We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Kan Balam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Kan Balam to your Saves list
Casa Kan Balam
Calle 17 Sur Ent 70 y 75, Playa del Carmen 77712, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a great time a Casa Kan Balam. It's tucked away in a nice spot and walking distance to some great restaurants including a very good place for paella. We ended up there twice for dinner. The decor was incredible, I took lots of pictures for home furnishing ideas. The hospitatlity was great and the breakfast included could not have been better. All in all, a great find!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

A very nice room, VERY beautifully decorated and comfortable. A taxi ride out of the centre and hard to find at first. Breakfast was great and the host was very friendly and helpful. Only problem was that because the bathroom isn't completely closed, mosquitos had free entry to the room and I got a lot of mosquito bites.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had nice stay. The room was very nice, breakfast was also very very good. Annick was very friendly with us and his recommandations for restaurants were great. The location is out of the tourist area but not very far from the centre and the beach of Playa Del Carmen. I highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicaragua
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a lovely sty at Casa Kan Balam. The rooms are gorgeous and it was a lovely oasis to retreat to from the busy beach front of Playa. The owner recommended some lovely places to eat and the breakfasts they provide were delicious! Absolutely loved the outdoor rain shower (totally private too, in case you're worried!) Whilst not in the centre we managed fine on foot (you can always take a taxi or hire a bicycle if needed) and we preferred not being in the centre as it was nice and quiet. The gardens are lovely.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Annik, we love you!
Thank you for all that you did for us!
Location - far from the sea, but we rented a car, so it was all good! The rooms are very beautiful and unusual! We recommend this hotel.
thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at Casa Kan Balam in 2011 while we were travelling around South & central America. We came to Playa del Carmen to do some cavern diving and were used to staying in pretty down-market cheap accomodation to save money on our long trip. So we were wonderfully surprised to find a beautifully decorated room, with a wet room that looked out on to a gorgeous internal garden and huge comfortable beds. We were even more shocked when we were served the best breakfast ever, 4 courses of homemade deliciousness courtesy of the French owner. She even managed to accomodate my gluten-free requirements, which had not been easy to explain in other places we stayed. Casa Kan Balam was amazing value for money and an unexpected bit of luxury on our extended travels. We still talk now about how lovely it was! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We spent a few days in January 2013 at Casa Kan Balam, and we incredibly loved it! The property is amazing. Once you're past the main gate, you are transported both in time and space into a tropical/rustic paradise: there are two suites in the house, each with a private entry once you're inside the main gate. The decor of the suites is elaborate and very tasteful. Each suite also has a small garden with a table and chairs where Annick, the hostess, elegantly sets your delicious breakfast that she cooks and prepares herself. Annick is extremely nice, friendly, thoughtful and attentive to details. I highly recommend Casa Kan Balam to anyone looking for a nice and out-of-the-ordinary stay in Playa del Carmen. You will love it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Kan Balam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Kan Balam

Address: Calle 17 Sur Ent 70 y 75, Playa del Carmen 77712, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful and Cosy Bed and Breakfast inspired by Mayan art in the middle of a luxury tropical garden4 guest maxBreakfast includedat 5 mts of the beach and 3 mts of the center town2 Queen size bedroomsLiving Room - Little kitchenA/C - Wifi - Mini BarBicycles - ParkingSale of Tours Sales of traditionnals art on placeDiner in option on request onlyPets not allowedLanguage : French - english - spanish and german ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Casa Kan Balam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kan Balam Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Kan Balam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.