We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Esencia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Esencia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Esencia
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Tulum-Cancun KM 265, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel is for those looking for that boutique feel from arrival you well as I'd me you are at home.
The price point is certainly a lot higher than others, and the property is under new ownership. Current the service level and rooms mixed but they will be improving on this. And is to be expected in a boutique style property as this.
Certainly very different a must do on your trip

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    52
    13
    9
    8
See reviews for
69
213
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Escencia last April while we were in town for a wedding. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to return for a longer stay some day. The rooms were clean and very pretty. I enjoyed that each one felt like our own little cottage. Each morning a continental breakfast and coffee was waiting for us outside which we enjoyed on our balcony. The food was very good and the beach service was great. My favorite part of the hotel was the beach and the cabanas. Everything was so gorgeous, tranquil and relaxing. I

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We joined our friends here who raved about this little hotel. No big flashy signs or entrance, hidden from the road, you enter into what feels like a secret jungle retreat. A short golf cart ride thru tropical plants and flowers and iguanas everywhere, you reach the main grounds of the resort. Well manicured and more rustic than the typical Riviera Mayan resorts. We had a garden view room on the upper floor that was large, clean and comfortable with a secluded plunge pool. Each morning coffee and small pastries were delivered on our balcony.

The beach is one of the most beautiful we have been to in Mexico. Though public, we saw very few people. There were little palapas to provide shade and attentive service. In fact, the friendliness and attentiveness and professionalism of all the staff is what will bring us back. They were amazing.

The food was outstanding. The ceviche was out of this world. Everything was so fresh and beautifully prepared. We chose to purchase the meal plan and the drink plan and I think it was a tremendous deal.

We were there the first week of July and were pleasantly surprised to find the temperatures not too hot and hardly buggy. I think we used the provided bug spray only one evening.

The hotel lined up transportation to and from the airport, about an hour away.

We highly recommend Esencia and can't wait to return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

By far one of the best hotels/estates I have ever stayed at. This staff is incredibly detailed and delightfully gracious. You feel like your staying at a beautiful house - there is no slickness of a hotel feel here. The sea completes this story, you become part of the environment and fall into a slow and peaceful state of mind.

Well done Esencia!

Room Tip: Go seaside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelesencia, Director General at Hotel Esencia, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Robmacfrog,

Muchas gracias! Thank you so much for deciding on Esencia Estate for your holiday It makes us really happy to know that you had a wonderful stay and were able to disconnect. We appreciate your recognition of the staff – they are the heart of Esencia and this is a natural reflection of what we do best, to pamper and provide you with the most memorable experience. I will gladly share your comments and recognition with all the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. If I or any of the staff may assist in arrangements, please do let us know.

All the best and hasta pronto!

Philip VIDAL
Estate Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed with family including two babies. Adults and children coexist wonderfully. We felt like staying in our own villa by the Caribbean. If you prefer the Ritz Carltons,the Mandarins, the Four Seasons, this is not the place for you. This is a jewel holtel wiht less than thirty rooms in independent villas built near the seaside residence of the Comtessa de Ferrari. A great alternative for families or couples.

Room Tip: Try to stay in any of the rooms that are close to the beach. If your budget has no limits, stay at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelesencia, Director General at Hotel Esencia, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Bovone,

Muchas gracias! We are so pleased to read of your recent experience and that you and your family found your “jewel” and had a wonderful visit. As you so describe Esencia’s intimate surroundings with it´s adults and children’s pools, and beautiful white sand beach offers all guests the space to totally relax and enjoy.

We look forward to welcoming you all back in the very near future. If we can be of any assistance in making this happen, we will be happy to do so.

All the best and hasta pronto!

Philip VIDAL
Estate Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Beautiful location.
A series of two story villas (I suite each) set in lightly wooded gardens leading to the main house and a lovely beach. There is a restaurant in the garden with a lounge and bar, a nice lounge area in the house and a restaurant by the pool area that will also serve you on the beach. The grounds are simple but very pleasant. No chemicals are used for the garden or pest control. There is a yoga pavilion in the garden near the sea.

The rooms were spacious and attractive with a good sitting area, an outside table area, good bathroom and in ours a plunge pool at the back. Very comfortable bed. There is a sound system you can plug your music into. A light breakfast is delivered to your entrance. You can order more or go to the restaurant. Everything is painted white giving a cool but romantic feel.

The restaurants are good but pricey. There are some restaurants you can walk to on the beach a bit cheaper or go into town (20 minutes). The town is touristy but low key - not like Cancun. But that's not why you are here. Good things to visit (Tulum, pyramid/temple, underground water caverns, diving).

The staff were warm and attentive. everyone smiles and they mean it. You are very pampered.

The beach is lovely and quiet with nice waves. Not very wide and you can walk a fair way to a couple of restaurants. Curious sunshade quasi cabins. Work well to keep sun off but are low and fixed so you are either in the sun or out. I wonder of a traditional rush umbrella would have been better but this set up did give you more privacy and full shelter from the sun.

We were part of a wedding group so had a good deal. But at the full price the maintenance missed being top notch. Little things but shouldn't happen; a stained sofa, path had a large hole just in the dark area outside our villa, polished stones missing in the terrace floor decoration in the main house, plunge pool area not maintained everyday. Nothing to spoil the visit but still.

That said, we had a wonderful stay and wished we could have stayed longer. Wonderful place for romance and relaxing.

Room Tip: Try closer to the hotel unless you want a real private pool and sunning area as opposed to a plunge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelesencia, Director General at Hotel Esencia, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear 1anon,

Thank you for your comments and sharing your experience. I note you were part of the wedding party and are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and found Esencia perfect for romancing and relaxing!

I have taken not of your observations and these are being addressed. I would like to take this opportunity to comment that over the following months we will be undertaking several projects enhancing facilities and services which I trust you will welcome in a future visit.

It is a pity you couldn't extend your stay this time but hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and you may pick up where you left off!

All the best and hasta pronto!

Philip VIDAL
Estate Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We've been fortunate to travel to many areas of the world and this was by far the best vacation we've ever been on! Absolute amazing, beautiful, relaxing, secluded paradise. The suite was lovely with so many amenities included in the rate. The service was perfect-attentive, friendly and very gracious in their hospitality. The food was wonderful-so fresh and amazing 3 meals a day. I could write a novel on how wonderful this vacation was if you're looking for peace, relaxation and a little pampering. Don't miss the spa-it was truly an experience well worth the splurge. We will definitely return next year!

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room on the property, but we stayed in "el secreto" an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelesencia, Director General at Hotel Esencia, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear jhsphilly,

Gracias. Thank you for your comments. We’re so happy to read that you found in Esencia Estate your paradise! Peace, relaxation and pampering is what we enjoy doing best and so glad you experienced our Aroma SPA where the combination of its unique ambiance and treatments are second to none!

We look forward to your return visit next year! Let us know the dates you wish to visit and we will gladly coordinate arrangements with you.

All the best and hasta pronto!

Philip VIDAL
Estate Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Esencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esencia

Address: Carretera Tulum-Cancun KM 265, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Esencia 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Esencia is a 50-acre private estate, with an awe-inspiring beachfront, two swimming pools, day spa, two restaurants, and an indulgent atmosphere fitting of royalty. In fact, the property and many of the buildings once served as the exclusive beach-side retreat of an Italian duchess. Though friendly, warm and generous, the duchess demands the very best and Esencia still benefits from her superior taste, her impeccable style and her zest for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Esencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esencia Playa Del Carmen
Esencia Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Esencia Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Esencia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.