We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel I've ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Yak to your Saves list
The Yak
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Calle 10 Norte Bis, Entere Av. 10 y Av. 15 | Lote #146, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hostel I've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hostel is in a great location in Playa, right in the middle of everything. The rooms are comfortable (good mattresses and pillows) and clean with all the ammenities you could need (air con, free wifi, kitchen etc). The staff are very friendly and helpful and organise fun trips and activities regularly. The atmosphere is really relaxed and friendly with great nightlife. Very good value for money, couldn't ask any more from a hostel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PepperPotts26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the yak in Playa del Carmen and I have had a great time.
The staff really invests its time in making the guests have a good time - almost every night there is some kind of activity - a movie, party, dinner. These kind of things really bring people together.

In addition, the hostel has 2 kitchens that are both very clean and fully equipped.
The mattresses are very comfortable, not like the ones you find in cheap hostels.

Overall, highly recommended , especially if you travel solo

Room Tip: 10 people room are kind of crowded.. try to avoid them
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiorZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

More or less this place ticks all the boxes for a great travellers and/or party hostel. The staff are helpful, well-informed and friendly, the dorms have air con, the beds are comfy, the toilets are well-equipped and clean, the internet (WiFi) is free and quite fast, and the breakfast is free although a little basic.

You make friends very easily here by simply hanging around in the central outdoor patio/bar. It is extremely refreshing and consumer-friendly to be allowed to drink your own alcohol in that area even when the bar was serving drinks.

The hostel offers several free activities, such as a movie night, and several extremely low cost tours (actually you pay nothing to the hostel and they take the budget options in terms of expenses to the lodgers) to locations you probably otherwise would not discover on your own. The staff are also very well informed about these areas making these trips a fantastic deal.

I made friends with people who also stayed in the private rooms which are located just outside the main complex, they had their own kitchen and en suite facilities and seemed to be extremely happy with the overall experience at the hostel.

Rather incidentally the large majority of hostel guests during my stay were from one specific country (it's unimportant where exactly), and as far as I could tell that situation is quite common for this place. At first I found this a little cliquey and some of the other guests I got to know actually changed hostel purely because of it. However, after a couple of days it became a non-issue for me.

Room Tip: If you have any problems with the room you get, just talk to reception. The staff will be more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeasonedLuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My bf and I stayed in a private room w ensuite and had a good experience. The yak is a well done hostel- Cute central section where all times of the day you'll find some people to talk to (if you're so inclined) with a little bar where you can buy cheap (potent) drinks at night.
Our room was clean, with air con and a clean bathroom. Private rooms are only a few more $ than the dorms and are worth it.
The yak is a 10 second walk from coco bongo nightclub and thus the start of the club strip. Great location if you plan on heading out (we stayed in 1 night too and it wasnt noisy). Only about a 5 min walk down to the beach too.
There's a kitchen to cook your meals and walmart is conveniently at the end of the st. Breakfast is fine but not at all exciting. They do however plan some day activities which sounded good.
The yaks a great place to stay for cheap accom (for playa), to socialise and see playa. If your room has airconditioning i highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Check for air con!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Relatively clean, bathrooms probably could have been done more often in the dorm room. Breakfast is pants, even famished we didn't want it! What put us off slightly was that it was over run by Israelis who tended to not include us. Nevertheless we had a great time in playa - a combination of beach and party!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great prices with different room sizes to choose from. Great location near the clubs, restaurants & beach. Great facilities in and around the hostel clean rooms with air con & fans, descent beds, tv room, large kitchen, outdoor movie screen & fantastic outside bar area. Awesome staff that were friendly, helpful & tons of Fun!! Wish we found this place earlier!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms & beds are pretty new so they're all clean with descent matresses
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmpssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I've been staying in the hostel for more then 4 months!!! and its one of the best experiences i had in my life . its a great location close to everything . offers everything that you can need . and the people that work here are very helpful in anything you need. i warmly recommend to come here and enjoy !

Room Tip: all of the rooms are the very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ziv o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique
La Pasion Hotel Boutique
#12 of 203 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel and Condominiums Playa del Carmen Mexico
Acanto Boutique Hotel and Condom...
#6 of 203 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#37 of 203 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
#5 of 157 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Playa
Hostel Playa
#16 of 157 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#7 of 203 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 12,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yak

Address: Calle 10 Norte Bis, Entere Av. 10 y Av. 15 | Lote #146, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 157 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — The Yak 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"There are no strangers here, only friends we haven't met." That's the vibe you can expect when entering the perfectly shaded, outdoor courtyard at The Yak. With a combination of the best location, great accommodations, a friendly staff, and lots of awesome things to do-you can't miss out on The Yak. Located right in the center of Playa, The Yak is close to everything: 5th Avenue (known for its restaurants and shops), grocery stores like Wal-Mart, 12th Street with all of the bars and nightclubs, and, of course, the beach-but many people pass the day in the hostel lying in the hammocks or chilling on the rooftop terrace. In The Yak's courtyard, you will find a 24-hour reception with lots of staff members who are always available to answer your questions, a cool bar with cheap prices, and a café where you can order paninis and coffee. The Yak was created for travelers, by travelers-so it's more than just a place to sleep, we try to keep it fun! We have different activities everyday including movie nights, tours to Cenotes, our famous Mojito Lesson, and many more! For those looking to explore the Mayan ruins, we can reserve additional excursions. The Yak has two communal kitchens, bright/airy dorms, and private rooms with kitchenettes, so there is an option to suit every budget. Many people plan to stay for a few days and end up staying for weeks. You're guaranteed to leave The Yak with new friends and fond memories, so come be a part of The Yak Family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Yak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yak Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing