We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BY FAR THE BEST ITALIAN FOOD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aroma y Gusto

Aroma y Gusto
Calle 2 Nord, Playa del Carmen 77700, Mexico
+(52)19841064072
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #244 of 769 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Price range: $4 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Good food opportunity for breakfast lunch and dinner 10 meters away from the beach. Sea view all day long.
1 review
“BY FAR THE BEST ITALIAN FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

While vacationing in Mexico we happened to stumble upon this little place just a few steps from playa del Carmen. The food was fresh and simply delicious. My boyfriend had the mixed seafood and i had fettuccine and shrimp pasta. Probably the best Italian food outside of Italy. The owners are welcoming and super courteous. According to my boyfriend he will go back to Mexico just to eat from here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daniels, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Pastas in Playa del Carmen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very small and casual. Tranquile setting. Although the menu is small, the choices are more then adequate. We ate there as a family of 4. The service was very good. Thank you Daniela! The location is just by the beach. We sat outside (only choice) in the early night and the temperature was very comfortable with a nice breeze. We ate 4 different dishes. The food was very good. The pastas were perfectly cooked. Prices are very resonable. Be aware that they do not serve alcohol, as it is a new restaurant and they do not have a liquor license as of June 19, 2013.
We have eaten previously in Di Vino in 5th Avenue. By far, I prefer Aroma y Gusto. Your pocket will like it too!
I hope they are succesful as a new venture and hope to see them when we return next year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Like being back in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Our group of eight had a delightful authentic Italian meal that included complementary bruschetta, seafood pasta (spaghetti allo scoglio) and the seafood grill. The food was delicious! We thought we were back in Italy. The service was attentive and most helpful in handling the needs of a child with food allergies. We so enjoyed our meal and plan to return. As with other small local restaurants, only cash is accepted.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very good...!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Food excellent with very sympathic staff , the prices are very good too ;) located in front of the beach for a good italian moment i recommend Aroma y Gusto !

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
“Muy acogedor off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Feel like a small town café restaurante in Italy, best espresso in town not as pricy as in the 5th ave. The y offer good italian food as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma y Gusto also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Aroma y Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aroma y Gusto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.