We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet and delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Negroamaro Italian Bar & Restaurant

Negroamaro Italian Bar & Restaurant
5ta Av entre Calle 34 y 38, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 147 7050
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurante Italiano ubicado en la 5ta Avenida con horno de lena y productos importados directamente desde Italia.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gourmet and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We walked by the Negroamaro Restaurant. (The name comes from a red grape from Southern Italy) and we liked several items in the menu. Among them, the risotto with fungi and also risotto with shrimps. I decided to try the one with fungi and it is the best I have ever tried. My husband tried the gnocchi with eggplant, etc and that was excellent. For desert we shared a chocolate cake that I will call "Volcano with lava" accompanied by a delicious vanilla ice cream. Oh my God.... I want to try all this again. The staff was very nice and service is very very good!! The restaurant is centrally located on 5th ave. between 34 and 38 st. Thank you for a wonderful dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    33
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Best Italian value on 5th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Friends had recommended the Chef's appetizer platter and it was a delicious selection of mini starters for about $10. The fresh pasta was fine and I enjoyed the choice of the different flavored sauces available. We are going back tonight to try the pizza.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A great find on 5th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I will start by saying that for a restaurant on 5th the prices are fantastic. Based on the quality of food and service, it was a tremendous surprise. The bread starter was exceptional. We shared a margarita pizza, that was perfection. Exceptional crispy crust, with just the right amount of tomato sauce and cheese. We both agreed it is possibly the best pizza in Playa. We then shared the beef ravioli with a cream nut sauce. Beautiful rich flavour that I have never experienced before.

The chef and his staff are definitely doing it right, and hopefully they will continue to please, as we definitely will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian, excellent service, great ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Fantastic pizza from wood burning oven -- thin and crispy crust -- fresh ingredients. Excellent fresh salads. All pastas are house made, and the homemade beef ravioli was amazing. If you can't eat in Italy, eat here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow!! This place has it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I consider myself somewhat of a pizza connoisseur, working in several local pizza joints in the US and one traditional Italian family run Italian restaurant. Having said that, I've had all the "recommended" pizzas in my several stays for months at a time in Playa. This place, HAS THE BEST PIZZA, and not just in Playa. I mean, outside of Italia, this place has the best pizza. My wife had the Margarita (asked for a little well done) and I had the white truffle and mushroom. Both cooked to her and my perfection. Wood fired, crispy crust, perfect amount of sauce, and you pizza aficionados will understand this one; when the pizza cools, the slices actually separate without any extra cutting. Do you know how hard it is to cook a hand tossed pizza to perfection without the slices breaking off at the tip and not being the slightest gooy but not overdone? Trust me, it's hard. Both of these were perfect, tasty and the service (Paulo) was excellent. Will be returning next time we come to Playa.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Negroamaro Italian Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Negroamaro Italian Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Negroamaro Italian Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.