raggedy old ones. And the sheets were too small for the bed, they were always pulling out and there was no mattress pad. Room safes would be appreciated. These are little things and could be easily fixed. The big thing is that someone needs to take responsibility for THIS wonderful little hotel, Two things saved our visit from being a total disappointment: the physical hotel, still a very calm and pretty place (we never heard music later than midnight, and it never was loud in our room with the windows closed), and the excellent service from Omar the morning desk man at Caribbean Paradise, who not only helped us with a big problem unrelated to the hotel, but also listened to our concerns and suggestions to bring it up to a better standard.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have windows facing both east and west for great breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox City Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for write your review of your stay at Ko'ox City Garden Hotel. We want to thank you specially the bad points of your words, because they help us to improve our services and facilities.

Ko'ox Management read this review and want to apologise for all the inconveniences you had suffer during your stay. We are working to improve our daily work with effort and a good job.

Thanks for chosen us and we look forward to welcome you again!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great location and great price, one of the nicest and most affordable clean hotels in the area.
They have their own little pool and is just but where the action happens in New Years in Playa del Carmen but still not so close so you can get good rest.
With AC and love the wooden blinds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmkliur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox City Garden Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for your review of your stay at Koox City Garden Hotel (Posada de las Iguanas). We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our facilities and services, and specially the location of the hotel, the best one :)
Thanks again and we are looking forward to welcome you at your home in Playa!

Best regards and Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was my worst experience in a hotel ever. The Koox has a few hotels, I don't know where to start this review about the Koox City Garden. Maybe for the management. What an arrogant and pathetic people they have as staff. I.e: the hotel says they have internet connection but it doesn't work and when they say they fixed it, the router didn't reach my room so I have to go to the front desk. When it comes to breakfast, they offer me a complementary voucher for all my group (12 people) and the next day, suddenly they regret to offer and don't explain anything to us. Rooms are old, dirty, uncomfortable and there is no hote water!!! Oh yes, there is hot water, but only in the lavatory! That means there is no cold water in the lavatory!!! So be prepared to wash your teeth with burning water. Sleeping is very hard because the hotel is next to live music bars, so you can't rest until 3 or 4am.
Definitely, RUN AWAY for this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabrielcandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We loved Posada las Iguanas, and would highly recommend it. The staff was helpful and efficient, the courtyard quiet and picturesque with its pool and orchids, and the room comfortable and cool. The adjoining Cafe Cyn has excellent, reasonably-priced food. It's only a block to the beach, and a 1/2 block to Avenida Quinta, with its shops and restaurants. Cynthia, the owner, is a great hostess and speaks fluent English. One of her family members is a doctor and on the premises, which is nice. We've had problems in the past sleeping at another hotel in Playa because of the noise from adjoining bars, but the Posada was very quiet. A previous reviewer hit it exactly when he or she said it is a touch of old Playa, and that is good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fishamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Fantastic value for money, very clean, comfortable and cosy place - I loved staying here. The location of Las Iguanas and the close proximity not just to the beach and Quintas Avenida, but lots of restaurants and tacos bars make this posada my favourite in Playa!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maedsche_us_Koelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We have been coming to Playa for 14 years, staying in many different accomodations, and always wondered about Posada Las Iguanas, so this year we stayed there. It is a rare green oasis on Constituyentes between the behemoth Gran Porto Real hotel (close to the beach)and always-buzzing Avenida Quinta (live music nightly at Kitxen, right around the corner), but it feels like someone's quiet backyard. The balconied, two-storied hotel faces a green lawn and garden with a small in-ground pool, a turtle pond, koi pond, parrots, chickens, bunnies. You can relax in a hammock, swing, lounge by the pool, sit on the balcony (wi fi), or sit in the little restaurant owned by the same family - they serve good, inexpensive food. The immense fresh fruit smoothies were only 30 pesos!
Rooms are simply furnished, but spotless, well lit, well air-conditioned, and the rainshower shower heads supply ample hot water under good pressure. All rooms have refrigerators. The second floor rooms have balconies and windows at both the back and front of the room. When there is a breeze the screened windows will give you cross ventilation, a rare thing to find in any hotel in this city. Some rooms have kitchenettes
This hotel would be fun for families with children or more laid back travelers. There are some drawbacks: The staff, when we were there, spoke limited English (I've been told by another guest that the owner, a doctor, is fluent in English but he was not around when we were there). There is no safe for your valuables. We would have liked more and more comfortable lounge chairs. They do have beach towels but no wash clothes, and you'll have to buy your own drinking water (the Mega supermarket is a 10 minute walk)
The price has gone up since the last review on this hotel - listed at 900 pesos, our room was 700 and no longer includes breakfast. You need to make your reservations by phone, and pay in cash. Speaking at least a bit of Spanish would be helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank timmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2004

I stayed at Las Iguanas in July for 6 nights. It is only 5 minutes walking distance from the beach and 2 minutes from the end of the popular pedestrian zone, the Quinta. Room no. 14, upstairs had 1 king size bed, 1 ceiling fan, 1 standing fan, anice big shower (the pressure was a bit low, though) and a big dressing area with mirror and sufficient storage. Towels and soap were supplied daily. There were two water spenders where guests could fill up their water bottles free of charge. Breakfast at the restaurant next door was included (eggs or omelette, toast, jam, coffee, juice, butter). All that for US$35 per night!!! The owners live on site and are extremely friendly. When I left I got a hug from Miguel. The only down side, they do not accept credit cards.

Helpful?
6 Thank CousinJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#120 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Mariposa
Hacienda Mariposa
#141 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
#119 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#81 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Secreto Hotel
El Secreto Hotel
#77 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ko’ox Playa Hotel
Ko’ox Playa Hotel
#91 of 157 in Playa del Carmen
3.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koox City Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koox City Garden Hotel

Address: Av. Constituyentes entre 1 y 5ta Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Koox City Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Koox City Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koox City Garden Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing