We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Avenida

Quinta Avenida
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Five AvenueThe most Important street in Mexico, you can find Shopping, Souvenirs, Jewelry stores,Bars, etc.
Hickory, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stop by, check it out. It costs nothing to look. You will get hassled by the locals to buy their stuff.
No biggie though.
I'm glad I saw this town.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,056
    798
    296
    45
    26
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia,venezuela
2 reviews
“$$$$$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very nice boulevard, however the prices were not the cheapest. International food is widely available but in my opinion local food need more showcase in the area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, WI
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fun, but a bit of a tourist trap.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

It was fun to walk up and down this road and people watch. However, the vendors calling out to you are nonstop and get to be a bit too much. We were twice offered pot, but not in a scary or aggressive way. We always felt safe. We did not experience any crazy harassment, as we either said "No, gracias" or didn't even acknowledge the hecklers. We specifically stuck to stores where the prices were posted and employees left you alone, and found some fun souvenirs. (Tip: take a cab to WalMart and find clothing, food, and souvenirs for much cheaper.)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun, but .....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

All the little shops were great, but the vendors really are pushy. The prices start high, say no thank you and walk away, and they start to decline rapidly....It was really fun to walk around here and see all the sights the little shops, places to eat. The initial kiosk vendors were the worst though, just wouldn't take no for an answer. Be firm and walk away. Go and look around before buying. Prices vary from place to place...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Aggressive vendors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This has really developed into a typical tourist trap area over the years. The aggressive and sometimes rude vendors makes the experience less than pleasant. Everyone should go there once, but once is definitely enough.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quinta Avenida also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Quinta Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Avenida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Quinta Avenida to your Saves list