We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uneven ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mar de las Pampas - Asador de Campo

Mar de las Pampas - Asador de Campo
5ta Avenida y Calle 34 | Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 803 0765
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 768 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Argentinean, Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Rekindle with our Argentine Pampa wilderness combined with the freshness of the Caribbean Sea.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Uneven ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We are there with 2 other couples. My food-- grilled fish with rice-- was tasteless. Others found their food reasonably good. There are better places in Playa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lgaxiola, Public Relations Manager at Mar de las Pampas - Asador de Campo, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
highway-blues thank you for your review. We take out clients comments very seriously and are constantly working in improving our service and menu. We hope you come back to Mi Pueblo Parrilla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    18
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun with good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Right on the main drag in Playa Mi Pueblo is a great place for people watching, getting serenaded by wandering musicians and eating some good food; the conchinita pibil tacos and bacon wrapped shrimp were especially good. Really busy, but the bustle is part of it all; for fun tourist cheesiness get your picture taken and for $20 have it in a goofy Mi Pueblo frame or as the label for a flask of tequilla!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not that great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Four of us stopped at Mi Pueblo as we were looking for good Mexican food. It was a beautiful night and sitting outside was enjoyable. If they could keep the sellers of Mexican goods away from the tables, it would be better. The food was OK. My wife and I each had a mocajete, like a fajita but served in a mocajete dish with a warm sauce or gravy. Placed on small tortillas, these were much like a fajita. The meat was OK, but the shrimp were very good. We went away satisfied, but not enthralled with this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lgaxiola, Public Relations Manager at Mar de las Pampas - Asador de Campo, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Palmdesertdog thank you for visiting Mi Pueblo Parrilla and tanking our time to write your review. We appreciate your comments and address them. We hope you come back and visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Food was really below par, either it was just badly cooked or the meat tasted genuinely wrong. I really wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. The service was polite and efficient, which merits the 1 star, otherwise would be 0. Turned out to be a very expensive and very poor meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lgaxiola, Public Relations Manager at Mar de las Pampas - Asador de Campo, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Stephen we appreciate your review. We are constantly working to improving our service, atmosphere and menu to better serve our clients. We have grown and take very seriously your review and will address it so it does not happen again. Our doors are always open and would love to have you back at Mi Pueblo Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Chris I”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Excellent authentic Mexican cuisine when in Mexico.

My girlfriend and I enjoyed the food, atmosphere and service. We enjoyed it so much the first time, we returned the following night for dinner.

Our server Caesar was very helpful and knowledgable in their menu as well as his English. We had the privilege of his services both meals.

I would highly recommend this place if you enjoy tasty Mexican cuisine. Moderately priced, not overly expensive. Portions are pretty decent. But well worth the price and experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mar de las Pampas - Asador de Campo also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Mar de las Pampas - Asador de Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar de las Pampas - Asador de Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.