We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Macelleria - The Butcher Shop

La Macelleria - The Butcher Shop
5Av Esquina Calle 32, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+(52)9841490531
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #192 of 699 restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Pasta
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Monterrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a great meat restaurant. not the average around the 5th but a very very good meat specialty restaurant.
they have a great selection of wines also.
The meat came exaclty as i ask for. and the service is great.
Come and try it. it wont dissapoint you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    13
    3
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We ate here last night and as we are both restaurant managers back in the uk we can be quite hard to please, sort of comes with the territory. This place did not disappoint, the staff were great, the lady on the door was so friendly and our server pedro was excellent, had a clear knowledge of the food that he was serving and have some great recommendations. The ribeye steak was one of the best that I've had as was the creme brûlée. All in all a fantastic evening. I would highly reccomend it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I had dinner at this restaurant twice while in Playa del Carmen. The food and service was so great and attentive the first time we had dinner there that we returned a second time, and we were not disappointed.

Again, the service was exceptional and the food was delicious.

In addition, I mentioned to the waiter, in Spanish (so my husband would not understand), that it was my husband's birthday, and after we were all done with our dinner, he surprised my husband with a small cake, while the DJ played Happy Birthday in Spanish. That was a very nice touch, and greatly appreciated!

I would highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“That's a Hamburger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Tried their hamburger tonight. It was awesome, possibly one of the best I've had anywhere, let alone Playa. Some might think it steep at $150MN but don't let the price scare you. It comes fully loaded with ketchup, ground mustard and a jalapeno sauce on the side if you want to dress it up some more. It is served with 8 large wedgies fries lightly battered and spiced. This is not a hands on burger. It is served on a very hot iron platter that keeps everything warm through the whole meal. Once you get past that, get the steak knife they provide you and dig in. I'm not sure of the weight of the patty but the beef is top grade Kobe beef. A bit of overkill with the build up. They give you a plate of freshly made potato chips covered with grated parmesan along with a basket of focachia bread with the incumbent olive oil and balsamic vinegar. I think I had a couple of the potato chips.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We are always looking and finding new surprises here in Playa del Carmen. There is a constantly changing restaurant scene with great local and international choices. The is a stand out and will likely be around a long time. Great atmosphere and service. The meat is as fine as you will find.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Macelleria - The Butcher Shop also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Macelleria - The Butcher Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Macelleria - The Butcher Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.