We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Ka'kaw - CLOSED

Camino Ka'kaw
5th Ave. between 40 & 42nd Streets, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+(52)984 267 2686
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Independent gastronomic forum of chocolateria and author cuisine, based on the art, traditions and culture of Mexico. We strive to offer you a pleasant sensorial experience. Our cacao beans and chocolate is all natural, transformed in our kitchens into fabulous dishes such as Hibiscus Tostadas, Chocolate Mole Brownie in creamy coriander sauce, Chocolate Tamale with guava chutney, or homemade pastas like Cacao Fetuccini in almond pesto or Chocolate Vegetarian Lasagna. Salads of fresh local greens, spouts, fruits and nuts with a choice of extras and dressings like Creamy Habanero, Tamarind, Red wine and Chocolate infused with cardamom. Satisfaction guaranteed !
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Best restaurant in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Don't miss it! The stuff is really nice and the food, coffe and drinks are awesome! I come here every day for my morning coffee. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
2 reviews
“Local food with good prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The best options in Playa Del Carmen. If you want to try the real Mexican and traditional food, Camino Kakaw offers differents gourmet dishes with an extraordinary cacao touch. The prices are good... Don't miss it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“5th Avenida's Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is the best chocolate (cacao) cafe on 5th Avenue in Playa Del Carmen. Everything on the menu is delicious and interesting to taste. You will definitely visit often because the staff is so welcoming and friendly. Its on a cozy corner with indoor or outdoor seating and also a bike stand. Their chocolate products like coffee, homemade granola, flavored chocolates, are great gift ideas to take home to family and friends. Its one of my favorite places on my holidays there. Guaranteed it will be the highlight of your trip too. Mucho Gracias to Camino Ka'kaw!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“AMAZING ECLECTIC chocolate inspired food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I have been to this place at least a dozen times and I've liked everything I've ordered. It's so unique and I'm not adventurous at all when it comes to food, but this place is outstanding, the flavors combined are so unique it wakes the palette and it's more than just eating it's a sensory experience. LOVE IT. Highly recommend!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply delicious, one of our favorite restaurants in Playa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Whether or not you are a chocolate fan, it is worth it! The tostadas made with hibiscus flowers should win an award, they are to die for! The salads are very well-portioned and the cacao fettucini is yummy! Try the mocha, real chocolate and real coffee=the best mocha I have had! It is a small, family run restaurant, so they are very friendly and you can tell they really put love into the dishes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camino Ka'kaw also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Ka'kaw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.