We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocotte Cita

Cocotte Cita
Calle 38 entre 5ta y 1a Avenida | Colonia centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
984 803 11 91
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely evening at Cocotte Cita this past weekend. After a warm welcome from the owner and our server we settled in on the tropical patio with a cocktail while perusing the chalkboard menu and enjoying an amuse bouche. We decided on the Cold Spinach Soup, Egg in cocotte with foie, Escargot, Duck Confit, and Filet Mignon. Everything was delicious and perfectly French. Although we brought our own bottle with corkage, the wine list was certainly competent. Unfortunately, we really were too full for dessert as it all sounded good. Sitting outside gives one a glimpse of the action, people watching, strolling musicians and such but they also serve in an air conditioned space inside if that is more comfortable. The owner did set up fan for us outside though which helped immensely and the woman playing the saxophone was a nice touch. With all the options and limited time, it's difficult having to narrow your choices for a place to dine. We were more than happy with our selection. Well done!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    21
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
“Great Little French Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is an excellent place! A real French restaurant just off 5th Avenue. My fish was delicious fresh and local, seasoned with herbs they grow on site. The wine list was clearly carefully chosen to pair with the menu. The staff were expert in the kind of relaxed French table service that made us feel at home for a long visit over a delicious meal. It was also family friendly. Our girls (9 and 13) loved it. Personally, the absence of a kids menu is a plus. (No sticking the kids with a plate of dry chicken strips and fries, then wondering why they never want to go out to eat with you.)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A must go for foodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

My wife, our daughter (12) and I dined at Cocotte Cita a couple of nights ago and it was one of the highlights of our trip. We did quite a bit of research on tripadvisor before our trip and chose Cocotte based on the number of excellent reviews. They didn't lie! The restaurant is located on a quiet street, about half a block from La Quinta. We made reservations by email and, even thought we didn't need them that night, we felt that they were genuinely waiting for us and happy to see us. Diego was our waiter and he was awesome. He explained the different dishes and made great recommendations. He also made us sample a couple of wines to help us find one of our liking. The owner also stopped by our table a few times to check on us and to make us feel welcome. For an appetizer, we had the egg with goat cheese and fresh herbs. We had never had anything like it, but it was heaven in a little pot! We had two kinds of chicken entrees and the duck confit, which was incredible! For dessert, we shared the chocolate lava cake (to die for) and a strawberry, guava, and pineapple crumble. What an amazing meal. We paid about 1,200 pesos, a very fair price for this great experience. Do yourself a favor and try Cocotte Cita! You won't regret it!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Playa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The food is great, I love the duck there, i went there many time, the Chef cook with love, with his heart, the owner, ir so friendly. When i want a good meal and a good evening i know where to go, Im 100% sure everything is gonna be awesome!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Brook, NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you crave something differernt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Off 5th Avenue and over a small bridge you can get to Paris right in PDC simply by going here. Try the cheeses appy and salmon appy. Duck is very good. Our waiter Luis really knew his stuff. We hadv4 apys 4 dinners 2 bottles of Malbec nd 2 bottles of water $60per person including tip

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocotte Cita also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cocotte Cita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocotte Cita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.