We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Yak

Save Saved
You added The Yak to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Yak
Calle 10 Norte Bis, Entere Av. 10 y Av. 15 | Lote #146, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Great value for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms.
Lots of space in the doorms air conditioning in every room and private bathroom.
To awesome bars in the place.
We had I bit of a problem and thw manager was very nice and help us in a hurry.
Very close to all of the partys (a minute from the coco bongo)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    21
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
9
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We came to the yak the maneger was very nice and kind all the staff ad well.
The rooms was very good .
It's very nice place to be in, good music good bar .
The location is perfect cuple of minut from the center of playa , and from the sea.
Great great hostel very recomended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the yak with a friend, we accidentally booked a private room that had only one bed (we did not like the idea of sharing), when I spoke to the manager he immediately offered to being up an extra mattress. He didn't charge for it either.
The room was really big, with a kitchen (including a fridge) and a good sized bathroom. The bed was a large double and there was enough room for the extra mattress.
The common areas of the hostel were good for hanging out and meeting new people.
I can't comment properly on breakfast as I always missed out due to being hung over.

If I have any reason to go back to Playa I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I had a good time at the yak. I moved on to a private room through my language course and found myself wishing I had stayed. There is a bar in the outside common area, but they still let me drink my own beers. Good stuff. The mattresses are comfortable and new. The lockers could be more secure and there could be more power outlets in the dorm. But this is minor. I would gladly return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I don't want to repeat everything mentioned allready in other comments, but point out MY personal highlights.
First, every day from 8 to 9 pm there is a open bar for FOURTY Pesos. Unbelievable cheap and brings the hole hostel together in a wonderful garden with (live) Musik, Shishas and hammers.
The community kitchens(2) are very well stuffed and are awesome for cooking with a hole bunch of people(that's what we did).
The rooftop Terrasse is very nice for an late evening chat or a book.
Last I want to mention, it IS loud in Playa, but the hostel really keeps the noise down after 12,so they can't be blamed. The nice from the coco bongo really goes on your nerves, though.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

First let me point out that the staff here were overly accommodating and genuinely interested in feedback and making sure they provided good service. They are a new hostel and are really trying to get up to scratch, and doing a reasonable job. We had a few issues but let me start with the positives. The location is great, just a few blocks back from the pedestrianised Avenida 5. It's also close to a Wallmart and plenty of places to buy food. The main communal area garden is awesome. Plenty of hammocks, a really nice chilled out vibe and plenty of shady trees. They staff organised a singer/guitarist for one of the nights we were there and he was an amazing talent. A really intimate show and a highlight of our stay in Playa.

We booked one of the apartments through Hostelworld, and these apartments are outside the main compound with a street frontage, meaning you have to 'buzzed' through the main gate if you want to enter the main area. The description of the apartment says there is a 'private balcony'. Not the case in our situation. The apartment is advertised to include a cook-top, which leads one to believe you could cook in the room however this translates to a sink, and a non-functioning gas camper cook-top. There were barely any utensils and no microwave (as originally advertised). There is a general-purpose kitchen for everyone to use in the main compound. The television is loosely tuned to local channels, a total of 3, so is next to useless for non-fluent in Spanish.

Also we had to ask repeatedly for our bathroom to be cleaned. Typically in Latin America, toilet paper is not flushed so it's important the bin is cleared. We had to ask for this to happen when it had not been done by Day 3.

As mentioned, staff took this feedback on board however bear some of these discrepancies in mind if you book through hostelworld.com as I don't feel the apartments are still accurately described despite staff saying at the time they would endeavor to get the descriptions updated. Shame, this place could be really awesome with the right expectations set.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at The Yak for four nights and were very happy with our stay. We had a private room which was large and comfortable. The cheap snorkel rental and drinking water were definitly a plus as was the shady outdoor common area and great local food right next door (try the burritos next to Los Quakas!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Yak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yak

Also Known As:
The Yak Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
Address: Calle 10 Norte Bis, Entere Av. 10 y Av. 15 | Lote #146, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 102 Specialty lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Yak is new in town, but we´re about to change the rules! With a combination of the best location and the best accommodations, it´s the only way to experience Playa del Carmen. LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!We are 50 meters from Coco Bongo and the street with the most popular clubs, 300 meters from the beach, and 2 blocks from Walmart. Our place is chill when you want privacy and also the best way to start the party! Tiki bar, rooftop terrace, grill, huge yard, hammocks, basketball, a stage for live shows and movie nights, 2 kitchens, luxury mattresses, A/C, and a soon-to-be pool... do we need to say more?The vibe only allows for fun people, so make sure you come ready to have a good time :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Yak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.