We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great condo, villa, staff and location.!!!! Gina P.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acanto Hotel and Suites Playa del Carmen Mexico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Acanto Hotel and Suites Playa del Carmen Mexico to your Saves list
Acanto Hotel and Suites Playa del Carmen Mexico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Norte bis | Between 1 & 5 ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Boutique Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 50% Off Here
Ranked #5 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great condo, villa, staff and location.!!!! Gina P.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We just returned from a 7 day stay at the Acanto hotel. As a group of 6 of us the Accommodations were great. Our penthouse was beautiful and spacious. Plenty of room for all to hang together And plenty of room for privacy too. The staff at this hotel was great. Friendly and helpful. A special thank you to Karen who really made our stay a pleasure. The location was perfect within close walking distance to the stores,bars,and beaches. This place is perfect for couples and families. Highly recommend this hotel. I already miss the hot tub on the rooftop overlooking one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Thanks Matt.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel and Suites Playa del Carmen Mexico, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
I havent responded or commented on all the positive review recently as we have been swamped with reservations and happy guests at the hotel. But i want to take this opportunity to thank all the guests that have stayed at Acanto and have posted positive reviews for us and our staff, who work so hard to receive such reviews. So a big thank you to all and happy holidays and happy new year.
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    115
    19
    8
    7
See reviews for
114
259
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We just got back from Acanto and Playa and are already planning to return. The hotel and staff were great. It is centrally located within walking distance of everything, great restaurants, bars, shopping and the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this small hotel. It reminded us of a recent small hotel in Madrid! You can't go wrong here!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birch Run, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We recently stayed at Acanto and had a fantastic time. Matt, you have a staff that goes above and beyond in making sure our time there was the most enjoyable experience while we were in Playa. Karen was a joy to be around, she was very helpful in making sure we didn't have a want for anything.All your staff was gracious and always had a smile when were met. We definetly will be back again. The hotel has the best accomadations bar none. Thanks for the excellant time there

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otisville, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We just returned from a 7 night stay at the Accanto Hotel. What a charming place. This is a first class place from the top to the bottom. Matt treated us well, they felt like family. The staff spoke very good English so translation is no problem. The location is steps away from 5th Ave. and only 1.5 away from the beach. Many days we enjoyed the sun from the rooftop, the ocean view is great. I will definitely return to the Accanto.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We just got back from our four nights five day trip... My expectations weren't high and I was sorta left with a feeling of 'look elsewhere for our next trip'. I would leave early morning and come back late at night... I would constantly wait every night for the security guard to show up or for a taxi blocking the entrance to move. The beds are rock hard and hot water will only run for five to seven minutes. I actually came across this hotel through a living social deal (price was around 288 plus tax). Initially, I was very upset on how an employee there insisted on getting my credit card information in order to check if my desired dates were available - I spoke with the owner and all was resolved. However, I was clear with my reason of choosing this hotel... I am getting married next year and looking to book at least 20 to 30 rooms. If this hotel turned out to be great, I would have all my guests book this hotel. When I arrived, the hotel was like 80 to 85 percent empty yet I received no upgrade or tour of the area. Towards the end of my trip, I received an email asking me about my transportation to the hotel from the airport (too late buddy). On the other hand, the location is really good, the rooms and public area are clean, and the two ladies in the front are nice. The amenities are somewhat cheap and housekeeping is very prompt with their service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthew c, General Manager at Acanto Hotel and Suites Playa del Carmen Mexico, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
I would like to respond to this review in no particular order.
The guest claims that the hotel was 85% percent vacant ,
1. The guest would have no way of knowing our occupancy however it is the opposite, we were over 80% full otherwise we would have accommodated the guests request for a free upgrade, even though they came in on a discounted special
2. Our security Guard is on duty all night long and rarely not at the gates when a guest returns , however we have a bell to ring for the guard to come in case this does happen. it is not likely that this happened every night.
3. Taxis blocking our entrance? not sure i understand this the from of the hotel is a no parking zone and taxis unless dropping someone off do not block our entrance
4. the guest was offered a tour of the property and other room types more than once and declined each time, we have many guests who claim they want to have a wedding or reunion at the hotel and that they are doing a site visit, however we have found it is a way to get free upgrades from us, so when they decline tours or demand upgrades its usually not true
5. Amenities are Marble floors, granite counters, solid Mahogany furnishings, Plasma tvs, central air conditioning. Beautiful pool, Jacuzzi, gas bbq and much more.. we do not have cheap amenities
6. our beds are all posture pedic pillow top beds, We have never had a complaint that the beds are hard.
7. transportation emails go out automatically from our system when the reservation confirmation is sent, it is very unlikely it was sent after the trip
8. Lat every hotel requires a credit card upon making a reservation. In the future we will beware for those who refuse to give us the card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at the Acanto for 4 nights in early December 2012. This is a great alternative to a large hotel. It is quiet, easy to enter and exit, yet you sacrifice nothing in terms of comfort and amenities. The room was top notch, tastefully furnished, modern, air conditioned and comfortable. The hotel is ideally located a half block from the the famed 5th avenue for strolling, a block and a half from the beach, and yet about two blocks from the nightclubs and noise. The staff is friendly and there to help. The owner Matt got personally involved and made sure all was satisfactory. We highly recommend this boutique hotel experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We recently stayed at Acant for 4 night for our wedding at the end of November. Matt and the staff could not have been more helpful in planning the event, recommending florists and beach clubs, as well as overall service during the stay. Rafaela and Karen are delightful and helpful, and even called a courier when I needed to send a package and couldn't get to the post office. When we came back to our room after our wedding, the staff had set over 20 little pillar candles all over our room as a surprise. It was so lovely! The view from our 1 bedroom penthouse was wonderful, as was the terrace we drank our coffee on every morning.

