We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Nostra

Casa Nostra
Calle Flamingos | esq. Calle 40 N, Playa del Carmen 77720, Mexico
984 873 09 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 736 restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Italian restaurant located next to the beach and few steps from famous “quinta avenida”. Exclusive atmosphere, ideal choice for relaxing and enjoying unforgettable meals under comfortable “palapa”. Traditional Italian food, hand made pasta, high-quality pizza, products made and wide range of Italian wines available. For groups and children.
Gibraltar
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Location & Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went here with friends who knew about the restaurant and we were not disappointed. The freshly caught Marlin was delicious as was the Rissotto. Only one of us got desert as we were pleasantly full but all four spoons were in the Tiramisu it was that good. We will definitely be returning to this restaurant. The great news is it's open 7 days from 1pm so if you fancy a nice leisurely lunch it's the place to go. Great location set one block back from the beach but so peaceful you can still here the ocean in the background. Whether you are a couple, with friends or family this is a great place to visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    30
    8
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We found this place while we were walking down the streets in Playa del Carmen. We saw it a night before we went, it looked really nice and great. And we were totally right. The service was great, the food was so good and the location it is so calm and nice. You can feel the beach close and all the great caribbean weather.
It was a pleasure to eat there.
Deffinetly a place to recommend and visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Great Food for Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were recently in Playa for two weeks. We rented a great condo just up the street from Casa Nostra. Compared to the restaurants on 5th Avenue, Casa Nostra served fare that far exceeded our expectations. If you're looking for fresh homemade pasta (that is perfectly 'el dente'), then look no further than Casa Nostra.

When we arrived, Luca (one of the owners) greeted us and looked after us for the whole evening. Their menu is straight and to the point (five choices for appetizers, 10 types of pastas, a few entrees, and about eight types of pizza toppings). BTW, the pizza is also authentic thin-crust and delicious. The other owner is the chef and sommelier, and his wine selection is great (i.e great value, with a smooth finish). We also tried their Tiramisu, and it was Awesome (and we don't usually care for Tiramisu elsewhere).

If you're looking for a change from mexican cuisine, we highly recommend Casa Nostra. We ate there twice during our visit, and will go there again on our next trip. The ambience is peaceful, with a soft hint of easy listening jazz in the background. Be sure to visit, and ask for Luca. He and his staff will take great care of you, and hopefully you'll love the food as much as we did.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Fresh made pasta and the presentation was beautiful. We went on the food recommendations from the owner and were not disappointed. Lovely atmosphere, great service and excellent food. Definitely a must do!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quaint and Personable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Small and nice to sit in the "cafe". The presentation of buffet and food worth talking about. Great price and health conscious menu. You really are 155 steps from the beach front. Its nice sitting outside and enjoy the ocean breeze.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Nostra also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Casa Nostra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Nostra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.