We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, relaxing vacation, Excellent team!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Playa del Carmen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Playa del Carmen to your Saves list
The Royal Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Constituyentes Avenue #2, Playa del Carmen 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great resort, relaxing vacation, Excellent team!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Royal in Playa Del Carmen for a week in December 2012. First of all, the resort itself was beautiful. The rooms were amazing - great mini bar, bed, room service....really excellent. The beach, which is where we spent most of our time, was really superb. We walked along the coast and have to say that the beach at the Royal was the nicest. The food at all of the restaurants was way better than you would expect for an all inclusive; we loved Maria & Marie and Asiana. The buffet was really good for breakfast and lunch too!! The coffee house on the resort is such a nice touch.
The resort is litterally in the heart of Playa Del Carmen; walk out an you are on 5th ave. We strolled along almost every night; cute shops, fun little bars, and lot of life!

Now for the truly exceptional... the service!!! The people who work here are all out of this world nice and helpful, always smiling, always friendly. Here are the people who truly went above and beyond; they made us feel at home and never want to leave:
MITCH - the drink waiter on the beach - what a nice guy, always made sure we were taken care of, we miss him already!
MARISOL - she made our omlettes every morning at the buffet; sweet sweet woman and makes an amazing breakfast omlette!
ANGLES & EMIR - our favorite waiters at Maria & Marie, really exceptional service.
USIEL at the pool bar made sure we had a blast.
LUIS, DAVID, PEPE (aka JOSE) at the buffet - great friendly service at the buffet every morning.
ALEJANDRA was our housekeep for the week; our room was always impeccable, well stocked, and done on time.

I'd stay here again in a heartbeat, recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,381
    1,428
    483
    226
    158
See reviews for
914
5,826
105
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,356)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Loved every moment! Spectacular service, amazing how hard the staff works to accomodate. We took friends with us this time and on the last day she asked the pool concierge where we could get creme brulee - he asked for our room numbers and called to make special arrangements for it to be delivered to our rooms by room service, "just call them and say that I have already arranged it".

We were there for 9 nights and were initially in rooms with a view of the construction - they moved us as soon as they had availability. Tremendous shows two nights while we were there - the staff worked for two days preparing the lawn and when we awoke the next morning you would have never known it was there. This happens each time we are there. They will work all night to be sure that you don't see a mess when you wake.

The quiet pool is quiet, The bar pool can be rowdy, but those people are on their vacation too! If that is how they want to spend it more power to them.

What we hear from the staff everytime we ask for something is, "it's your vacation, you should have it."

Bike rides in the morning with the entertainment staff should be done on your first day there..you get the lay of the land and it's a nice easy ride for about an hour.

This was our third stay here and we've been to The Royal, Cancun twice. We love it and want to share it with all our friends.

We met one of the Chef's on Monday night (Hi Abel!) he was so sweet and when we spotted him days later preparing for the huge lawn party he climbed over the hedge to get to us to ask if we were having a good time.

Room Tip: We haven't had a bad room yet and that includes the streetview room we had a year or so ago. Ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is possibly the best All-Inclusive Resort ever. We upgraded our suite on arrival and had a beautiful 1-bed ocean view complete with full size alcoholic beverages (vodka, tequilla, rum etc), champagne, wine, Wii, jacuzzi steam shower etc etc. The food was top notch, particularly in the Mediteraneo restaurant and the Spa was magnificent. I had great massage treatments from Angie and Alcudia and a lovely pedicure. Fantastic service, from all staff. Our light was broken on the balcony terrace and was fixed within hours. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade when you get there rather than booking an expensive room in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

