We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel with activities and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yak

Save Saved
You added The Yak to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Yak
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Calle 10 Norte Bis, Entere Av. 10 y Av. 15 | Lote #146, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hostel with activities and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I have been there in a private room for a couple of days. The rooms are nice and clean as expected. Private rooms and dorms have A/C. There is a big garden with chairs and tables to meet people. It's possible to buy drinks from the reception but you are also allowed to bring your own stuff. A simple breakfast is included.
The Hostel organizes daily activities like
- Movie night
- Go to local cinema
- Cenote
- Cook together and share Dinner
- etc.
The guide Angelo takes care that you will never be bored ;-). Have fun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    38
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
16
65
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I first "discovered" The Yak through a friend whom I visited there last year while she was travelling in Mexico. I instantly liked the relaxed, warm, hacienda feel of the place itself, so I sought out contact with the management. I kept in touch via email and returned this year as a guest. It sits right in the heart of town, no more than 6 minutes walk to either the beach, the bus station [direct to airport], the famous Avenida 12e for night clubbing, Avenida 5a for cafés, bars, shopping and the main grocery stores for food.

The big custom made bunks offer a comfortable nights sleep in the clean, spacious dorm rooms and the fully equipped private apartments/rooms make it very easy to feel at home away from home.

The atmosphere is super welcoming. The staff is very friendly and helpful in anything you want to know about the surrounding area. They organise weekly dinners and movie nights plus other activities and events that makes it fun and easy to meet other people in the already laid back, youthful, international crowd. Overall, it's a great place to stay and hard to leave.

From the delicious welcome cocktails to all the vacation conveniences, as far as hostels go, this spot is definitely the place to be when visiting Playa Del Carmen. Thanks a mill Yak, for a fantastic stay, I'll surely be back!

PS--Hayley (Australia) loved the hammocks in the courtyard!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hostel is in a great location in Playa, right in the middle of everything. The rooms are comfortable (good mattresses and pillows) and clean with all the ammenities you could need (air con, free wifi, kitchen etc). The staff are very friendly and helpful and organise fun trips and activities regularly. The atmosphere is really relaxed and friendly with great nightlife. Very good value for money, couldn't ask any more from a hostel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the yak in Playa del Carmen and I have had a great time.
The staff really invests its time in making the guests have a good time - almost every night there is some kind of activity - a movie, party, dinner. These kind of things really bring people together.

In addition, the hostel has 2 kitchens that are both very clean and fully equipped.
The mattresses are very comfortable, not like the ones you find in cheap hostels.

Overall, highly recommended , especially if you travel solo

Room Tip: 10 people room are kind of crowded.. try to avoid them
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

More or less this place ticks all the boxes for a great travellers and/or party hostel. The staff are helpful, well-informed and friendly, the dorms have air con, the beds are comfy, the toilets are well-equipped and clean, the internet (WiFi) is free and quite fast, and the breakfast is free although a little basic.

You make friends very easily here by simply hanging around in the central outdoor patio/bar. It is extremely refreshing and consumer-friendly to be allowed to drink your own alcohol in that area even when the bar was serving drinks.

The hostel offers several free activities, such as a movie night, and several extremely low cost tours (actually you pay nothing to the hostel and they take the budget options in terms of expenses to the lodgers) to locations you probably otherwise would not discover on your own. The staff are also very well informed about these areas making these trips a fantastic deal.

I made friends with people who also stayed in the private rooms which are located just outside the main complex, they had their own kitchen and en suite facilities and seemed to be extremely happy with the overall experience at the hostel.

Rather incidentally the large majority of hostel guests during my stay were from one specific country (it's unimportant where exactly), and as far as I could tell that situation is quite common for this place. At first I found this a little cliquey and some of the other guests I got to know actually changed hostel purely because of it. However, after a couple of days it became a non-issue for me.

Room Tip: If you have any problems with the room you get, just talk to reception. The staff will be more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My bf and I stayed in a private room w ensuite and had a good experience. The yak is a well done hostel- Cute central section where all times of the day you'll find some people to talk to (if you're so inclined) with a little bar where you can buy cheap (potent) drinks at night.
Our room was clean, with air con and a clean bathroom. Private rooms are only a few more $ than the dorms and are worth it.
The yak is a 10 second walk from coco bongo nightclub and thus the start of the club strip. Great location if you plan on heading out (we stayed in 1 night too and it wasnt noisy). Only about a 5 min walk down to the beach too.
There's a kitchen to cook your meals and walmart is conveniently at the end of the st. Breakfast is fine but not at all exciting. They do however plan some day activities which sounded good.
The yaks a great place to stay for cheap accom (for playa), to socialise and see playa. If your room has airconditioning i highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Check for air con!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Relatively clean, bathrooms probably could have been done more often in the dorm room. Breakfast is pants, even famished we didn't want it! What put us off slightly was that it was over run by Israelis who tended to not include us. Nevertheless we had a great time in playa - a combination of beach and party!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Yak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yak

Address: Calle 10 Norte Bis, Entere Av. 10 y Av. 15 | Lote #146, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Yak 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Yak is new in town, but we´re about to change the rules! With a combination of the best location and the best accommodations, it´s the only way to experience Playa del Carmen. LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!We are 50 meters from Coco Bongo and the street with the most popular clubs, 300 meters from the beach, and 2 blocks from Walmart. Our place is chill when you want privacy and also the best way to start the party! Tiki bar, rooftop terrace, grill, huge yard, hammocks, basketball, a stage for live shows and movie nights, 2 kitchens, luxury mattresses, A/C, and a soon-to-be pool... do we need to say more?The vibe only allows for fun people, so make sure you come ready to have a good time :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your The Yak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yak Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.