We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coba Mayan Village

Coba Mayan Village
Playa del carmen, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 803 8870
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Ancient Ruins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Tour Riviera Maya
Victoria Harbour, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A little bit of everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My daughter and I took this full day excursion on June 12, 2013. Our guide was Carlos and he was awesome. Very funny and knowledgeable. They took us first to the ruins of Coba. It is a huge park, but you rent bicyles (Mexican limos) for $15.00 US and it comes with the driver, so you just sit and relax and take in the scenery. Those who want to experience climbing an ancient pyramid/ruin need to do it soon, as the ruins will be closed to the public for climbing very soon. A professional English speaking tour guide was provided for our time in the park, and he was very informative about the ancient Mayan people and their culture. We spent about two and a half hours at Coba, then we were taken to a small village for lunch (chicken, rice, veggies, burritos, spaghetti!) We met a family there, the woman had 13 children and all the young ones were still living there in these little huts (in that incredible heat I saw one decrepit old fan in the cooking area and that was it) The kids were really adorable and hammed it up for pictures with us. I brought candy so of course they swarmed me, but our guide Carlos said don't give them too much because of all the sugar and they don't go to dentists. He suggested giving the bag of candy to the mamasita and let her dole it out to the kids, so that's what I did. She took them with a big toothy smile and thanked me in Mayan. After we left the village, they took us to a beautiful secluded REFRESHING cenote for a much needed swim (it was SO hot). We were there about 45 mins then everyone was ready to go. We also stopped at a little out of the way place for a bit of shopping and the prices weren't bad at all. Very leisurely and no one bothered you while you browsed. We were returned to our hotel by 5:30-6:00 pm. It was a fun, informative day and I would recommend it. Make sure to bring insect repellant on this trip. Coba is in the jungle and there are mosquitos.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    718
    316
    69
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very cultural”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just got back today from a week in Cancun. We took the trip to Coba and the Mayan village, worth every $ that we paid, no more to pay after you book as all entrance fees are covered. If you do decide to go on this trip take some colour pencils, colouring books or other such like things for the children you will meet in the village. A really good trip, going in to the jungle to see the biggest pyramid in the area and deff take the 'Mayan Taxi' a two seater bike taxi peddled for you for a 100 Peso, walk in there as it is a long 6 mile round trip in very hot weather, not for anyone other than the ultra fit! The lunch provided in the village was great and to fin the day a swim in a sink hole in the jungle. The guide was great and we were a small group of 7 so we had every chance to have questions answered. Water provided but recommend you take a further bottle with you. Deff recommend this trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“a great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

All of it was very interesting and informative. Our guide was superb. Take the tricycles to Coba as it's uncomfortable to walk in the heat- doesn't cost much.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“a great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

fantastic amazing day out loved walking up the pyramid at coba which will not be allowed soon so olease visit quickly

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Do Climb the Pyramid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Not so exploited as Chichen Itza and you can climb the pyramid (117 steps) where you get a great view.

I wouldn't take the "bike taxies", the walk is not that long.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coba Mayan Village also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Coba Mayan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coba Mayan Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.