We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUN AWAY!!! NIGHTMARE IN PLAYA DEL CARMEN!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Koox City Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Koox City Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Koox City Garden Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Av. Constituyentes entre 1 y 5ta Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 124 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“RUN AWAY!!! NIGHTMARE IN PLAYA DEL CARMEN!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was my worst experience in a hotel ever. The Koox has a few hotels, I don't know where to start this review about the Koox City Garden. Maybe for the management. What an arrogant and pathetic people they have as staff. I.e: the hotel says they have internet connection but it doesn't work and when they say they fixed it, the router didn't reach my room so I have to go to the front desk. When it comes to breakfast, they offer me a complementary voucher for all my group (12 people) and the next day, suddenly they regret to offer and don't explain anything to us. Rooms are old, dirty, uncomfortable and there is no hote water!!! Oh yes, there is hot water, but only in the lavatory! That means there is no cold water in the lavatory!!! So be prepared to wash your teeth with burning water. Sleeping is very hard because the hotel is next to live music bars, so you can't rest until 3 or 4am.
Definitely, RUN AWAY for this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
7
10
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We loved Posada las Iguanas, and would highly recommend it. The staff was helpful and efficient, the courtyard quiet and picturesque with its pool and orchids, and the room comfortable and cool. The adjoining Cafe Cyn has excellent, reasonably-priced food. It's only a block to the beach, and a 1/2 block to Avenida Quinta, with its shops and restaurants. Cynthia, the owner, is a great hostess and speaks fluent English. One of her family members is a doctor and on the premises, which is nice. We've had problems in the past sleeping at another hotel in Playa because of the noise from adjoining bars, but the Posada was very quiet. A previous reviewer hit it exactly when he or she said it is a touch of old Playa, and that is good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Fantastic value for money, very clean, comfortable and cosy place - I loved staying here. The location of Las Iguanas and the close proximity not just to the beach and Quintas Avenida, but lots of restaurants and tacos bars make this posada my favourite in Playa!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We have been coming to Playa for 14 years, staying in many different accomodations, and always wondered about Posada Las Iguanas, so this year we stayed there. It is a rare green oasis on Constituyentes between the behemoth Gran Porto Real hotel (close to the beach)and always-buzzing Avenida Quinta (live music nightly at Kitxen, right around the corner), but it feels like someone's quiet backyard. The balconied, two-storied hotel faces a green lawn and garden with a small in-ground pool, a turtle pond, koi pond, parrots, chickens, bunnies. You can relax in a hammock, swing, lounge by the pool, sit on the balcony (wi fi), or sit in the little restaurant owned by the same family - they serve good, inexpensive food. The immense fresh fruit smoothies were only 30 pesos!
Rooms are simply furnished, but spotless, well lit, well air-conditioned, and the rainshower shower heads supply ample hot water under good pressure. All rooms have refrigerators. The second floor rooms have balconies and windows at both the back and front of the room. When there is a breeze the screened windows will give you cross ventilation, a rare thing to find in any hotel in this city. Some rooms have kitchenettes
This hotel would be fun for families with children or more laid back travelers. There are some drawbacks: The staff, when we were there, spoke limited English (I've been told by another guest that the owner, a doctor, is fluent in English but he was not around when we were there). There is no safe for your valuables. We would have liked more and more comfortable lounge chairs. They do have beach towels but no wash clothes, and you'll have to buy your own drinking water (the Mega supermarket is a 10 minute walk)
The price has gone up since the last review on this hotel - listed at 900 pesos, our room was 700 and no longer includes breakfast. You need to make your reservations by phone, and pay in cash. Speaking at least a bit of Spanish would be helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2004

I stayed at Las Iguanas in July for 6 nights. It is only 5 minutes walking distance from the beach and 2 minutes from the end of the popular pedestrian zone, the Quinta. Room no. 14, upstairs had 1 king size bed, 1 ceiling fan, 1 standing fan, anice big shower (the pressure was a bit low, though) and a big dressing area with mirror and sufficient storage. Towels and soap were supplied daily. There were two water spenders where guests could fill up their water bottles free of charge. Breakfast at the restaurant next door was included (eggs or omelette, toast, jam, coffee, juice, butter). All that for US$35 per night!!! The owners live on site and are extremely friendly. When I left I got a hug from Miguel. The only down side, they do not accept credit cards.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koox City Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koox City Garden Hotel

Address: Av. Constituyentes entre 1 y 5ta Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Koox City Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Koox City Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koox City Garden Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koox City Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.