We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sixth time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Playa del Carmen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Playa del Carmen to your Saves list
The Royal Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Constituyentes Avenue #2, Playa del Carmen 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Snoqualmie, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sixth time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I met our daughter and her boyfriend at The Royal for eleven days of pampered bliss. This is our fifth or sixth time (can't remember) at The Royal at PDC. We've always said we would never vaction to the someplace twice....until we came to The Royal. Everything from the rooms, which are so comfortable and well appointed, to the over all ambiance of the resort is A+. But what really has us coming back is the staff and the food. As long as we've been coming here, it is always such a welcome surprise to be served by the same people. They take their jobs very seriously and all appear to love their jobs. There is a cohesiveness that is so refreshing compared to other spaces we have been.

Our daughter had a medical emergency while we were there and I cannot say enough about how quickly, kindly and efficiently it was handled. A shout out to Rogelio the lifeguard/paramedic who tended to her with such genuine concern and is very knowledgeable, as well as a master at calming a very distraught young woman. Also the Doctor on staff was fantastic! He came to our room immediately and again, we were so impressed with his professional manner and how capable and knowledgeable he is. Such a relief when you're so far from home.

Our very attentive beach server was Francis. How anyone can maintain such a pleasant attitude while trudging all day in the sand, carrying drinks to thirsty patrons, is a mystery to me. Within a matter of days, she knew our preferences and sometimes had them before we even had the chance to ask.

Not everyone exercises when they vacation, but we do. What would we do without Regina and Edith! Regina is like a beam of light. Her genuine concern for you is obvious. She will however kick your butt in her Pilates and Spin class. No mercy! Edith is also an amazing instructor! These two woman have been teaching these classes for at least 4 years, but it feels as fresh as if it was their first month.

Food: the food at The Royal cannot be beat. There are nice restaurants from which to choose. I'll list our favorites in order for dinner: Chefs Plate, Maria Marie, Asiana, Mexican restaurant at the Gran Porto Real, Il Pescatore.

Breakfast/lunch: PELICANOS!! We never went anywhere else for breakfast or lunch. Mainly because of the staff. Felipe, Joviani, Manuel, Lucas, Geronimo, Chan, etc. All their names escapes me, but they all deserve a round of applause! Again, after a few days they knew our preferences, but didn't assume. They work so hard as a team to take of everyone. No competition. They're a jovial group and clearly love working together. We miss them. :(

Membership office: We have been club members since 2001. We were treated so well by Nancy and Marcos and the entire staff, it was great! They are valuable employees.

Our housekeeper, while we never caught her name, was ever so efficient and made our room spotless everyday. And her towel art had us giggling each time we came to our room.

I could go on and on, but if you have the opportunity to vacation to the beautiful Riveria Maya, your best bet without question, is The Royal!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,237
    1,391
    475
    223
    156
See reviews for
896
5,703
102
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our stay at the Royal was absolutely amazing. The staff was all very friendly the service was quick. The room was beautiful and our oceanfront view was amazing. The food was very good and we enjoyed tasting the different frozen drinks that were offered. The weather was in the 80's and the water was just so blue that you could see the fish swimming below. This was me and my husband's first trip to Mexico and we definately plan to come back to the Royal. Everything was so clean. One of the bars that we sat at the El Mediterranian the bartender at the time was Reyes - he went totally out of his way to please us. I have absolutely no complaints at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpls
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I just got home on Jan 12th from a week at The Royal Playa Del Carmen. This was our 2nd time at this resort. We have found our paradise. The chocolate covered strawberries at the coffee house are the best! Our favorite place for breakfast is Pelicanos. The food and the service are excellent. We love to sit & eat outside, take in the view and watch people. Our room was an ocean view overlooking the main pool. Nice room, very clean. We ate at all the restaurant except Chef's plate. All the food is very good. We ate Asisana 2 times. Chris our waiter was very friendly. I'd like to thank the entertainment staff! (Katie, Carlos, Regina, Victor, Azo, Jesus,) Hanging out by the pool was fun and funny. The night time shows were amazing! We had a blast plying tennis on the roof. Raul was funny. I would recommend this resort to anyone. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonder Lake IL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent vacation all around. Toto at the Tequilla Bar took very good care of me! Azu at the pool kept us entertained the entire time. I was very impressed at their customer service, not just nice but very attentive also! I cannot forget to mention Franco and Enrique when going scuba diving. They were on top of things, always making sure everyone was safe and happy. Kudos to the staff for their hospitality and great service. I had an excellent time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Overall, I love this place. The staff are beyond exceptional. They truly make this place. If you can think it, they will have already done it. The food is top rate and the drinks are all top shelf. The only complaint I have is there are no umbrellas by the pool. There were, in the beginning, but the lounges were updated a few years ago. They come with their own little, teeny, weeny sun shade. If you only want to put your forehead in the shade then these are made for you. The sun does get intense at times, so it would be nice to have a place to be able to get out of it and not have to hide away in some back corner or in your room. If this was taken care of The Royal would truly be royal!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOODSTOCK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We just returned from our second trip to the Royal. Still the best location in PDC. The staff is the best anywhere especially Erica at reception and our maid Maria Letieica. The weather is great in Jan. 70 at night and low 80's during the day. We also enjoyed using the facilities at the Porto Real next to the Royal they have a very nice breakfast buffet. The grounds are groomed to perfection and everything is so clean. My wife enjoyed the spa. Pelicano's restaurant on the beach was our favorite for lunch and it shares space with the tapas restaurant. Spice does a terriffic breakfast buffet and it's nice for a casual lunch or dinner. The Royal is on the North edge of PDC one block from 5th Ave where all the shops bars and restaurants are so there is plenty to do.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the main courtyard are quieter if you don't want to hear the music from the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a terrific resort my hustand and I have visited now 5 times. The reason we keep going back:

- Rooms are fantastic. Choose the Ocean view jr. suite and you can go on their website and reserve your room 48 hours in advance. We always get a room with a view of the pool AND the ocean

- The beach is great. Lots of chairs, great swimming.

- The food rocks and for many of the restaurants, you don't need reservations or long pants.

- You can enjoy 2 superb restaurants at the resort across the street.

- The proximity to 5th Avenue makes it lots of fun. Great to "people watch"

- The staff are delightful. Always friendly and genuinely happy to see you.

- The entertainment is pretty good. They've added a "Cirque de Soliel" type show that occurs right in the main bar in the lobby. It was world class.

Long and short of it is, we've never had a bad experience at this resort. We've travelled to many many all inclusives. This is the only place we've gone back to.

Hope this helps!

Room Tip: use the online room selector 48 hours in advance. Make sure you go on as early as possible because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Address: Constituyentes Avenue #2, Playa del Carmen 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New redesigned and redefined THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen is one of the most successful resorts on the Riviera Maya. Guests will discover an explosion of luxury around every corner, all provided in an atmosphere of casual elegance boasting a perfect beachfront location, mere steps from Playa del Carmen’s famed Fifth Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Playa del Carmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.