We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cultural” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coba Mayan Village

Coba Mayan Village
Playa del carmen, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
984 8038870
Website
Update attraction details
Type: Ancient Ruins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Tour Riviera Maya
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very cultural”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just got back today from a week in Cancun. We took the trip to Coba and the Mayan village, worth every $ that we paid, no more to pay after you book as all entrance fees are covered. If you do decide to go on this trip take some colour pencils, colouring books or other such like things for the children you will meet in the village. A really good trip, going in to the jungle to see the biggest pyramid in the area and deff take the 'Mayan Taxi' a two seater bike taxi peddled for you for a 100 Peso, walk in there as it is a long 6 mile round trip in very hot weather, not for anyone other than the ultra fit! The lunch provided in the village was great and to fin the day a swim in a sink hole in the jungle. The guide was great and we were a small group of 7 so we had every chance to have questions answered. Water provided but recommend you take a further bottle with you. Deff recommend this trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    211
    43
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warrington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“a great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

All of it was very interesting and informative. Our guide was superb. Take the tricycles to Coba as it's uncomfortable to walk in the heat- doesn't cost much.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

fantastic amazing day out loved walking up the pyramid at coba which will not be allowed soon so olease visit quickly

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Do Climb the Pyramid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Not so exploited as Chichen Itza and you can climb the pyramid (117 steps) where you get a great view.

I wouldn't take the "bike taxies", the walk is not that long.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Climb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We rode bikes with our guide Daniel to the main temple at Coba. Most of the group climed to the top. I made it over 3/4 of the way which is a big accomplishment for this fear of heights gal! This is the last year that Coba will be open to climb, so if you are in the area it is worth the trip!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coba Mayan Village also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Coba Mayan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coba Mayan Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.