We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to our honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acanto Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Acanto Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acanto Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 St nte | Between the beach and 5th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Lowest Rates
Ranked #8 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great start to our honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We visited Acanto hotel at the end of March 2013 for the start of our honeymoon.
The hotel was great - the rooms were clean and spacious.
The staff were very helpful and spoke english really well.
The location is amazing - just off the main street in Playa del Carmen.

The cafe next door is great for breakfast, and the owner, Hermes, is a great source of information about things to do locally!

I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter as they don't face the street. We stayed in a one bedroom apartme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    93
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
86
201
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Acanto with a group of 22 other people for our wedding. The planner we worked with was recommended through Acanto and the location was a few blocks away. Working together it was the most amazing and unforgettable experience of my life. The hotel proved to be a perfect location for all our needs as it was close to everything you could want, but far enough away from the parties to be relaxing and peaceful. It is a beautiful hotel and everyone working there was helpful with all our many questions. You will not be disappointed with your stay at Acanto and I hope one day to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
It is so nice hearing and seeing these types of reviews. We are happy to be a part of happy memories. The staff worked so hard to be sure everything went smoothly for the bride and groom and all of their guests and I am pleased that they did. Hopefully well see you next year for your one year anniversary celebration..Congratulations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I checked out of Acanto two weeks a go today after a two-month stay in a one-bedroom unit. My time at Acanto was a retirement gift to myself and kickoff to my future life in PDC. Nestled between 5th Avenue and the beach, close to Little Italy neighborhood while still retaining the atmosphere of old PDC, the address couldn't be more desirable. A charming deli, hair salon are conveniently located next door. There is an allure when you enter Acanto courtyard that extends to the pool, rooftop terrace and beautifully landscaped grounds. A visitor said about the property's international design, "this hotel could be anywhere in the world". I am glad it's located in PDC. The owner Matt was accessible and very accommodating to specific needs. The office staff assisted me daily, helped me settle in and made my stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you Pam it was great to have you and we are happy that you made Acanto your home for 2 months. We hope to have you back for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I bought a Groupon for this Hotel in January 2013 and travelled there in mid-February 2013 with a friend. I had been to Playa Del Carmen in 2004 and loved it, which is why I bought the Groupon. This hotel is smack dab in the center of it all! In the morning we were able to simply walk down stairs and turn the corner and we were on 5th Ave. We loved getting our cafe con leche daily at Ah Cacao, (http://ahcacao.com/en/ ) the coffee shop nearby. Plus, the coffee shop had free WiFi there. Hotel did have WiFi, just not for free, however Karen at the Acanto front desk was kind enough to give it to us for free due to a few inconveniences. We were suppose to be in a one bedroom villa, per the Groupon, but our room was accidently given to someone else, so Karen kindly put us into a two bedroom villa with full kitchen, livingroom and two bathrooms, which turned out to be much better for us anyway! The rooms are very roomy and comfortable, with great views, high ceilings in the bedrooms, and lots of windows to open and allow the breeze to blow through. We had access to our own private jaccuzi (you have to request for it to be filled upon arrival) but we ended up never using it. There is a tiny pool at the Acanto, which we had not interest in anyway, as the beach was also less than a block away, and a gorgeous section of beach, too. We had a great lunch at Fusion Restaurant on the beach. It had a fantastic energy from afternoon into sundown. The live band made it even better. Because the Acanto is located right off the of 5th street, it really made everything so easy! No taxis were ever needed, as there were tons of amazing restaurants, bars and shops right there on 5th Ave. I highly recommend the restaurant Madre Tierra, which is very close to the Acanto Hotel as well. We ate there twice, as everything on the menu was uber fresh and incredibly tasty (You must try their ceviche, as you will never find one as good as this one again and also try their guacamole, as it is made fresh at your table and incredibly delicious!). They had the best margarita on the rocks I have ever had, as well, with fresh squeezed lime juice. All in all, I would highly recommend Acanto Boutique Hotel for it's convenience and locale and for their spacious and comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Their rooms all seemed to be equal in decor and comfort. The two bedroom villa was just better for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
What a great review. Thank you.. We always do our best to accommodate our guests and even offer upgrades when possible. The beaches and clubs, bars and restaurants in Playa del Carmen are a great time and we are happy to suggest them to our guests and even give discount cards for many of them. Our guests love our picks as we only suggest the best places in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I took a trip out to Mexico last year and stayed at this cute hotel. The ambience is breath taking. This is the type of spot you go to with a loved one. I would return again.

If you happen to go alone or with some friends this is still a great hotel to go to. The location is great, right off the cuff of 5th Ave. 5th Ave is a strip that houses restaurants, shops and whatever else you can think of.

