We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware what is on offer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real

Save Saved
You added Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Chichen Itza Ret. 3 Lotes 12 y 13, Villas Pakal, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 197 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“beware what is on offer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We agree with rest that this place is quiet, clean and hospitable, but ...
they said they couldn't give us a TV, despite there being 2 TV stands in our spacious suite, nor could they give us a coffe maker or kettle despite the claim of a fully functional kitchenette. Wouldn't have mattered much as there was no gas for the very dirty, but new stainless gas stove. The equally new and equally disgusting stainless fridge at least worked and was a place to keep bottled water cool, once we had asked. then begged for our daily allotment of 1 bottle daily. It was also surprisingly difficult to get fresh towels unless we made a fuss at the front desk,
We travel alot and really appreciate the quiet and spacious grace of this place. It really is no hardship to walk 15-20 minutes to 5th Ave. But this place seems to be slipping based on the reviews we have read; it certainly doesn't hold up to the service standard others have described.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    142
    39
    23
    29
See reviews for
81
165
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We only stayed here for 3 days but for the most part a very nice experience. The staff was all very nice and helpful. The full breakfast in the morning was a nice bonus and never too busy. The pool was nice and got little use in fact after dinner we would usually be the only ones there. Past reviews have said it was a 15 minute walk to downtown but we're fairly quick walkers and it was 25 for us which is still not bad, it is a nice walk. We always took a cab home after a day at the beach for 70 peso's. The beach club is at Indigo Beach Club close to the Blue Parrot, this was available only after 10:30 though we were allowed in at 10:00 the first day which was a good thing cause it filled up quickly after that. The only problem was the rooms are not very soundproof at all, the people next door or in the hallways would be speaking in a normal voice and could be heard like they were in the same room, luckily we had good neighbours. I asked the front desk about this and he agreed it is sometimes a problem but most rooms were the same so no use in changing, also we found the beds very hard even for Mexico, overall I would still recomend this hotel and would stay again but would try and stay poolside

Room Tip: Poolside room would be a nice option
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This place is a perfect get away... Romantic as hell and quiet. Not a place for kids, 20 minute walk or a taxi for $7.00...... Super clean, safe!!!!! and great staff..... Not one complaint, it was amazing..... Not the center of action, so if you want to party till 4 stay downtown. Class and beauty.. Stay here.... We had a suite and it was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YES! BOOK THIS PLACE.

Room Tip: Suite is worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

The hotel accomodation, staff and food was excellent. The only problem was the distance to town. If they sprung for a shuttle bus, it would have be perfect. (I do a lot of walking, but it's the heat that kills you). However, the walk is safe winding through a high end, gated residential area and golf course. I recommend a taxi in the evening back to the hotel, 70 pesos.

Room Tip: ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I booked this hotel sight unseen via Lastminutetravel.com 10 days before my trip. I was looking to get away solo to do some relaxing and resting. I wanted a well priced property that was central to attractions in town. I did not want an all inclusive and was not concerned with being beachfront.
The hotel exceeded my expectations by far. As i checked in, I was given a small ground floor interior room with no outdoor space. I was very disappointed and returned to the front desk to ask for a change of rooms. They apologized and offered to move me to a larger room with private outdoor space right away. The updrade was free. I was given a 2000 square foot suite complete with a living room, dining room, full kitchen, washer and dryer, and 2 BR/2baths. The room faced the golf course. There were 2 patios and best of all, a small but private pool.
The service at the hotel was top notch and a delicious buffet breakfast was included.
Here are some additional pluses and minuses.
+ $6 taxi ride to town
+totally secure with excellent security--2checkpoints
+free wireless
+International guests
+No kids -- quiet and relaxing
- Restaurant only open for breakfast and lunch
-No store onsite
-Spa was closed
-Jacuzzi was broken

Room Tip: Ask for a room with outdoor space. If you are not happy, as for an upgarde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We needed a place for only one night before heading down to the southern tip of Quintana Roo and after much internet searching chose the Hacienda Vista Real. We were not disappointed at all apart from the fact that we could only stay one night.The resort itself had Mayan features in the design itself and the flooring and walls and being in Mexico was exactly what we wanted to see. The spa (which was not open at the time of our stay so we cannot review it) was located in a Mayan Temple replica. The room we had was elegantly decorated, the potpourri sprinkled on the bedspread gave the impression that the staff went the extra mile to make sure you felt like your stay, however long, was special. All the workers we met were very cordial and helpful. Our complimentary breakfast next morning consisted of fruits, cereals and any type of cooked eggs you desired, all of which was most delicious. The building and grounds were clean, attractive and the turtles in the pond were fascinating to watch.
We later met a couple who had stayed one night at the Holiday Inn in Playa Del Carmen and paid more than we had for a much less desirable location. We wondered why anyone in their right mind would go to Mexico and stay at a Holiday Inn when they could experience something like the Hacienda Vista! It was so peaceful and tranquil there it was hard to remember you were in a town.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

The staff here were very helpful and friendly, esp Nancy at the front desk! She went beyond for me. The included breakfast buffet is good...better then a continental breaky but no huevos! And if you are going on an excursion for the day they won't make you an early boxed lunch which means you miss breakfast as it doesn't start until 730 am.

The hotel is a 20 min walk from town and from the beach. If you are looking for something quiet and relaxing or if you're going to golf this would suit you fine. For people looking for a bit more excitement and energy it's kinda slow. The hotel feels abandoned as no one uses the pool! The pool bar is NEVER open and there is no food available for guests anytime after breaky.

You can ask for a coffee maker for your room but you are not allowed to take coffee or tea from the buffet and nothing is available in the lobby.

My room was big and just off the pool with its own patio which was nice, however....bugs!!! These little garden bugs were all over my room and I ended up with bites all over my wrists, ankles and yes even on my forehead! Not good.

There was no hot water. Housekeeping didn't replenish my towels. And phone calls, even to local numbers are VERY expensive! I learned this the hard way.

Not the best place for a solo traveler. Id recommend it for couples or big groups but apart from that there isn't anything going on here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real

Address: Paseo Chichen Itza Ret. 3 Lotes 12 y 13, Villas Pakal, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#98 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself in breathtaking villas. Experience a vacation like no other where paradise is not a destination, but your vacation lifestyle. Set a precedent for your vacations with Hacienda Vista Real. It has 73 luxurious villas with an incomparable view of the amazing golf course All villas in this hotel are finely furnished and decorated. Each villa offers a fully equipped kitchen, Jacuzzi, central air conditioning, satellite TV and telephone. Finishing details tastefully combine wood, marble and granite, creating an irresistible atmosphere of tranquility and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Prestigia, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.