We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, quiet, wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Violet Cafe Lounge & Bar

The Violet Cafe Lounge & Bar
Calle 10 Entre Avenida 10 y 15, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 120 8784
Improve this listing
Ranked #214 of 825 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $90 - $210
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: The Violet Cafe Lounge & Bar in Playa del Carmen is a popular spot for those who want to try traditional Mediterranean dishes with a hint of Italian influence. They serve a great variety of seafood such as calamari, prawns and delicious lobster with pasta. The freshly prepared homemade pastas, pizzas and salads are a must whilst dining here and it is highly recommended to taste a wine from the extensive wine list. The owners are Italian themselves so they definitely make sure to use authentic recipes from back home.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic, quiet, wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great little place tucked away off the beaten path. Had the pizza. Was excellent. Service was top notch. Reasonably priced. Look forward to returning this trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    2
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Go Go Go! Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This retaurant was recently bought by a cute young italian couple, who now orchestra it personally. Beyond their great service, the pasta dish i orderd was made exactly as should, a surprising statement to make about a place in Playa. I recommend visitng this place for a great experience that flatters the good food. Dont miss the bruschetta for starters!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out for excellent pasta and salads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The colors are what first attracted us: cream and violet, something different, something soothing. The creative menu and the warmth of the staff kept us. And the food will bring us back. The owners explained that they "escaped" from Italy (Sicily and Puglia), and I hope that diners find them, they are creating some fine dishes. The lounge salad was sooo delicious: avocado slices, romaine, corn, carrot, and goat cheese with a honey dressing. We also enjoyed the penne with gorgonzola and pecans. Everything fast and fresh and definitely tastier (and cheaper) than the always-packed 5th avenue Italian restaurants. Good Italian wines too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“VIOLET CAFé in Playa del Carmen..FABULOUS!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I read about Violet Café in Playa del Carmen and I definetely recommend to all people looking for nice cocktails, delicious cooking and amazing atmosphere!! Nice place, informal chic, cool people and good prices (little drunk at the end ;) .. at only 50mt from the wellknown traveller s 5th avenue, you can find very nice, cosy and cheaper locals..many different delicious specialities to do not definetely miss!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We were going to the Coffee Shop, but it was closed. Violet Cafe was close and open, so we went there. I am so glad we did. We ordered lemonade, cappuccinos, a croissant with Nutella for the kids and shared a focaccia sandwich, on recommendation of our server. Amazing! The service was great, and fast. I look forward to returning for supper.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Violet Cafe Lounge & Bar also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to The Violet Cafe Lounge & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Violet Cafe Lounge & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.