1 st Time. We stayed at the Royal Playa del Carmen from Dec. 22 - 29, 2012 and had an Outstanding experience. The Family Christmas Vacation was just Outstanding. The staff was fanstic - Jamie, beach buttler Playordomo and Elizabeth who served our family all week were the very best. Friendly and efficient service 100 % of the time. Pool activaties with "Katie" were just outstanding. Very outgoing and friendly every day. The entire staff was world class - I would recommend at 6 star level. SPA was wonderful. Levinia and Lucy - Therapist did an outstanding job getting an old body back to feeling like new. They were very professional and worth the experience. Our Family had one of the "BEST" Vacation thanks to the Royal and it's wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter - back area is peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The reviews about this resort were bang on....This place has THE best location of all resorts in Playa Del Carmen....The staff is what makes this place so great! They are friendly, attentive and very hard working. We can not thank them enough for making this vacation one to remember. Selma at Spice is a real sweetheart and very hard working! Victor with the recreation staff was so much fun!
Check in and out is a breeze....Pre book your rooms online 48 hours before arrival. We got exactly what we booked and we loved our choices...we had rooms 296, 293 and 399. We could not have gotten better location......I would not have traded for an oceanfront.....choose the second or 3rd floor and enjoy the view. The only downfall of this hotel were the meals. Although the service and presentation are amazing...thats where it ends. The food is just OK. The buffets are smaller than other resorts and very repeatative. Don't get me wrong, this did not ruin it for us. We had lots to eat but would not give this area a 5 star. We expected better!
The turn down service was hit and miss as well as the maid service. Our room was always cleaned but the time of day varied although they ask you what time you would like this service it was never consistant.
We stayed over New Years and the event the resort planned was nice. We had a good time but it was not for everyone. The music was loud and "dance" music which did not suit the older crowd. There is lots of music out there that they should have played a better variety to meet everyones likes. The menu was set and we were given the choice of steak or seafood. Again, this was just ok. There was a resort just down the beach that had a huge stage set up and famous DJ's were playing throughout the week. This resulted in very loud techno bass thumping throughtout the resort until 4 am. I was okay with it until 2 but after that was not impressed!!
The beach is very busy. Lots of locals and the towel game is definately in play but we had no problems getting a great spot to lounge on the beach. There are no beach vendors but shopping is just around the corner.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a great location and great service.

Room Tip: Prebook your rooms on line. I would not spend the extra money for oceanfront. Third floor oceanview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were upgraded from the Grand Porto Real to The Royal.This trip was a Christmas present to ourselves and our two grown boys,(young men).This was our first trip to Mexico and in our opinion the Royal in Playa Del Carmen has set the bar very high.The cleanliness of the resort was unbelievable. The constantly hard working staff were very warm, polite and professional. The beach was beautiful . Our experience on the beach was made even better by a beach butler named Mitch. I don't know if there are other butlers on the beach , but he seemed to cover the entire beach area himself. He was extremely friendly, genuinely enjoyed stopping to talk to people and always had a smile on his face. He never made a mistake on a drink order. He spent his day literally running on the beach serving the guests, and as far as I could see making them happy. Mitch is the one employee of the Royal who stood out or exceeded our expectations. We had the use of a beach cabana daily which was very nice. The location of our cabana was next to a kiosk which rented out jet skis, kayaks, etc. One of the guys who worked there was a local guy named Armando. I enjoyed meeting and talking with him about where he was from . He talked about diving in the area and sights to see locally. Each day he made sure to come and see us and shake my hand. Thanks Armando. We were quite impressed with the food served on the resort.We had lots of variety and a good choice of a la carte or an extensive buffet. The wait staff in all of the restaurants was top notch. The weather was great and overall we had a fantastic time. Thank you to the Royal in PDC.

Room Tip: While all the rooms are very nice, having a ground floor walk out ocean front room was the icing on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

1st time. We read reviews for months and chose the Royal wanting the best. Well it is fabulous but some things not so great. Hotel was full over Christmas, so some consideration may be due.
If you like quiet, north side is excellent. The quiet pool is awesome and best bar there. Main pool area is nice and wasn't excessively loud.
Beer- No Coors Light at main pool/beach- lobby or quiet pool only. I put a $10 in the fridge with a note asking for some (aside from room tip) and did not get any but they took $. Later asked and told they would bring some (again with tip) no. Called room service for some...no show. Just get it yourself, no big deal.
Adults only: Topless sunning is one thing, but some take it a little far.
Check out- bell boys didn't show (tipped at arrival? Absolutely)
Great place, staff overworked at full-capacity, very clean/safe, most reviews consistent and accurate- great vacation!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Playa del Carmen

Address: Constituyentes Avenue #2, Playa del Carmen 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Playa del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New redesigned and redefined THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen is one of the most successful resorts on the Riviera Maya. Guests will discover an explosion of luxury around every corner, all provided in an atmosphere of casual elegance boasting a perfect beachfront location, mere steps from Playa del Carmen’s famed Fifth Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Porto Real
Royal Playa De Carmen
The Royal Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Playa del Carmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.