We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good chicken tacos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Parilla de Manolo

La Parilla de Manolo
8th Street between 15th and 20th Avenue, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #204 of 842 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Cuisines: Argentinean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good chicken tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Ate dinner around 11 pm on a Saturday night. We got seated immediately. A loud drunk party was sitting next to us - annoying, but not completely unexpected. Good chips, guac, and pico de gallo. I had the chicken tacos and they were great. The meat was flavorful and tender. I'd recommend this place to anyone wanting to have good Mexican food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Popular but always reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

One of the best places in Playa with somewhat reasonable prices and excellent food from the grill. Been coming here for 6 years and have never been disappointed. Last visit I had the Arrachera steak which was perfect ... tender and tasty. The Margaritas are some of the best in the area and actually have Tequila in them!!!
Yes, it is a bit touristy, but that includes everyplace on 5th Avenue in Playa.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett, Michigan
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I had the surf and turf tacos. My love had the steak fajitas. Both were very good. The salsa was very spicy. The staff was friendly and our service wa excellent. The drinks were good. We would definitely eat hear again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food for reasonable money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We enjoyed the food although the portions were not as big as in typical Argentinian restaurants. Prices are very reasonable. Waiters mostly can hardly understand English, what caused some issues, such as only one meal was ordered, instead we asked 2 different, 1 for each. When we informed waiter that there is another meal which was order, he was pretty aggressive, not even apologizing, but trying to prove that he was right. That was quite disappointing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Upon arriving very thirsty and hungry we were met by our wonderful waiter. Huge Margaritas for the Chicas and Cervecas for the Chicos did not take long to arrive. The menu itself had something tasty for everyone. Very fresh Guacamole and Salsa was served compliments of the restaurant. Our food did not take long and it was very good. Averaging $64 US per couple.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant. Cannot wait to return in my future travels.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parilla de Manolo also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Ciudad del Carmen, Campeche
 

Been to La Parilla de Manolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Parilla de Manolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.