We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gautama

Gautama
Av Benito Juarez | Av Juarez entre 5ta y Playa-Beach, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
9848730066
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 833 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican, Asian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: "DE FACIL EJECUCION SON LAS COSAS NOCIVAS Y DAÑINAS. LO BUENO Y BENEFICIOSO ES VERDADERAMENTE DIFICIL DE HACER"BUDDHA.Esta gran sabiduria la utilizamos para crear este nuevo gran concepto en Playa del Carmen llamado......GAUTAMA
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good meal ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Just had a great meal and beers well priced no hassle and peaceful and 80s tunes good place tp go in yhe square near the mayan pole dancing

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    11
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap beer, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We arrived at the ferry dock to go back to Coz after a great day on the beaches of Akumal to find we had to wait 1 hr 50 min for the next ferry. I spotted the sign that read 4 beers for $hr8.00! This was half the price if a drink at Senor frogs.... We also tried the Tuna tostados and they were
great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good vegan and gluten-free options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Don't miss the hibiscus tortillas. Lots of nice options. This place is right in the touristy area, south at the end of the tourist area of 5th Ave, slightly to the left at the plaza, but the menu is unique and the food is quite tasty.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
“Excellent food! Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This was the best meal we had on vacation. The staff and owner were very friendly - great service all around.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Surprising find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

After several days of Italian! steak and seafood we were in the mood for some asian food. The green curry was pretty good. although it was a little soupy, the flavor was excellent. The rice was a little crunchy but Not bad. The thai soup was outstanding, as were the Spring rolls. These were the high point of the meal and as good as I have ahead at any Thai restaurant. The menu is an interesting mix of asian fusion, and there is actually a Mexican portion of the me u which we did not try. I would not recommend the fried rice as it is too slaty, but overall this restaurant is quite good, and the waiter, who is originally from Mexico City was superb.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gautama also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Gautama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gautama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.