We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Veneno Vil - CLOSED

Veneno Vil
Av 5 btwn calle 38 and 40 | Playa Del Carmen Quintana-Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
9842673501
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Excellent Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I dined at Veneno Vil last night and we were impressed. There are many good to great restaurants in Playa, but it is rare to find a place as this that combines great service and exceptional food. Their attention to detail was refreshing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    4
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the cost”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have to say, my experience at Veneno Vil was the EXACT same as Hannicat’s below. I could not echo the words more.

I ate here at the end of April and was prepared for a world-class meal upon reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. Like many other reviewers, I have also eaten at some of the top restaurants in the world, namely in New York, Napa Valley, and Miami, and was looking forward to an amazing, unique culinary experience. Unfortunately, this restaurant fell far short of my expectations.

Ready to splurge on vacation, my boyfriend and I each tried the tasting menu with wine pairings (however, we almost felt pushed into this choice as we never felt that the decision was confirmed before the chef came out and said the meal was “starting”, but we were fine). As the meal progressed, we felt slighted when we found out that the “pairing” is not exactly a pairing- in fact there were only about 3 Mexican wines (none of which were good) provided throughout the meal.

The food presentation was also underscored by the dishes. It's apparent that a lot of time goes into the presentation, which I appreciated. At the same time, a lot of the same ingredients are rotated through the dishes, so I felt that I was getting many of the same flavors over and over again; certainly not what I anticipated for a meal that costs $150 per person. Not a single thing stood out in my mind as better/worse than anything else. I was looking forward to the duck tacos, however, when they came out, it was not a taco, but duck rolled in something fried (and not in a good way). My boyfriend and I both agreed that we honestly felt robbed when we left, given what we paid and what was actually served.

It is obvious that the chef is passionate about his restaurant and line of work. Both he and his waitstaff were also very attentive, my glass was filled with water at all times and each dish was explained thoroughly as it came out. I appreciated this aspect of the evening, and was unfortunately the only saving grace.

I understand that this restaurant heavily relies on reviews from TripAdvisor for future business, however, I could not allow myself to remain quiet after feeling tricked into making a reservation from reading the raving remarks of others. Please don't make the same mistake as me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Veneno Vil, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We very sorry that we did not comply with your expectations. We are a restaurant with an innovative proposal.
Where we created the satisfaction of many, with the recipes and the atmosphere that the place offers.

Thanks for the comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Exquisite food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

there is not much more I can say that has not been said. we ate at this restaurant last night. I spend two weeks of every month in New York and eat at a lot of the best restaurants. last week we ate at the new Jean George restaurant and Telepan, two top rated by Zagat and hard to get reservations. none were nearly as good as this.
I highly suggest the tasting menu it is the most imaginative and beautifully prepared meal that you could imagine or even dream of.
the owner chef cares so much about each and every dish as do his waiters, and they all only want to please. Reuben the owner will come out and explain each dish to you,he is a food genius.
I especially loved the grouper. do not come to Playa and miss out on the most wonderful service and food. it is amazing that this restaurant has only been open for 4 and a half months and is already number one on trip advisor, clearly for good reason. Reuben you and your staff work so hard and you deserve to be number one, we cannot wait to dine with you soon again, a meal to remember.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Owner at Veneno Vil, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Google Translation
En base al derecho de replica que ofrece este medio me permito comentar lo siguiente con mucho respeto:
Primero: En nuestra humilde opinion lo que no es gourmet, ni romantico y mucho menos sensual es cenar con coca cola, pero respetamos el sabio dicho: del que el cliente siempre tiene la razon.
Segundo: Los productos y cantidades que ofrecemos son justas de acuerdo a los estandares de calidad de cualquier restaurante del mundo y le recuerdo que despues de recibir en cortesia 2 margaritas de mango y entradas sin costo, esto acorde a la bienvenida que damos a todos nuestros clientes usted ordeno de nuestro menú en el cual claramente estan señalados los precios, un pozole de cangrejo, una sopa de camaron, un salmon y camarones como plato principal, estos productos insisto no son económicos dada su calidad y presentación, es decir pagar una cuenta de $805 pesos para 2 personas no esta fuera del rango normal en Playa del Carmen.
Sin embargo respetamos que no haya sido de su agrado el concepto, las recetas y los sabores de nuestros platillos, nos queda claro que para gustos existen personas diferentes.
Si repite su visita a Playa del Carmen mucho le recomendamos ubicar lugares que sirven alimentos en proporciones mayores y a precios económicos.
Es una pena sincera para nosotros el que no nos vuelva a visitar, situación obvia por su comentario ya que somos un restaurante mexicano que mucho respeta y aprecia a clientes de todo el mundo, pero principalmente a los de nuestro propio pais.

Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Veneno Vil is an excellent place. The food was delicious, original with a lot of flavors,
Me and my friends were hesitating between two dishes on the menu, so the chief offered us to select both and split the course in each plates. The service was also exceptional.
I recommend greatly to try this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoyo68, Public Relations Manager at Veneno Vil, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
The variety of dishes and flavors inVeneno Vil makes our guests want to try every one of what our Chef. Ruben has on the menu.

Thanks for your comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excelente!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Chef Reuben helped us choose our selection for the evening. It was a quiet evening. He had nice entertainment for us also which was excellent. The restaurant is very small but your experience is big! Great appetizers and main course also. Soft crab appetizer, grouper and dessert. Nice wine selection also! Muy bien! Walk down to this restaurant and enjoy the romance and food experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veneno Vil also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veneno Vil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;