The staff was polite and helpful whenever I requested anything, which wasn't often.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi thanks and we are happy you enjoyed Acanto. Frommers travel guide which is a very popular travel guide has called us the most romantic hotel in Playa. Whether for couples, singles or families, its always nice to be in a quaint, beautiful romantic atmosphere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've been there for more than one week because we got married in PDC. Matt from Acanto was the one that helped us to find the wedding planner - big plus for that. Actually Matt was very fast in responding to inquiries via email - another big plus. And all the staff was helpful all the time...

You get beach towels, which is great - only once we did not get any (which was not that positive - but hey, its Mexico and things happen :))

Acanto is a Condo House that also works as Hotel. We had the smallest Pent House Suite - spacious enogh for the two of us. There's no breakfast. We had a roof top terrasse with jacuzzi etc. - though never used it.

Bad thing: we had sooooo noisy neighbours and were sick two days - the partied in front of our entrance so we couldn't sleep. When we asked them to move their party inside, they did - though I realy ask myself, why there must be a seating area...

Location is good - central to go to the beach and the best beach clubs, close to "the Gym", close to Avenida Quinta.

They have good deals with lots of stores and clubs - ask for them (Zenzi Beach Club, Indigo, the Gym and so on).

Actually - like lots of hotels in PDC - prices are super high (we've been there after christmas for new year's) also in Acanto, especially for Mexico. But people pay and they're well booked.

something to criticize: the fridge was very very loud and the A/C was hard to adjust (at least we only got cold or hot, nothing in between).

Playa was paradise when we first have been there 7 years ago - unfortunately it turned very much to become a place for "party-only-people" and lost the "tranquileza" that made it so charming. Beach clubs and beds everywhere, very crowded. It reminds me more of Cancun or Ibiza nowadays, that's a pitty. December especially is due to the BPM festival very much.... well... electronic-music-y...

Although Acanto really made our stay very nice - and they helped with finding the wedding planner - we'd probably choose something either more luxurious (maybe more outside and a little bit more expensive then) or something cheaper in PDC - if we'd ever come back at all, since there are a lot more wonderful places in Mexico, that are not yet completely overcrowded. Acanto still could be your choice, its a nice place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks for you comments we were happy to have you and look forward to your many returns.. We always respond promptly to guest requests or inquiries .. Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was our first time in Playa and we could not have picked a better hotel or location! Everything is 1st class. We were in a two bedroom unit ~ lots of space, great kitchen and eating area, huge bedrooms and walk in shower. Always felt like both couples had plenty of room. Close to shopping and the beach. Loved the roof top deck with hot tub and grill. Nice place to see the sun set!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acanto Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Boutique Hotel

Address: 16 St nte | Between the beach and 5th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acanto Hotel is part of the Boutique Hotels of Mexico Brand and is Praised by the Media in Travel + Leisure Magazine says "Mexico's Riviera Maya is known for its sprawling resorts, but the new, 27-room Acanto Boutique Hotel proves that low-key simplicity also has a place on the Yucatan peninsula. This hacienda-style property, one block from both the beach and the area's pedestrian-filled Quinta Avenida, is set around a courtyard that's home to a swimming pool lined by chaise lounges and lanterns. Spanish accents influence the interiors, where curved hardwood windows frame views of the Caribbean Sea. A bonus for value seekers: lobby-side Wi-Fi is complimentary, as is access to the hotel's beach club, stocked with chilled towels and fruit for sun-seekers. And be sure to check in with the hotel concierge, who has close connections with nearby tour operators and language-immersion experts.Room to Book:The Penthouse units have sweeping views of the Caribbean from the private rooftop whirlpool.Insider Tip: Sign up for the hotel's cooking course or the mixology lesson, which focuses on Mezcal, the distilled liquor from Mexico's native agave.Frommer's Travel Guide says"In my view, this property is (dare I say it) the most romantic in Playa. There is intimacy and flair and even a sense of isolation. Seven stylish suites endowed with color and texture encircle a pool and softly lit courtyard. Figures of Buddha and Asian decoration add an exotic feel and draw a division between this small enclave and the world outside the hotel's door. The suites come with kitchens so you can, should you choose, limit your comings and goings. The rooms are large and comfortable and come with a queen or king bed. The location is great, just around the corner from Quinta Avenida, on a secluded street"About UsThe hotel is located on a pedestrian only street surrounded by beautiful restaurants offering live music and great food and drinks.Hidden behind Hacienda style gates and built around a lush tropical courtyard with swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sun decks and chaise lounges for sunbathing, we offer a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere where our experienced staff will cater to your every need.All guests will enjoy our swimming pool and rooftop Jacuzzi & BBQ with the most amazing ocean views in Playa del Carmen. We offer 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condominiums all including fully equipped kitchens, living rooms, dining rooms, Marble floors and bathrooms, Granite counter tops, air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs and telephones, balconies or terraces.Our penthouse units all offer a private roof top with Soaking tub with jets, BBQ and table and chairs.All of our units are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We provide organic natural soaps and shampoo for all of our guests and we are a smoke free facility.We look forward to your stay with us in Paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Acanto Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acanto Boutique
Acanto Boutique Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acanto Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.