We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cultural” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coba Mayan Village

Coba Mayan Village
Playa del carmen, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 803 8870
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Ancient Ruins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Tour Riviera Maya
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very cultural”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just got back today from a week in Cancun. We took the trip to Coba and the Mayan village, worth every $ that we paid, no more to pay after you book as all entrance fees are covered. If you do decide to go on this trip take some colour pencils, colouring books or other such like things for the children you will meet in the village. A really good trip, going in to the jungle to see the biggest pyramid in the area and deff take the 'Mayan Taxi' a two seater bike taxi peddled for you for a 100 Peso, walk in there as it is a long 6 mile round trip in very hot weather, not for anyone other than the ultra fit! The lunch provided in the village was great and to fin the day a swim in a sink hole in the jungle. The guide was great and we were a small group of 7 so we had every chance to have questions answered. Water provided but recommend you take a further bottle with you. Deff recommend this trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    297
    66
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warrington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“a great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

All of it was very interesting and informative. Our guide was superb. Take the tricycles to Coba as it's uncomfortable to walk in the heat- doesn't cost much.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“a great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

fantastic amazing day out loved walking up the pyramid at coba which will not be allowed soon so olease visit quickly

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Do Climb the Pyramid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Not so exploited as Chichen Itza and you can climb the pyramid (117 steps) where you get a great view.

I wouldn't take the "bike taxies", the walk is not that long.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Climb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We rode bikes with our guide Daniel to the main temple at Coba. Most of the group climed to the top. I made it over 3/4 of the way which is a big accomplishment for this fear of heights gal! This is the last year that Coba will be open to climb, so if you are in the area it is worth the trip!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coba Mayan Village also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Coba Mayan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coba Mayan Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.