We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best tuna toast (tostadas de atun fresco)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Penita de Jaltemba

La Penita de Jaltemba
30 entre 5ta y 1era Av, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
9848034210
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: "La Peñita de Jaltemba" is a seafood restaurant/bar its name is inspired in a beach of the nayarit riviera, it offers fresh seafood. Prepared to fulfill the most demanding palates, our menu has a wide variety of options for our clients, even for those who don't eat seafood.Don't forget to try one of our exotic cocktails on our menu.We are located in one of the hottest places to hang in playa del carmen for locals and tourists.
monterrey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“best tuna toast (tostadas de atun fresco)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

nice place, not expensive, not inexpensive, delicious seafood tacos.
The DJ music is excellent........

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ale A, Public Relations Manager at La Penita de Jaltemba, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
hope to have you here again enjoying our food and music... cheers!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    20
    3
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very good but turn down the tunes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Food and service was very good. We were a large group (10 people) and all was smooth! The food was very tasty. The fish soup and shrimp soups were great. The Peruvian Ceviche was delicious... Everyone's meal was anywhere from very good to excellent! The only complaint is that they played 'House Techno music' and it was a little too loud. The crowd was a typical mix of age and the music was very annoying. It also seemed to create an environment of chaos. If they turn it down then this place is a must visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ale A, Public Relations Manager at La Penita de Jaltemba, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
we appreciate your review... we will work on the volume of the music, hope to see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing meal and fabulous ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We walked by this place late last night and it was packed, so we decided to try it for dinner today. Needless to say it was also packed tonight and we can happily say we were indeed were impressed!

They brought a few salsas and chips to the table - all were great and had a little kick but nothing too crazy (except the habanero sauce which you'd expect to be). It was hard to choose from such an extensive and delicious-looking seafood menu but we settled on a fried shrimp "cracklings" appetizer, jalapeños wrapped in bacon and stuffed with shrimp and cream cheese, and a whole petite grilled octopus. All came out looking very fancy if that kind of thing matters to you. The food was seasoned and prepared to perfection. I have never had a whole octopus like that before; it was outstanding and not rubbery in the least.

The atmosphere was really great, too. Nice outdoor seating on a quieter street with very attentive and pleasant servers. All in all one of the best meals we've had for the price which was around $32USD before tip. If you don't like seafood this may not be the place for you since that was pretty much all they had besides a steak or two near the bottom of the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ale A, Public Relations Manager at La Penita de Jaltemba, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
great to hear you love it!!! hope to see you soon!!

follow us on twitter @LPJaltemba
FaceBook La Peñita de Jaltemba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Penita de Jaltemba also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Penita de Jaltemba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Penita de Jaltemba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.