Pros:
Location, close to 5th, shopping, restaurants and nightlife.
Quiet, couldn't hear any noise once inside the compound
Staff are fantastic
Clean, modern rooms, nicely appointed

Cons:
Bathroom lighting is not conducive to applying makeup. Not that you really need it for the beach!
Bed is really firm, which I am not used to

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a penthouse, it's worth itM
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#14 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,045 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique
La Pasion Hotel Boutique
#9 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#8 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 11,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
3.5 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#16 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 898 reviews
0.7 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#11 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Hotel and Suites Playa del Carmen Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Hotel and Suites Playa del Carmen Mexico

Address: 16 Norte bis | Between 1 & 5 ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Hotel and Suites Playa del Carmen Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tripadvisor's Top Boutique Hotel in Playa del Carmen. The Acanto Hotel Suites has been praised by the Media. This hacienda-style property, one block from the beach and the area's pedestrian-filled la Quinta Avenida is set around a courtyard that's home to a swimming pool w chaise lounges and lanterns. Spanish accents influence the interiors, curved windows frame views of the gardens. All guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, daily continental breakfast, access to the beach, daily maid service, concierge service and discounts to many local area restaurants. Acanto also offers Penthouse accommodations with roof top areas with BBQs and sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea. Frommer's Travel Guide says" In my view, this property is the most romantic yet family friendly hotel in Playa del Carmen. There is intimacy and flair and a sense of isolation. The accommodations are endowed with color and texture, all encircling a swimming pool and softly lit courtyard that draw a division between this small enclave and the world outside the hotel's door. The accommodations are large and comfortable and all include full kitchens, living rooms and dining rooms. The location is great, just around the corner from La Quinta Avenida, on a secluded and quiet side street, surrounded by restaurants offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere where our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All guests will enjoy our swimming pool & BBQ, marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and so much more. All of our accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We provide organic natural soaps and shampoo for all of our guests and are a smoke free facility. We look forward to your stay with us in Paradise. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's on the property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Acanto Hotel and Suites Playa del Carmen Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel
Hotel Acanto Boutique
Acanto Hotel And Suites Playa Del Carmen Mexico Riviera Maya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acanto Hotel and Suites Playa del Carmen Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.